We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant hotel in Grand Rapids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
161 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A pleasant hotel in Grand Rapids”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This seven year old facility sparkles, as if it were built yesterday. Rooms are spacious and
quiet on all floors. All facilities are good. And CLEAN !!

Breakfast is included and one of the two I had was bad. As a result I struggled to give this
hotel a four rating but stand by it. Fortunately the second breakfast was as good as the first
was poor, and were I to be in the Grand Rapids area again, I would most assuedly consider this
Country Inn.

Room Tip: All rooms are away from elevators and/or ice machines and are quiet. We chose the first floor but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 564BobM564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    121
    46
    36
    24
See reviews for
167
72
26
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adrian, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Front desk staff were very pleasant, professional and assisted with check-in quickly. The facility was neat and clean. We did not experience maintenance issues as reported by previous visitors. I was pleased to find this facility offers two nice outdoor sitting areas tucked back into the cute "front porch" surrounded by pretty landscaping. In the foyer, there is also a pleasant sitting area with a couch and chairs facing a fireplace with a nearby lending library. Our room was also very quiet, even though our neighbors had the TV on, which could only be heard in the hallway. We did not have a chance to try the breakfast, however the complimentary coffee and cookies were good. This location is also convenient with numerous dining options close by. The staff were very helpful and courteous with any requests we had.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Cookie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Raipids, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Food cold had customers had to ask to refill trays morning and evening, elevators dirty, bathrooms dirty and unkept, door hinges in bathroom squeek. Drains run slow in bathtub. Holes in bathroom walls, caulking in bathroom unsightly. Bathroom faucet turned at an angle. Not at all what I would have expected for the cost.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Very unfriendly and unprofessional at the check-in desk. I would not stay again. I was not greeted and was treated like it was an imposition. There was nobody else in the lobby and two girls behind the desk. I ate breakfast at 7:00 a.m. It consisted of a bowl of FROZEN fruit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Carlson at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We had no trouble whatsoever. Everything was nice and clean. The staff was nice and helpful! Nice hot showers and clean bathroom. The room was appealing and very roomy. The breakfast was good also. Thanks

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank djsTraverseCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The manager here runs a tight ship. Professional staff. Clean, cool room with a great breakfast every morning. They have a wonderful porch area and a new gazebo. Fun and relaxing as always. See y'all next week.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014

While room itself met expectations (clean, fairly new furnishings), there was a major security breach with doors. Outside hallway door would not unlock with key. When reported the solution was to tape the lock permanently open - so anyone could enter all night long. This was apparently a known problem with no effort to actually repair it. In addition our room door required a hard pull to get the lock to latch (even if the door initially closed hard). In fact the door was unlocked when we checked-in. Bathroom door would not close without a hard body slam. Wrong type of bolts were used to repair the hinge. This and general poor upkeep of grounds (weeds, goose poop, etc.) gave a poor overall impression. We left a day early - it was obvious hotel maintenance was not a priority for the owners. .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank X6120XNdavidr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inn & Suites standards. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#4 of 49 in Grand Rapids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#8 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
#17 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Grand Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
Address: 5399 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-2072
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#17 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids, MI hotel and enjoy convenient amenities, unrivaled customer service and an ideal location. Our hotel features free Wi-Fi, premium cable on flat-screen TVs, indoor pool and all you need to feel right at home. We are located just minutes from Gerald R. Ford International Airport as well as a great variety of museums and top shopping opportunities. Book your reservations at Country Inn & Suites and see what sets us apart from other Grand Rapids hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Hotel Grand Rapids
Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Mi
Country Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Country Inn
Country Inn And Suites Grand Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing