We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, But Misses on Features”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Walking into the lobby was very impressive with the dark woods and large fireplace. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The hotel has three levels and is a couple of blocks away from the main street.
We had a king size room on the third floor. The room was light and spacious with a desk and office chair. There was also a lounge chair with ottoman. Table with lamps on both sides of the bed. A 32" flat screen television on the chest of drawers. The room also included a single serve coffee maker and refrigerator.
The carpeting was older, but not worn. One could see and feel the imperfections in the flooring under the carpeting by the bed and lounge chair? Like something was there at one time, but did a poor job of leveling it out?
The bathroom was peculiar. The door served a double purpose. One to enter the bathroom, the other to have privacy to the toilet. So when one was in the toilet, the entrance to the vanity and shower were wide open. The room itself seemed large, but the door was a nuisance with two people in the room. The shower was a walk-in around the corner of the vanity. The bathroom also lacked any kind of exhaust ventilation. So naturally, the room steamed up when taking a shower and for those occasions when the toilet was used, the smell lingered longer than one would like.
Normally, this should not come into play but the parking lot was disappointing. It shows some lack of concern for their guests. Everywhere, but at the entrance to the hotel was covered in ice. We did not see any evidence of salt being applied during our stay. Not all the parking spaces were clear of snow, making it difficult to park with a full hotel. While Michigan as a whole received more snow this year, it doesn't excuse the parking situation.
Overall, it's an okay hotel, a little too pricey for what one receives. Next time I'm in the area I'll be looking at other options.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank mkh57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear mkh57,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We are delighted about your positive comments with the lobby and our staff. It is always our goal to provide the best possible service and create memorable experiences and on this occasion we apologize we did not exceed your expectations with our amenities and the parking condition. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you again for your review and hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

The first night was very nice and quite the staff was nice. Second night from 5pm through the night there were several kids running up and down the halls yelling and screaming. When we called the front desk we were told they couldnt do anything about it because quite hour isnt untill 10pm. Yes I understand that quite time isnt untill 10 but there is a fine line between being lound and being complete out of line. The walls were shaking and there were times where we had to turn our tv up just to over come the noise. I personal believe there wouldnt have been any harm in the staff asking them to stop running in the halls. Its disrepectful to othet guest in the hotel. We should not have to suffer because a group of parents cant controll their children.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dhotsi02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Dhotsi02,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We regret to see the noise from the other guests prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We appreciate the high scores for Rooms, Cleanliness, and Service. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed here for one night. Location is close to the airport. Staff is very friendly and helpful. My room was a nice size, bed was very comfortable and included a flat screen TV, refrigerator & coffeemaker, large bathroom with plenty of counter space. Walk-in shower was nice with lots of hot water and good shower pressure. Food was good in the lounge and there is also an area right next to the Front Desk where you can pick up a drink or a pre-made sandwich. WIFI connected quickly and worked well. Shuttle service is available to the airport, but if you have an early flight the service doesn't start until 8 in the morning, so you'll need a taxi.

Room Tip: I had a "connecting" room and I could hear the person next door to me coughing and when th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theokitty916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

I am a picky traveller to say the least. Booked on an ota, but would gladly pay full price on next trip. Staff was beyond accommodating to my special requests. The night auditor. Hannah. Kelly and the shuttle driver were truly a blessing for my spontaneos holiday trip. Im sure im missing some names but know they were just as special . Bed and room was superior. Bfast good and good value. Close to highways. Gum and shopping. Many food options minutes away. Shirt drive from airport. 5 stars easy. I work in hotels and therefore hold them to higher standards. Would pluck any of these staff members for my west coast properties.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank jlewis923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The people who serve patrons at this hotel are warm and friendly. I've stayed there a dozen times over the last two years. The facility is clean and the rooms are in top condition. I like the walk in showers.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tek007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLawn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for the feedback! We appreciate your return business year after year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This property is on the large size with plenty of parking. Front desk staff was very friendly. Elevator fast and prompt which is a plus since they only had one elevator close to the front desk.
Room was clean. Bed was comfortable. HVAC worked well. Plenty of water pressure and hot water. Room was well lit.
The negatives were ceilings and walls thin. Voices and footsteps all night. Could not get either the wired or the wireless to work in my room, which was on the second floor in the middle of the property. This often happens in large properties. I am not really sure if they actually offered wireless as there was no mention of it during check-in. There was two networks though, one for the property and one for conference. Also I could swear I smelled ciggy smoke when I opened the closet coming from somewhere?
Close to the airport and up the street is Panera Bread and Texas Roadhouse if you are hungry.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panther61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLawn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for the great feedback with both the good and the bad. We were having issues with our internet intermittanly going in and out. I believe we have isolated the issue and are currently working on rectifying it. I am expecting a permenant fix to be completed by 10/25/13.

Thank you again for the awesome feedback,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Very clean and contemporary property. We usually stay at the HI suites but this place is definitely a step above and just down the road, Comfortable king bed with a large walk in shower. Plenty of space plus a frig to store drinks and food. Although it is tagged as airport there is no airport noise at all. No breakfast included but we usually prefer to go out and check out the local eateries. Surprisingly quiet this weekend. Staff is extremely polite, friendly, and helpful. I have stayed at other hotels of this caliber that were priced much higher. Way to go Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nesson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
1.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#3 of 49 in Grand Rapids
165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 49 in Grand Rapids
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Airport
Courtyard Grand Rapids Airport
#25 of 49 in Grand Rapids
94 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Grand Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport

Address: 3063 Lake Eastbrook Blvd SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-1853
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range: £74 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Holiday Inn Grand Rapids, where business and leisure travelers receive award winning service at the cleanest hotel in the area. You'll find comfort and modern luxury at one of the most convenient locations in Grand Rapids. Exceptional hospitality and excitement are waiting for you here. We are located just minutes from downtown and situated only 3 miles from Gerald R Ford International airport, we are the perfect place to get a great night's rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport Hotel Kentwood
Holiday Inn Kentwood
Kentwood Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing