We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel - A Little Pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Suites South
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Midland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - A Little Pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We used this hotel while my son was playing in a local baseball tournament. Breakfast was okay, your typical cereal, make your own waffles, juices, coffee, etc.
Room was clean. The room was very large. As mentioned before it is easy on/off 131.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    42
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
32
3
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Woods, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I was very happy with all aspects of my stay. The hotel was conveniently located, close to the freeway and the to Grand Rapids. The rooms were clean and comfortable, complete with a 'fridge. The breakfast buffet had most of what you could ask for from a typical hotel - eggs, sausage, make-your-own-waffles in two flavors, cereal, yogurt, etc.

I didn't have a lot of time to talk to the staff, but those I did talk to were very friendly and helpful. The hotel had a nice indoor pool and hot-tub that were open late ('til midnight the night we stayed there) and the price was very reasonable for a quality hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SlapshotBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwin, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel was clean and conveniently located. We found the staff very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay again. Very good value and close to the airport. The pool was very nice and I liked the idea of an adult only time for pool and hot tub.

Room Tip: Follow Choice Hotel ratings and you can always find a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom4007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I selected this hotel because I had some business in the area beginning the next day, but wanted to stop my drive south of the downtown area. The location attracted me, since it is adjacent to US 131, the main north/south highway in the area and easily reached from I94 that runs east/west to the south. The hotel reflects the expected style found with this chain. Rooms are both comfortable and pleasing. The hotel is well maintained and offers convenient access to surrounding the surrounding area. While there is some traffic noise, it is not objectionable in my opinion. The standard options are available for breakfast, but there are no restaurants in the immediate area. Check for special room rates.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomHustad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyle7692
Level Contributor
194 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a travel baseball team. We found it clean, good amenities, and close to many convenient things such as food and 5th/3rd park. We enjoyed it here and would stay again. Thinking about scoping out a deal for this hockey season. Thank you.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lyle7692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

It was awesome I loved it but the bottom of the pool was popped corned like a cealing and was hard to step on also there was sperm on my chair on there hope u will like it but don't go all thing were great it was a good place to stay over it all

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Taytaysmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete F, General Manager at Comfort Suites South, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Please contact the hotel directly so that I might discuss the issue you had with your chair? We recently renovated the hotel and only have brand new leather desk chairs in the guest rooms and to my knowledge none have any stains like the one you described, I would be interested in knowing what room you were in, so that I might look at whatever it that you experienced.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Conveniently just south of Grand Rapids and a quick drive north to downtown GR for great restaurant selection and to local events. The hotel has a pool and a large room for breakfast. Rooms are large and comfortable, with large flat screen television with an almost endless selection of channels options including the movie ones. Holland is close by and Lake Michigan's coastline loaded with quaint towns and villages.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete F, General Manager at Comfort Suites South, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words.

We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and are happy to hear that you feel we are centrally located to most thing 'West Michigan', because we agree........

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
10.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
8.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#4 of 49 in Grand Rapids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
8.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#8 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
10.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites South

Property: Comfort Suites South
Address: 7644 Caterpillar Ct SW, Grand Rapids, MI 49548-7203
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#6 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#11 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® South is conveniently located just 10 miles south of downtown Grand Rapids on Highway 131. This Grand Rapids hotel is close to area attractions like the Van Andel Arena, Craig's Cruisers Family Fun Center, the John Ball Zoo, the Gerald R. Ford Museum, the DeVos Place Convention Center and Grand Valley State University. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options making breakfast at Comfort Suites South the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt and fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Pets are welcome for an additional fee. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites South is a great place to stay when visiting the Grand Rapids area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Comfort Suites South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing