We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel - A Real Hidden Gem”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Rapids
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prince Conference Center at Calvin College
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We were a family party of 10 - 3 rooms - 2 stays in GR a week apart on our way to the UP and Mackinac Island and back. This was the nicest hotel experience on our 3,000 mile trip. Beautiful grounds, very clean accommodation (grounds, building, rooms), great beds and pillows, good size, well lighted rooms, excellent quality free breakfast. So what? Many hotels can claim this but this hotel is special because the staff cares - really cares.

Picture the difference between a family run accommodation vs. a chain hotel staffed by minimum wage employees. The Prince Center's staff makes one feel like it is a family run establishment. The staff is fully committed and actively engaged to making this your most satisfying hotel stay in GR - and they have succeeded. No, it's not a 4 Seasons, but neither is the price - about one-third of high end hotels.They are the #1 hotel on Trip Advisor in Grand Rapids because they earned it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vcook521, Manager at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

rrs517

Thank you for the kind comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you and your family will be able to come back and stay with us again.

Thank you!

Valarie Cook
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

Quiet, peaceful, & beautiful apply equally to the facilities & staff, at a very reasonable price point. We'll stay there again & recommend it to everyone.
A pair of prescription reading glasses were lost under our bed. The staff quickly found & mailed 'em to us straightaway
Can't think of anything to add to other glowing reviews except "torchlake99". We had adult beverages in a cooler, and enjoyed the in-room mini fridge...lovely room was better than any hotel bar. .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SailsCall412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vcook521, Manager at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

SailsCalls412

We are so happy we were able to locate your missing glasses, and be able to return them to you. We appreciate your wonderful comments, and hope to see you visit again.

Thank you!

Valarie Cook
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This hotel is positively the best hotel we have ever stayed at! We were in Grand Rapids especially to visit Frederik Meijer Gardens and Sculpture Park, and the Prince Center couldn't have been more convenient for that. Although convenience had something to do with our choice of lodging, it has nothing to do with this review! Our double queen room was beautifully appointed and was sparkling clean, with a lovely view of the nature areas of the campus. The staff were friendly, courteous, and accommodating. Breakfast could not be listed in the same category as most free breakfasts. From 6:30 to 10:00 a.m. there were cheeses omelets, sausage, biscuits and sausage gravy, waffles, specialty breads, bagels and muffins, fresh fruit including melons, pineapple and berries, cereals, assorted juices, coffee, tea and milk. I probably have not even named the entire menu! The attendant made sure everything was fresh, hot where desirable, and plentiful. No one could possibly go away unsatisfied. Coffee, tea, cookies and snacks were available throughout the day in the bright and spacious breakfast room. The large lobby appropriate to a conference hotel has comfortable furniture for relaxing and reading, as well as many tables where guests can work or play games. You really need to plan a trip to Grand Rapids just for the pleasure of staying at this lovely facility!

Room Tip: We never heard any noise at all from hallway or other rooms. We enjoyed being on the main floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vcook521, Manager at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Mary K

We appreciate your wonderful comments about Prince Conference Center, and are happy that you were able to stay with us to enjoy the amazing Frederik Meijer Gardens.

We hope to see you come back and enjoy our facility.

Thank you!

Valarie Cook
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed here because we were touring the college and were pleasantly surprised by the value and excellence of the hotel. It is neat, clean and convenient. They have a wonderful breakfast area where one can fix a cup of coffee or tea, and then relax with a newspaper or book. The beds were soft and comfortable, and we had no trouble with sleep quality.
Although it is not near the center of town, it is a great place to stay for whatever reason.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drnicksir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vcook521, Manager at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Drnicksir

Thank you for your wonderful comments. They are greatly appreciated.

We hope to see you again in the future when you are in the Grand Rapids area.

Thank you!

Valarie Cook
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Here in GR for a conference and wanted to stay on this side of town. Very clean hotel, nice lobby to sit and read if needed. Quiet hotel, off the road so very little noise at night if your a light sleeper. On a Christian campus so no alcohol or bar so if you would like a cocktail in the evening do not stay here. Other than that this is a nice choice if your looking for a quiet place to spend a night or two, fair prices for the lodging also.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank torchlake99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vcook521, Manager at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

torchlake99

Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate your kind words, and hope to see you again in the future when you are in the Grand Rapids area.

Thank you!

Valarie Cook
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful place to stay! It felt like home!

Amazing hospitality and service. The dining area was fantastic and really helpful with kids. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We will certainly stay here again. A few notes:

-They don't have a pool on site. You are allowed to use the campus pool but you will need to drive.
-they do not have mini-fridges in the rooms so be prepared.
-be sure to take advantage of the walking trails.

Very family friendly. Perfect when traveling with small kids.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mds1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vcook521, Manager at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Mds1234

Thank you for your kind comments. We hope that you choose Prince Conference Center when you are in the Grand Rapids area next time.

Thank you!

Valarie Cook
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This was an awesome find at a great price! Beautiful campus, quiet setting (backs to a natures preserve), breakfast included and plentiful parking. We really lucked out. Flew into Lansing and knew we wanted to explore Grand Rapids. What a find. Hate to post here because we fear others will discover this amazing gem....

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Housegirl905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vcook521, Manager at Prince Conference Center at Calvin College, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Housegirl905

Thank you for your kind comments. We are happy that you found the Prince Conference Center and were able to stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thank you!

Valarie Cook
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
2.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#3 of 49 in Grand Rapids
165 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 49 in Grand Rapids
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Grand Rapids East
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Conference Center at Calvin College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Conference Center at Calvin College

Address: 1800 East Beltline SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range: £75 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a peaceful, serene setting, just a bridge walk east from the main Calvin College campus, is the Prince Center. You'll find the atmosphere casual and relaxing with many windows to take in the view, two cozy fireplaces, a patio overlooking the nature preserve and a baby grand piano—all designed to make your visit a pleasant and enjoyable one. Whether you're gathering with colleagues from around the country or celebrating a special occasion with an intimate group, you'll always feel right at home at the Prince. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing