We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Suites South
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived about 7 pm after having driven cross country most recently from St. Louis. We were checked in by a very pleasant gentleman who let us know they were in the middle of a renovation. He also informed us that the pool/spa would be open until midnight. A beautiful thing for this road weary traveler! The room was clean, comfortable and on top of it, they're pet friendly! Breakfast was decent, nothing spectacular, but a decent selection. The lady at check out was extremely nice and thanked us for staying with them. Based on this experience, I would stay here again in a heartbeat. There are some areas that appear a bit run down, but like they said, they're in the middle of a renovation. Highly recommend this hotel for a night or two! Very comfortable and great staff!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Susannosaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete F, General Manager at Comfort Suites South, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Pete Fedorchuk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

Such a pleasant experience from extremely quick check-in to delicious waffles at breakfast to efficient check out. This hotel was a very reasonable price for such a big room which including couch, refrigerator and microwave.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Margo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete F, General Manager at Comfort Suites South, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the waffles!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We just stayed at this hotel for the third straight year. It has been clean, comfortable, quiet. We did notice that the a/c unit didn't stay on continuously - which is a nuisance. Not sure if it was just this particular room. We didn't use any of the hotel amenities like the pool or exercise room.

Not much fresh fruit available for the free breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WantsAnUpgrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Good location. Sets back away from expressway so you don't hear the traffic noise. Restaurants very close front desk has a listing. Very very clean and beds are great plus the rooms are very large. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Our family booked two rooms on a Friday night and were pleased with the size and quality of the rooms. Large bathrooms with lots of counter space and an excellent shower. The breakfast was wonderful, but they had run out of sausage gravy. The Internet connection is a bit iffy. On some of our devices the login screen did not come up so we couldn't connect. Location is convenient, right off 131.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank aatbender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is a good Comfort Suites with the better beds and linens. My room was clean and comfortable. When I find myself back in the Grand Rapids area I will stay here again. The nearest restaurant is a short drive away.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
Thank JM600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Found fruit loops in pull out couch, a toy left on the floor, made us wonder how well the room was cleaned. Front desk didn't seem surprised at the lack of cleanliness when we complained. She did offer to have someone clean up the cereal.
Sheets had holes and were thread bare. Bed was extremely firm, or rock hard, according to my husband.
Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete F, General Manager at Comfort Suites South, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at Comfort Suites South.

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding the cleanliness of your room on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with my Housekeeping Department to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Grand Rapids.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
9.1 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
10.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
8 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 49 in Grand Rapids
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids
8.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#4 of 49 in Grand Rapids
168 reviews
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites South

Address: 7644 Caterpillar Ct SW, Grand Rapids, MI 49548-7203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#6 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#9 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: £74 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® South is conveniently located just 10 miles south of downtown Grand Rapids on Highway 131. This Grand Rapids hotel is close to area attractions like the Van Andel Arena, Craig's Cruisers Family Fun Center, the John Ball Zoo, the Gerald R. Ford Museum, the DeVos Place Convention Center and Grand Valley State University. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options making breakfast at Comfort Suites South the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt and fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Pets are welcome for an additional fee. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites South is a great place to stay when visiting the Grand Rapids area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing