We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hotel... wonderful atmosphere!”
Review of CityFlatsHotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CityFlatsHotel
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
1 review
“Unique hotel... wonderful atmosphere!”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Thanks for the great stay! The bed and linens were amazingly comfortable! We love how different and unique this hotel is. The atmosphere in the lounge was very clean and welcoming. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you so much for your positive comments on your recent stay at CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids. We are glad you enjoyed our brand and look forward to having you stay with us again soon! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    65
    23
    12
    5
See reviews for
39
87
5
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
246 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at City Flats Hotel for an event held a few blocks away. The hotel is in the city's clean and safe downtown and within walking distance of countless bars, restaurants, museums, and other attractions. Our room was spotless and very modern. My wife raved about the soft sheets and liked the lack of carpeting (cork floors). Bathroom and shower were great. Bar, lobby, and restaurant were all nice and gave us a chance to have a drink at night and a great breakfast in the morning sitting in the open and airy restaurant. Negatives included rather dim lighting (like many hotels), some mechanical noise, not much of a view, and lack of a coffee maker for the morning. Ramp parking is available for $16 per night, but we parked on the street for free. Everybody that we talked to was friendly and seemed to take a lot of pride in the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not adjacent to the mechanical room.
See more room tips
Green Features: The Hotel is certified Gold LEED and take a lot of pride in this...many of the employees wore shirts that stated this fact.
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Great location in downtown Grand Rapids. Easy one block walk to my conference at the Amway Grand and Monroe Mall for ice skating. The beds and linens were amazing - didn't want to get out of bed! Don't expect a beautiful luxurious room though. It was more like European rooms with sparse furnishings and basic decor. It felt cold and loud, a colorful rug would do a lot. We didn't care about that though since we weren't in the room much. The other hotels in the same area offer a lot more for the price though, especially if you have kids.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeideV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thanks for the review! Glad to hear you enjoyed the beds so much, they definitely make it hard to get out of bed. All 28 of our rooms are uniquely designed, and some our much more colorful than others. Hopefully you have a chance to visit Grand Rapids again and can check out some of the other options. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This contemporary style room was way too stark ... awful acoustics ... bare floors that got marked up instantly ... no place to put wet boots. The beds were comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful but that couldn't make up for the very small rooms and cold atmosphere. The reception desk is tiny and lobby not very welcoming. I was very disappointed, especially considering the price.

Room Tip: ask for the BIGGEST available room
See more room tips
Green Features: love the concept , this is mostly why we want to stay here
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you so much for choosing CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed in your stay. Since we renovated an existing empty building it was harder to get the rooms as large as our sister property in Holland. Hopefully you will have another chance to visit Grand Rapids and we can show you a room which you might like better. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I am a Grand Rapids native and returned home for the holidays. While I applaud this hotel's efforts to break away for the incredibly conservative and traditional options otherwise available, the efforts fall a little short. The hotel is comparable in price to the two other premium hotels downtown, the JW Marriott and the Amway Grand. Consequently, in reviewing it, it's only fair to compare it to the other premium options.

The lobby and bar/restaurant area are stylish enough. We did not eat/drink here, so could not comment on these areas other than they were generally aesthetically pleasing. The desk staff was very nice and welcoming.

The room fell a bit short of expectations. I appreciated the attempt a modern decor, but it was less than welcoming (modern does not have to equal cold). Despite being a relative new hotel, we noticed several places where the walls were damaged and/or stained. The room had a dank odor to it (not overpowering but noticeable). I was fine with the bamboo floor, but my wife was a bit skeptical.

On the plus side, the bed was relatively comfortable and the bathroom offered a sizable shower. In addition, the staff was very helpful and friendly.

All in all, an average hotel experience and more trendy than what GR generally has to offer. However, for the price, this hotel simply does not deliver at the level of other premium hotels in GR.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for writing a review on our hotel. We try to impress each guest who stays with us, and it sounds like we might have fallen short on your visit. All of our rooms are individually designed, so if you find yourself staying in Grand Rapids in the future we would love the chance to get you into a room which you might not find so cold. As for wall marks or other issues, I will be sure to pass the information along to our maintenance manager to look into. Thanks again for your review and for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We travel to Grand Rapids a couple times a year to visit the breweries and this hotel. The hotel is in the heart of the city and you can walk anywhere you need to go. The city is safe and parking is located adjacent to the hotel. Hopcat, Grand Rapids Brewing, and Founders are our favorite breweries and they're all within walking distance. The hotel is extremely nice and the beds are so comfortable. We actually want to buy the bedding but it's quite expensive. We will definitely be going back soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack P, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you so much for the review! We truly appreciate your business when you visit Grand Rapids. Thank you for choosing CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed here for a flying 48 hour visit in October 2013.
Parked right outside the front door for free on a Sunday, then just popped a few quarters in the meter at 8am on Monday morning 'till we were ready to move the car to the parking garage around the corner - meaning 1 night free parking!

Hotel was clean, bright and modern.
Large rooms with spacious bathrooms, plenty of towels and good products.

The hotel is within easy circualr walk of Brewery Vivant, Founders, Hop Cat and Grand Rapids Brewing Co.- theres a crawl for you!

Breakfast was pretty minimal - probably take it as a perk not a reason for staying here. Plenty of decent breakfast places in G.R. (try Wolfgangs)

Certainly would stay here if we visited again from England.

Room Tip: High up away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityFlatsHotelGR, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for staying with CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids on your visit. We hope Beer City lived up to its name and you were able to try some great local brews! We would love to have you again if you ever make it back to Grand Rapids. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#4 of 49 in Grand Rapids
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#14 of 49 in Grand Rapids
352 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityFlatsHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityFlatsHotel

Property: CityFlatsHotel
Address: 83 Monroe Center St NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — CityFlatsHotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids is located in the heart of downtown Grand Rapids, MI. Built in 1874 this renovated building was once the famous Fox's Jewelry and is now Grand Rapids only LEED Gold certified hotel. Built entirely from local materials and renewable resources, our hotel prides itself on being the first eco-friendly hotel in the Midwest. With just 28 rooms, we offer an intimate stay for all our guests. Cork floors in every room, exposed brick, free wireless Internet, spacious walk-in showers, and notoriously comfy beds are just a part of the CityFlatsHotel experience. We accommodate all guests, whether you're looking to book a room, host a corporate event, or hold a wedding reception.On the first floor you will find CitySen Lounge serving lunch, dinner, weekend breakfast, and offering Happy Hour specials daily from 4PM-7PM. You will also find CityBru Coffee, located in our lobby, open 24 hours. Please stop by and see what we have to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your CityFlatsHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing