We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice upscale Chinese place”
Review of P.F. Chang's

P.F. Chang's
Ranked #171 of 939 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice upscale Chinese place”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Our first visit here was wonderful. It's not what you expect the inside to be. It's not decorated in an oriental fashion like the big huge horses out front lead you to believe. It's a very modern, open styled seating. The drinks are on the expensive side, but food is very reasonable. And good size potions too. The kung pao scallops are insanely good! There's a gluten free section too. And for those picky eaters, there are a lot of normal Chinese food selections.
The ginger beer is not very good, thought it would be like ginger ale and was totally wrong. Tastes like potpourri.
Nice service, will be back.

Helpful?
Thank traveling_tegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    37
    11
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“casual, friendly and good food”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Back over in Grand Rapids for a business trip. Haven't been to a PF Changs before. I agree with some of the other reviewers that it was casual but that suited me perfectly stopping here on the way from the office to the hotel. The staff were courteous and polite, the food came quickly, was well prepared and tasted great. Prices were extremely reasonable as well.

Happy to eat here again

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I enjoyed our last visit. It's one of my wife's favorite places to eat. Our service was good, the waitress was quite friendly and very timely and knowledgeable about the menu.

It's certainly not "Chinese" food but really solid slightly spicy chicken and fried rice.

I would appreciate a better beer selection vs the standard fair since the GR/Michigan area has to offer, but as a chain I realize this probably won't change much.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good Chinese, Consistent with other Chang's”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This PF Chang's took a while to get here, but we are happy it made it. We have been to this one about 10 times and have not been disappointed. It is one of about 5 different Chang's we have eaten at, and they are, happily, a virtual cookie-cutter restaurant. The food and service are always good. Their weakness is in getting the food to the table quickly, but that is still not too bad. We will return and return.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Russ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent Asian Food.”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We liked the Mongolian Beef a lot. We also liked the Ginger Beer. We get good service when they are not busy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank The_Unraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed P.F. Chang's also viewed

 

Been to P.F. Chang's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing