We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Disappointment”
Review of North Shore Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Marais
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North Shore Lodge
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Looked nice on their website. Looks can and were deceiving! Clean, but very old and run down room. Trash and beer cans littered the outside of our building for the entire three days of our stay. We actually got locked in our room one day when the deadbolt wouldn't open. Had to remove it ourselves to get out. Restaurant and lounge were closed. Ice machine was broken. Ugly dumpster and other debris cluttered the grounds. If you can't afford to provide proper (advertised) amenities to your guests, you shouldn't be open at all!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimT1424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

First, the website is a lie. We found the hotel to be unkept and need of help to run the hotel. The grounds were run down and I think someone lives in the shed behind the gift shop. Very weird. The resturant was not open because they lacked the staff to run it. Forget about anyone cleaning your room. They don't have the staff to do it. Maybe it was because we only spent two days there. Not sure, but the trash was still in our room when we returned in the late afternoon. I had to go to the front desk for clean towels, which I had to wait 10 minutes for because there was only one person working at the front desk. Plus she was extremely rude and short with everyone who needed help.I'll give her the benefit of the doubt, maybe she was just over worked. The pool and hot tub were dirty. Stay out. Grand Marais was pleasent, but the issues with the hotel just made the two days we spent there horrible. This hotel is NOT worth $99 a night ($99 w/air or $89 w/o air.) Not worth either price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nascartb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed one-night (7/27/12) with our 2 lap dogs. (Rm#19 one dbl bed) was missing a window screen on the western side, so no cross ventilation.Fortunately it was cool on Lake Superior at night & we could sleep fine with just one open window. Could have been uncomfortable during the day tho' as there is no a/c. This is an older motel, so don't expect the amenities of a regular chain motel. The bathroom is tiny, the closet is a long wall-to-wall rod the width of the room (hangers inc.), & TV reception is so-so. That being said, the mattress was great, linens & towels were new & fresh, & the carpeting was new, & there is a microwave. Plenty of space for the dogs in the room & lots of outdoor space to walk dogs & park vehicle. Best of all Lake Superior & a long stretch of beach is just a short walk over a sand dune from the motel. Gorgeous sunset! Dog fee was only $5.00.
There is a pool & hot tub, but the hot tub appeared dirty & both closed by 10 or 11 p.m., so didn't have a chance to try. The cont'l bkfst was decent. The major complaint I had was the only ice machine I could find (across from pool area) was a small chest freezer with bags of ice, which by the time we got to it in the p.m. had only a small bag & a half of ice left. The office door was locked, but they opened up to my knocking & a young man filled up my ice bucket.

Room Tip: No elevators to 2nd floor. Restaurants are 5 min. drive from motel. Rms do not overlook Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The hotel looked nice on website picture & their descriptions sounded good, so we booked one night....but do not believe it! They may have renovated the outside but the inside is horrible. We DID stay in one of the air-conditioned rooms (and that was about all that worked!). We walked in the room & almost walked right out but we thought we could "rough it" for one night. The TV was outdated and when we could not figure out how to work it, we tried calling the front desk but got a recording saying that the "phone was no longer in service!" The wall light switch turned the alarm clock on and off but was not coordinated with any lamp. The pool/hot tube area was filthy! So, we walked outside over the bluff to the lake and that was beautiful but when we came back to shower... we realized that we were given only one set of towels (remember we couldn't call to ask for more) and there were BUGS in the bathroom. The bedsheets were clean & the bed was comfortable but there was a nasty red stain on the blanket (we didn't use that!). The "restaurant & lounge" that was advertised were closed, and the Continental breakfast was a joke! I would recommend that you skip this town altogether: there was one restaurant and one bar but plenty of sportsman-type shops. Go to Munising! There are a variety of (clean) hotels, restaruants, boat cruises, nice swimming beaches, and family activities.

Room Tip: Go to Munising!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

The motel is looking for new ownership and may not be open at all. I would suggest calling first before presuming a Memorial day opening. Disappointed that their web site wasn't updated. We were disappointed that it wasn't open when we were in Grand Marais a couple of weeks ago, but found a better place, Voyageurs Motel, in town. The owners were super friendly and the place was immaculate.

Room Tip: If the place ever opens again, the rooms definitely need to be updated and cleaner. The pool area h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Sharon Lea Mitchell

Sad they are not open until Memorial weekend!!! :( Love this place, feels like my home away from home. Pam and the rest of the staff are freindly and warm. Loved it here so much that i got married on the Agate Beach Boardwalk in 2009. Spend hours walking the beach looking for the beautiful elusive Agate ... and just sitting and enjoying the endless waves that wash away every care. Beautiful sunsets and great food! Healing for your soul is just waiting for your trip to this ~near Heaven~ destination. <#

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This hotel is simple and had everything we needed. For $90 bucks a night you cannot go wrong with this place. My three kids loved the pool and hot tub (when we were not snowmobiling!!). There is no internet wireless service in the rooms which was awesome because my kids spend way to much time on the computer games as it is.

The hotel is five minutes away from snowmobile trails (which is why we came up). Rented snowmobiles from an outfit up in Munising. Snowmobiles were there the day I requested them, and the hotel staff here handled the coordination, they even had some extra helmets for us!!!

Awesome place to stay if you are looking for something simple, accomodating, and friendly. If you are looking for five star service, the UP is not for you...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to North Shore Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shore Lodge

Address: 22020 Coast Guard Point, Box 211, Grand Marais, MI 49839 (Formerly America's Best Value North Shore Lodge)
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Grand Marais
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Grand Marais
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
America`s Best Value North Shore Hotel Grand Marais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing