We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Grand Rapids Airport
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful residence inn. quiet location, great relaxing fire pit out to relax by.
Only downside are the dogs. Not sure why they would let them in a nice clean hotel. It wont stay clean and fresh with dogs having full acess to rooms hallways elevators etc.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethany D, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your review! We're pleased that you chose our hotel and it's wonderful to hear you enjoyed our fire pit as the perfect relaxing complement to your stay.We do allow pets as all Residence Inns are pet-friendly. Please be assured we do take great care to make sure that our hotel public areas are cleaned daily and rooms with pets are given addtional cleaning consideration to ensure the comfort of all guests. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again the next time your travels bring you to Grand Rapids!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Grand Rapids Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Residence Inn is a new property with modern design. I believe that it has only been open 6 months. I stayed last night to get close to the GRR airport for an early morning flight. It was a pleasant surprise.

The "newness" gives it a leg up over the competition in the market. It is light and modern, bright, and clean. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are spacious. You can work - or have family.

With family in Muskegon, I find myself staying by GRR on the way up or out when visiting. So I have had the chance to stay at many of the hotels in Grand Rapids or close to the airport. Both this Residence Inn and the JW Marriott are comparable to the class of expectation that you would find nationally.

The only issue was that the third party booking.com had a lower rate than the Marriott rates, which is unusual. So I had to book online while standing at the lobby desk. That was a little odd. But not a big deal. The breakfast was also not open at 6:00 am. Someone did not show for work. But that does happen in these properties sometimes, so I did not worry about it too much. Was fine.

It is a safe choice. Especially if you can get a good rate (under $140). Is worth a try if you get to the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethany D, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your review! We're glad that you chose our hotel for your stay before your departure from Grand Rapids. Your comments in regards to our class of expectation are very kind and I will be sure to pass this along to our staff as compliments for their hard work. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I travel to Grand Rapids frequently for work, typically staying downtown. However on my most recent visit I stayed at Residence Inn near GR airport due to no availability downtown.
This property is located on busy 28th Street, which is the major commercial route near the airport. However the property is located at the end of a long driveway, off 28th, thus removing all the traffic and associated noise/bother. It's actually quiet even outside the hotel building and inside there is no noise at all.
The hotel rooms are typical Residence Inn with kitchen/living room, bathroom and separate bedroom. I believe this is a newer property and therefore there is no wear & tear factor with furniture, appliances, carpet, etc - all seem new and very clean. The bed was comfortable with nice linens. Only complaint about the room is the very loud air conditioner with the actual unit inside the bedroom. When it kicks on, it is noticeably loud to the point of sleep interruption. If you're not used to some sort of white noise, you may be waking up all night.
This property does a nice complimentary breakfast buffet and a theme happy hour on weeknights with hot food.
The wifi worked perfectly throughout the property. The fitness center had nice, new equipment again an indication of the overall newness of the property. Like other Residence Inns, there is an outside basketball court which was in use most evenings of my stay.
Regarding restaurant options in the area - unless you're fond of any chain restaurant available in the US - you'll find limited choices. The Euro Bistro on 28th Street is actually a nice, non-chain type of restaurant. Otherwise it's Applebees, Smokey Bones, Olive Garden, etc, etc. Of course with the kitchen in the room, the best option might be to visit the supermarket and cook in your room.
Overall a very good experience.. a nice place to stay

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDERV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethany D, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your positive review! Our hotel is in fact a new-build property and we're pleased that you have enjoyed all of the amenities our property has to offer. I have brought to attention the issue you described with the air conditioner to our maintanence manager. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Almost all positives for this new property. We liked the outdoor area, and lounged there for 2-3 hours, enjoying the cool breezes and comfy furniture. Others were using the grill and we saw several "feasts" being made outdoors. They had a soup and salad bar on our visiting day - it saved us from having to buy dinner.

The room was large and comfortable. Everything was very accessible. New style shower that was big, open and nice.

The hotel shuttle system was a bit confusing. A reason for us staying at the Residence Inn was that we could turn our rental car in and save a day's fees. I checked us in, told the Front Desk, and he said he would try (and successfully did) get someone to cover so that he could follow me and pick me up. The next morning we were put in a pre-paid cab with a driver (and dirty cab) that clearly didn't align with our overall experience. I would like to have them make certain personnel are available to get folks from the airport (thus the location and the name).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dukefan2331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethany D, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you so much for the positive feedback and for sharing your experience with us -- we're pleased that you enjoyed our outdoor amenities and evening social.

In regards to the hotel shuttle, when we have periods with less demand for shuttle service we typically rely on an outside company to assist with shuttle service as needed, complimentary to our guests. I apologize that your experience with your cab was less than satisfactory and I will be sure to pass on your experience to my main contact with this company.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for the night and had a two bedroom room for two couples (one with a three month old) and one other person. We had plenty of room and didn't feel we we're crowding each other. My only complaint was a flickering light in the bathroom when the light was off (I know, it sounds weird but it did) and it didn't bother us when we were sleeping. A nice location and a GREAT breakfast,

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethany D, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your great review and thoughtful feedback -- I will be sure to have our maintenence man look into the light situation you described. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you the next time you visit Grand Rapids!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Staying here for business.This is a brand new place. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent rooms. Great shower. Good workspace in the room. Highly recommended! The only minor downside is it is set back and a long walk to stores or food.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank jaspurcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethany D, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback -- our staff is very pleased that you found them friendly and helpful. The next time your travels bring you back to Grand Rapids we hope to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

First, I am not connected with Marriott at all.

This is a brand new hotel so everything is fresh and clean which is nice. The staff was hospitable and welcoming.

The most significant thing we experienced was the great design of the suite for extended term business and personal stays. This may be the most comfortable hotel bed I may have ever slept on. There is a catch-all at the entrance with plugs for cell phones, etc., the couch/pullout bed designed to facilitate both work and relaxation, the HD TV, the shower area with the faucet on the opposite side from the head, a vanity with two usable side shelves, bath lighting to better appear real and even a notable location of the hand towel bar.

This design shows considerable thought and patron input. The breakfast/common area with fireplace is welcoming and usable for both recreational and business travelers. The color scheme and overall design feels pleasant and cheery enough for even the weariest traveler.

So thrilled are with this new hotel that we are contemplating living there for an entire year since it is just my wife and I now. The morning breakfast is substantial enough and an even social 4 nights can more than offset some grocery expense. Add to that the DVR and it is so handy that it is an inviting scenario.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethany D, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your kind words! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and are so touched with your attention to our bathroom layout and design. It's always wonderful to hear our guests appreciate the attention to detail and the care we put into making sure our rooms are perfect.

We currently have a few guests who live with us for over a year and would be happy to host you and your wife! Please feel free to reach out to our team to assist you with your accomodations. We hope to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#3 of 48 in Grand Rapids
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 48 in Grand Rapids
442 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Grand Rapids Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Grand Rapids Airport

Address: 4443 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-1909
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range: £104 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Grand Rapids Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Inn Grand Rapids Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing