We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Beverly Hills, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A quick stay”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for just one night but we were very impressed. The staff was the stand out. They were so nice and went above and beyond to welcome us and tell us about the hotel. The hotel even offered free dinner. The room was very clean and comfortable. Good amenities for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald T. R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    121
    46
    36
    24
See reviews for
167
72
26
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were attending a figure skating competition at the Patterson Road Arena, and traveling with our dog. This hotel met all of our needs - close to the arena, pet-friendly, plus great staff, excellent breakfast, and close to Meijer store. Front desk staff was very responsive to our needs. Nice grass areas to walk the dog. Better than average breakfast including real plates and silverware.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacht42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel is in a good location next to a Meijer store and many eating establishments, so it's a convenient place to stay near the airport. Having said that...
We have stayed at Country Inn and Suites in different areas of the country, but have never had an experience quite like the one here (in Country Inn's or any other hotel, for that matter). We discovered water rapidly dripping from the bathroom ceiling around 10 PM. When we informed the front desk, we were told there were no more rooms available that night but they would try to find us another hotel. (I was unaware that hotels book rooms 100% and that they don't keep a spare one open for emergencies such as this one?) Another hotel was found, but we were informed we would have to pay for the price difference. Because the manager was not on duty, the poor desk clerk had to call her at home, and she didn't even offer to speak to us herself (the manager) to apologize for the hassle. We ended up having to work out the billing situation with the 2nd hotel. By the time we got our luggage all packed up in the car to leave, the bathroom floor was pretty much covered in water.
IMO, if a hotel has contracted with you to provide a room for the night (even if, yes, you're a Priceline customer, like we were), and then is unable to provide that room due to something out of your control (property structure malfunction), the proper course of etiquette is a manager's apology (not the poor front desk clerk who's doing her best), and a new room at a sister/partnering hotel at the original hotel's expense. We were in Grand Rapids for a medical procedure the following morning, and my stress level was, literally, through the water-dripping roof, so to speak.
Please note that this is the Country Inn on 28th street, NOT the one on Deposit Drive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSellers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa E, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We're very sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel. We do our best to accomodate a guest with a room at one of our sister properties if ever a situation such as this arises at our location. The sister property, however, should definitely have given you the room at an equivalent price. If you have a moment to contact me at (616) 977-0909 I can take down your information and be sure that the difference that you paid for this stay is credited back to you. Apparently the Front Desk Agent was not aware that things worked this way and I will be sure that this problem is fixed if you contact me at the hotel. Once again, I'm very sorry you had this experience as this is a very uncommon issue for us, and we hope that you will consider a stay with us in the future as we will ensure you have a pleasant experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a typical Country Inn hotel with free breakfast, managers evening reception on weekdays, swimming pool, and cookies and teas in the lobby. We stayed only one night before flying out of Grand Rapids the next morning. The room was clean and quite specious, the only compliant we had is that there were no blackout curtains, only the sheer ones that let through all the light from the parking lot making it hard to sleep. We also woke up with sunrise thanks to nothing blocking the light. I am not sure whether all the rooms are designed the same way, but this is an odd design choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merryl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa E, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your experience at our hotel. We actually do have blackout curtains on our windows, they are tucked behind the sheer curtains closest to the window. I'm sorry that yours were not visible! I will be sure to talk to Housekeeping to prevent this from being an issue for yourself and other guests in the future. Thank you and we hope you will again choose Country Inn Grand Rapids Airport to accomodate you on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

When I arrive here, after a long day, I opened the door of the hotel to see cookies straight ahead! The staff was very friendly. My room was beautifully designed and extremely clean. The staff even left candy on top of the towels! I was amazed to find out that the hotel provided COMPLIMENTARY DINNER! This hotel is a great choice for people that enjoy receiving great customer service!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinglarry999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, MI
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

In town for the Grand Rapids Triathlon, this was the host hotel and did a great job with a early check in, opening up the breakfast area early for the athletes and the cookies all day long:) Kids enjoyed the pool. The hotel was very clean and well maintain and very well located next Meijer and lots of restaurants close to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwrmn51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, California
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We spent 4 days and 3 nights here and had a very pleasant time. Our rooms were clean and very quiet. Breakfast was great and we were able to visit with family at breakfast and felt no pressure to leave. I would stay again and would reccommend it to others. This is our 3rd stay at Country Inns and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#4 of 49 in Grand Rapids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
#17 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Grand Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
Address: 5399 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-2072
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#17 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids, MI hotel and enjoy convenient amenities, unrivaled customer service and an ideal location. Our hotel features free Wi-Fi, premium cable on flat-screen TVs, indoor pool and all you need to feel right at home. We are located just minutes from Gerald R. Ford International Airport as well as a great variety of museums and top shopping opportunities. Book your reservations at Country Inn & Suites and see what sets us apart from other Grand Rapids hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Hotel Grand Rapids
Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Mi
Country Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Country Inn
Country Inn And Suites Grand Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing