We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have been cleaner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites South
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Spiceland , Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Could have been cleaner”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Found fruit loops in pull out couch, a toy left on the floor, made us wonder how well the room was cleaned. Front desk didn't seem surprised at the lack of cleanliness when we complained. She did offer to have someone clean up the cereal.
Sheets had holes and were thread bare. Bed was extremely firm, or rock hard, according to my husband.
Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete F, General Manager at Comfort Suites South, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at Comfort Suites South.

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding the cleanliness of your room on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with my Housekeeping Department to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Grand Rapids.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    44
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
54
33
3
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Our room was large and clean. We appreciated the microwave and refrigerator in be room. The beds were comfortable but the a/c unit turned off and on constantly. Something seemed to be wrong with it. And although our room wasn't warm, it never got really cool the way we like it. The breakfast was an average assortment of ht and cold items. The cost f this hotel made the minor inconveniences not a big deal. I would come back for a night or two.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank cmurray942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete F, General Manager at Comfort Suites South, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at Comfort Suites South.

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding the air conditioning system in your room on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with my Maintenance Department to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Grand Rapids.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
284 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Thi is a very nice, clean, well-managed motel and we would be happy to return. We were here for the International Trumpet Guild conference, but just for one night to see one concert and it was a great place to stay. In the south end so we could leave quickly in the morning to head back south, it was still only a 10-15 minute drive downtown.
Excellent staff-all we met were very helpful and friendly. Good full breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonandJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete F, General Manager at Comfort Suites South, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Pete Fedorchuk
General Manager
Comfort Suites Grand Rapids South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalaheo, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My wife and I had to fly to Michigan recently for a family funeral and the closest city was Grand Rapids. We had previously stayed in the Best Western and my wife wanted to lodge there again but a huge volleyball tournament was in town this time and thwarted that plan. We did a search and the Comfort Suites South was available and also the closest to our family. After checking in and getting settled we felt the facilities at this hotel were superior to our previous lodging and the comfortable sleep we got made it even better. Everyone was very pleasant and helpful. Next trip we will check for this hotel first.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koalaman35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete F, General Manager at Comfort Suites South, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I have stayed at this property many times in the past and my experiences have been OK, nothing to get excited about. Recently I discovered that the property is now under new management and I can see a drastic change at the hotel.

The level of service and attitude of the staff has noticeably changed.

Recently I have traveled to Grand Rapids more often for business and the entire staff is noticably more friendly and make me feel welcomed and the rooms are always clean and comfortable.

I would recommend this property! 

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfrancis94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel last night and the good outweighs the bad definitely. The room was very quiet which is very important to me and very clean. The price was slightly more than I wanted to pay at a comfort suites but overall I think it's a good value. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoYoManDTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Upon our arrival the person who checked us in was nice, but had an extremely wrinkled shirt (like it had been wadded up in the bottom of a drawer some place), and I just thought no one in a customer service position should look like that. It just gave a very bad first impression. My husband who rarely notices these things also made the same comment. We had a room with a king bed. Overall I really wasn't that impresed with our room or the hotel. The rooms weren't very updated and had a bit of a strange ordor, and the bed was very firm. For the $100/night that we had spent on the room, I wished I had chosen another hotel (even if it was a bit higher priced). Plus it was in a more industrial area with no shopping or restaurants at that exit. I cannot comment on the breakfast since we did sleep in. This place was just o.k. but I would try someplace else in the area before I stayed here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovinlifeinmichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
10.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
8.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#4 of 49 in Grand Rapids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
8.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#8 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South
Holiday Inn Express South
#21 of 49 in Grand Rapids
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites South

Property: Comfort Suites South
Address: 7644 Caterpillar Ct SW, Grand Rapids, MI 49548-7203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#6 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#11 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® South is conveniently located just 10 miles south of downtown Grand Rapids on Highway 131. This Grand Rapids hotel is close to area attractions like the Van Andel Arena, Craig's Cruisers Family Fun Center, the John Ball Zoo, the Gerald R. Ford Museum, the DeVos Place Convention Center and Grand Valley State University. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options making breakfast at Comfort Suites South the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt and fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Pets are welcome for an additional fee. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites South is a great place to stay when visiting the Grand Rapids area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing