We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your basic Super 8” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Grand Rapids - Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel 6 Grand Rapids - Airport
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Your basic Super 8”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Nothing fancy but all we need is a bed and a shower. The hotel is old and the rooms are dated but adequate. Only thing missing was a fridge. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Shopping such as Walmart and Meijers a couple minute car ride.

The shower pressure and hot water were excellent. Typical Super 8 the towels are small and scratchy with only 2 bath towels provided. I'm sure you can ask for more but we did not.

Breakfast was basic danish, cereal, apples, yogurt and waffles. We ended up getting the room for points so for us the price was right.

I would recommend getting a room on the second floor even though there is no elevator. When we were walking to our room we could hear the floor creaking at realized we were lucky to be on the second floor so we didnt have to listen to it from a ground floor room.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dutchie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, General Manager at Motel 6 Grand Rapids - Airport, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your kind words and hope you come back and stay with us again the next time your in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    35
    51
    33
    29
See reviews for
47
32
30
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
175 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We arrived pretty late that night.
At the front desk we had a fast and efficient service and the price was much more affordable than other places around.
Entering the room, it smelled funny so I turned on the a/c for the night and woke up with a strong headache, a cigarette smell kept waking me up all nigt even if the hotel is suppose to be non smoking. In the morning, we stoped the a/c and opened the window to air out the room, the smell seemed to fade out a bit.
I suspect the smell to came from the a/c unit.
We reported it to the front desk and they took note of it.

Room Tip: Ask to smell it before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, General Manager at Motel 6 Grand Rapids - Airport, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
I'm so sorry to hear that your room had an off smell, when running the A/C unit. We didn't find anything wrong with the unit. But I'm sure that you did smell something during your stay. We do appreciate your business and hope you come back and give us another opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grand Rapids hotels

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

To start our stay there the parking lot had lots of people hanging around we even woke up in the morning to our car having cups of coffee left on it. The common areas of the hotels had no airconditioning and were extremely hot and humid. In our rooms they had dated beds without mattress covers or even a sheet on the exposed and stained box springs. Almost all of the outlets in the room did not work and the ones that did had 3 way plugs over loading them, in the middle of the night the toilet stopped working as well. The side doors were not secured either even though they had swipe pads. Gross!

Room Tip: A tip to help travelers, don't choose this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elecia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, General Manager at Motel 6 Grand Rapids - Airport, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, I am very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. It is our goal to provide a wonderful experience and address any issues that you may have prior to leaving so that we can rectify the situation and provide a better experience for you.

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Super 8 Airport. Again, I appreciate you sharing your experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights for work. Affordable if you are on a budget, but if you are on vacation I would pay a bit extra and stay somewhere else.
Location is good. There are a handful of restaurants within walking distance. Woodland Mall is right down the road.
Would have been nice to have a mini fridge in the room. Beds weren't very comfortable, but sheets were clean. Bathrooms were clean. Housekeeping came in everyday and did a great job.
Room keys didn't work all the time so we had to get them replaced which was a little frustrating as it happened 2 or 3 times.
Fine to stay in if you just need a bed for the night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, General Manager at Motel 6 Grand Rapids - Airport, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. I'm especially pleased to hear that my staff took such great care of you and your needs. We hope that when you return to Yakima, you'll come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

The location and the staff were fine. Not crazy about the room or the amenities offered there. Probably will not be back. Probably Will spend the money for a not so budget hotel next time I am in the GR area.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpartyOn0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris V, General Manager at Motel 6 Grand Rapids - Airport, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
We apprecaite you taking the time to review your stay with us. For a limited service property, we try to give you all the services we can. Thank you for staying with us, we do apprecaite your business very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn
#29 of 49 in Grand Rapids
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
#17 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#28 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Travelodge Grand Rapids
Travelodge Grand Rapids
#32 of 49 in Grand Rapids
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
0.2 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Airport
Clarion Inn & Suites Airport
#33 of 49 in Grand Rapids
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Grand Rapids - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Grand Rapids - Airport

Property: Motel 6 Grand Rapids - Airport
Address: 4855 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-2001 (Formerly Super 8 Grand Rapids/Airport)
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Grand Rapids - Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 Grand Rapids - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Grand Rapids/Airport Hotel Grand Rapids
Super Eight Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Super Eight
Grand Rapids Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing