We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“won't go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Grand Rapids
Ranked #39 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    288
    400
    327
    279
See reviews for
871
127
67
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Benton Harbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Worst hotel experience I've ever had, primarily because of terrible staff and customer service. The front desk in particular was run by a large girl who was extremely rude and unhelpful, and she had an absolutely horrible attitude towards us both when we checked in and called the front desk a few hours later.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonBlick63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eatonrapids mi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Rude check in staff. Not all rooms have refrigerators or microwave. I was told at check in to request one if there wasnt one in my room. So I called down and then they say oh we only have 3 extras for the whole hotel. Parking is horrible we too had to park at bank. Pool is super small and nasty looking. As well as the hot tub my bathtub is bigger. Oh and my 16 year old girls were told to get out of hottub. Wont be coming back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lipkabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaGM, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Ms. Lipka,

I apologize that your stay at our hotel was anything but satisfactory. I know the parking situation that weekend was a little crowded due to the fact that we had a large group in house that was having a reunion in one of our ballrooms, and we have contracted with the Bank to allow us to use their lot as overflow parking as they are adjacent to our lot. I also apologize that you didn't enjoy yourself at our indoor pool and 3 story waterside, again, it is a very popular attraction and can get a little busy. We chose to make our 12 person hot tub an adult only tub so the adults can have a little away oasis as the kids have control of the pool, slide and arcade area. We have received many compliments for this fact and having done research, we have also realized this is becoming a very common practice at most hotels. I do hope that you may give us another chance sometime in the future.

Sincerely
Christopher Hopkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

The rooms are run down and dirty. The pool staff is NOT friendly. We were supposed to have a room with double queen beds, but they were full beds. There was no parking in their parking lot, so we had to park across the street at a bank and leave our vehicle at the bank all night. The room cards didn't work due to rotting out locks. In addition to all of that, they booked a convention that filled the hotel with adults who dressed in animal fur costumes and had a Rave party. So, there were adults engaging in HIGHLY inappropriate sexual behaviors in the pool, the lobby, hallways, and rooms. This IS NOT a place to have a child's birthday, or any family event at all!!!!!!!! We had stayed here before, and it has been run into the ground! It is not at all what it used to be!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentwood, Michigan
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

I stay often at this hotel for work reasons and I always have a nice experience. Many of the rooms have been updated and the Old Chicago restaurant adjacent to the hotel is very nice. I think the hallways and common areas will get their due soon for updating.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaGM, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoy your stay at the Ramada Plaza Grand Rapids.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South
Holiday Inn Express South
#21 of 49 in Grand Rapids
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#8 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Grand Rapids

Property: Ramada Plaza Grand Rapids
Address: 3333 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Grand Rapids 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Plaza of Grand Rapids is currently undergoing a complete remodel of guest rooms, common areas, breakfast areas, meeting rooms, and pool areas. Construction will be ongoing until July 2017. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may cause. Please call the hotel directly for the most up to date information. Thank you for your patience and understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Grand Rapids Hotel Grand Rapids
Ramada Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing