We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't make it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express South
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Upon check in the front desk personnel explained that the property was overbooked and that there were no rooms available. They suggested that our family of four share a king bed at an adjoining property and if we weren't interested that it was too bad. Upon seeing other reviews, I understand that this might have been a good thing. We did eventually find other accommodations on our own about 20 minutes away. We will not be planning to use the Holiday Inn group in the future

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Kathy W,

Thank you for your business and your review. We take all comments seriously and value the chance to make improvements where possible.

I sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction you had with our level of service and regret that we were not able to accommodate your group during your visit. I am truly sorry for the poor experience and service issues you had.

We welcome feedback as it assists us in our never-ending task to better ourselves and improve things for our guests. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. Once again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

We left our room from 8am through 7pm and discovered that upon our return the room was never touched for cleaning. I went down to the front desk and they apologized and indicated it was a result of their computer system. They offered to have the desk manager clean the room and I told them no need. They offered to credit my 15,000 points back to the account for the nights stay .... I have never seen any these yet -- almost 3 months later..... The national customer service desk is of little help and very untimely in responding to such issues. This was not a good stay at this property.... so much for the Platinum status..... It appears worthless...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Joseph F,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Grand Rapids South, MI. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We have stayed here approximately three times with our children. Every time we have been there we have had an great time. However, our last stay was exceptional! Upon arriving, a male at the front desk (maybe the owner?) offered our three children ice cream sandwiches. Of course, they were thrilled! Our room was clean, the customer service is wonderful and the water park is perfect for the ages of our children - 7, 4 and 1. The highlight of our stay was a complimentary magic show on Saturday evening. The magician was entertaining and our kids LOVED it! We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Disgusted with what looks like a messy period on the pull out mattress. Check in was good, the water park was good, the room seemed clean, until bed time the there was the red stains on the pull out mattress.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ras123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Ras123456,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding check in experience and the waterpark.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding housekeeping and the mattress which was unacceptable. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed one night on a Saturday as a stopover on our way up to Traverse City. We were greeted at check-in by the owner, Sudhir, who was gracious and very friendly (he even gave my 3 kids ice cream!) The Big Dip pool was great. Those who don't like it, may be expecting a waterpark resort. This is not a resort. It is a very nice hotel pool with a big play area for little kids and one very nice 3-story water slide. It was not very busy in the pool, especially for a Saturday night. My kids are 10, 8 , and 6. They loved it! For one night, it's a perfect diversion and stopover. Breakfast in the morning was good, standard free continental hotel breakfast with probably the most attentive staff I have even seen for tihs type of hotel. I would stay here again and again when returning to GR.

Room Tip: request 1st floor if you want quick access to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

Booked my reservation online to save time. When the plans changed I tried to cancel one night and was told by the management that we could cancel no problem but no refund would be given. This was about a week from the date of our stay. What I found out later was there was a college graduation that weekend so they would have double dipped the room. We obviously stayed the extra night and when we arrived at 11:00 PM they had "no clean room for us" even though we had a reservation!!! We had to settle on a lesser room with no price adjustment. The pool was freshly painted which ruined swimsuits and the elevator broke. After we left I discovered after checking my credit card statement that they charged me an additional $50.00! When I called they said it was for the rest of the reservation! I did finally receive a credit but not after several phone calls. Long story short, STAY AWAY!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mdp1178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Mdp1178,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Well, It's a Holiday Inn. High-traffic hotel. The "waterpark" is not a waterpark. It is a couple of small pools with some water sprays, toddler water-slide and one adult water slide. There are a lot of people in these pools. Too many people. The lifegaurds seemed to watch the pools pretty well, although the guy monitoring the adult slide was sitting on the railing at the top of the slide, with one leg dangling over the edge (25 ft up), hardly an example for others.

The rooms were clean. The hot breakfast that is included with your stay is actually pretty good. There were scrambled eggs, sausage, pancakes, muffins, biscuits w/gravy. cold cereals, instant cereals, yogurt, milk, and a few other things.
UNFORTUNATELY... the hotel does nothing about guests who come directly from their rooms in the morning and proceed to the breakfast room in their pajamas, many BAREFOOT! This was disgusting. There is a small sign on a table when you enter the breakfast room that states people must have shoes on, but without enforcement, the sign is no good.

The $25 charge per person for the waterpark is outrageous, because its really just a couple of pools with slides and some spraying water.

The beds were worn and the televison stations were limited.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Tarsu,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am pleased to know you find our hotel to your liking, it is always a pleasure hearing we are doing it right. We value you as our Priority Club Gold Elite member. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations and for that please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience the breakfast area may have caused you. I appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services.

I hope this would not deter you from choosing us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites South
Comfort Suites South
#20 of 49 in Grand Rapids
149 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport
8.7 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
7.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 49 in Grand Rapids
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South

Address: 6569 Clay Ave SW, Grand Rapids, MI 49548-7839
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: £87 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids South, . Home of The Little Dip splash pad. We are conveniently located adjacent to the Crossroads Banquet and Conference Center (full bar service) (4,000 sq. Ft.) Perfect for the small corporate meeting or up to 280 person wedding and social receptions. Also within minutes of major attractions, downtown Grand Rapids, Gerald R. Ford Museum, Metropolitan Hospital, Fredrick Meijer Gardens, Van Andel Arena and DeVos Convention Center. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids-South represents the latest in design standards. Come stay with us and experience a new level of accommodations and service. This hotel offers 79 guest rooms which include two-room suites and a two- story spiral staircase room. All rooms include a refrigerator, microwave, and free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access. Hotel amenities include free deluxe breakfast bar, indoor splash pad, activity pool, and a vortex pool. The hotel has a business center open 24 hours, game room, fitness center, 2,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting rooms, 100% non-smoking rooms, hearing and visually impaired and handicap accessible guest rooms.To reserve birthday parties please contact the hotel direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Hotel Grand Rapids
Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing