We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Grand Rapids Airport
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice. ”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Staying here for business.This is a brand new place. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent rooms. Great shower. Good workspace in the room. Highly recommended! The only minor downside is it is set back and a long walk to stores or food.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jaspurcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethany D, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback -- our staff is very pleased that you found them friendly and helpful. The next time your travels bring you back to Grand Rapids we hope to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    23
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
16
3
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Novi, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

First, I am not connected with Marriott at all.

This is a brand new hotel so everything is fresh and clean which is nice. The staff was hospitable and welcoming.

The most significant thing we experienced was the great design of the suite for extended term business and personal stays. This may be the most comfortable hotel bed I may have ever slept on. There is a catch-all at the entrance with plugs for cell phones, etc., the couch/pullout bed designed to facilitate both work and relaxation, the HD TV, the shower area with the faucet on the opposite side from the head, a vanity with two usable side shelves, bath lighting to better appear real and even a notable location of the hand towel bar.

This design shows considerable thought and patron input. The breakfast/common area with fireplace is welcoming and usable for both recreational and business travelers. The color scheme and overall design feels pleasant and cheery enough for even the weariest traveler.

So thrilled are with this new hotel that we are contemplating living there for an entire year since it is just my wife and I now. The morning breakfast is substantial enough and an even social 4 nights can more than offset some grocery expense. Add to that the DVR and it is so handy that it is an inviting scenario.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethany D, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and are so touched with your attention to our bathroom layout and design. It's always wonderful to hear our guests appreciate the attention to detail and the care we put into making sure our rooms are perfect.

We currently have a few guests who live with us for over a year and would be happy to host you and your wife! Please feel free to reach out to our team to assist you with your accomodations. We hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I visited here recently with my 3 children and we were all very impressed. The hotel is very new and is by far the nicest Residence Inn I have ever visited. The rooms are decorated beautiful, the entire hotel is very well laid out and clean. The indoor pool is good sized, my children really enjoyed that. If visiting in warm months, there is a very nice outdoor grilling area. I will definitely stay here again on future trips to the Grand Rapids area. Great location, set back off the road a little and close to many stores and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrina P, General Manager at Residence Inn Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Residence Inn Grand Rapids Airport. I'm glad we were able to accommodate you and your family while in West Michigan. We hope to see you again. Hopefully next time it will be warm enough to fire up the grill and spend some time by the fire in our out door courtyard. Thank you for being a loyal Marriott customer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I have stayed at Marriott properties all over the world and this location takes the award for two items. 1. It is the hardest hotel to find 2. It has the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in. Arrived into GRR after midnight on 2/16 the staff was wonderful at check in and even opened the elevator for us after he saw how many bags that we had. Breakfast in the morning was wonderful everything was fresh and the service was better then most full service hotels I have stayed at while having a meal. I look forward to making this my home away from home when visiting Grand Rapids. With regards to finding the hotel I wish you luck but once you do you will be well taken care of.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWATT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrina P, General Manager at Residence Inn Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for the Residence Inn Grand Rapids Airport. I apologize that there was some difficulty finding the hotel but I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay once you arrived. Thank you for being a loyal Marriott guest and we hope to be able to serve you again when you find yourself in West Michigan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milw., WI
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Had a one night stay for business at this sparkling brand new gem in Grand Rapids. Very modern and contemporary, with spacious rooms featuring top of the line granite finishes, stainless steel FULL size appliances including a dishwasher and a large swivel TV with a DVR, and some rooms even have fireplaces! As I was there only one night I wish I could have taken advantage of the indoor pool and whirlpool but I didn't have time. If staying in summer they have a full court fenced in basketball court and an outdoor kitchen area with a fire pit.

Really outstanding place and Katrina and Kevin provided great service. The only (minor) drawback was that it's a little hard to find as it is located BEHIND the Comfort Inn on 28th street and we missed the sign and drove past it the first time.

This is where you want ot be if staying in Grand Rapids. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSchrute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrina P, General Manager at Residence Inn Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Residence Inn Grand Rapids Airport. I appreciate your feedback and hope we are able to welcome you back when you find yourself in West Michigan! The outdoor patio area and basketball court are now cleared of the snow and ready for you to enjoy. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My wife and I traveled to Grand Rapids for a business conference the beginning of January and after our flight got canceled due to the snow storm and couldn't get out until 3 days later, we decided to stay at the Residence Inn on 28th. I cant say enough about how friendly the entire staff was to us during our stay. Everyone was extremely nice, from the front desk staff to our friends who took care of the breakfast and dinner area at night. They really made us feel at home and genuinely went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed during our stay. I am a Platinum Elite member and stay at Marriott properties throughout the year and this was by far one of my best experiences. The hotel had only been open about 2 weeks when we stayed so everything was very new and the amenities were great! I especially loved the DirecTV in room with its own DVR for recording shows and watching them later, very nice!! When we are back in GR, hopefully in the summer months, would definitely bring along the family and stay at this Residence Inn again without hesitation. I will agree with the other reviewer that the entrance is hard to find from 28th street (the sign is small and can only see it from one direction) and its a little far back off the road but that is the only complaint I could find at all. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethany D, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Residence Inn! It's wonderful to hear how much our staff impacted your stay and truly made your time with us enjoyable. Your comment about your experience here being one of your top Marriott experiences is truly a flattering comparison and is appreciated by everyone here. We all hope you get a chance to come up and visit Grand Rapids in the summer months to discover the best the city has to offer --with no chance of snow!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Booked this hotel after noticing it was new and I prefer staying at newer hotels if I am able. I arrived into Grand Rapids and mind you there was a snow storm going on, but this location is extremely difficult to find(even in the daylight the next day I couldn't find the right road to get there. Tiny little sign on the main road for a hotel that is behind another hotel and behind a restaurant. Ended up staying at the Courtyard instead. Just as a side note, I travel frequently for work and am a Platinum Marriott member, so this isn't my first rodeo :). I'm sure it is a great hotel, if you are willing to try and navigate your way back to it. Also when I called the front desk for help finding the hotel, the person who answered the phone was very little help and seemed to think the situation was funny(kept giggling to himself). Somehow I didn't find being stuck in a snow storm and trying to find this misplaced hotel very funny.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethany D, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
I appreciate the time you took to give us this critical feedback. The snowstorms this winter were terrible and we understand that our location is off of the main street and is difficult to find. Unfortunately, limitations placed on street signage has kept our sign from getting the size it deserves! We have inquired into the situation you described and our staff is aware of the importance of giving proper directions to our guests. We certainly apologize for your experience and I encourage you to reach out to me personally should you decide to stay in the Grand Rapids area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport Southeast
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Airport
Courtyard Grand Rapids Airport
#26 of 49 in Grand Rapids
80 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids
0.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#3 of 49 in Grand Rapids
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Grand Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Grand Rapids Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Grand Rapids Airport

Property: Residence Inn Grand Rapids Airport
Address: 4443 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-1909
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Grand Rapids Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Grand Rapids Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing