We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent”

Grand Rapids Public Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Grand Rapids Public Museum is a place of never-ending inspiration and discovery, with a focus on science, history and culture. We have three floors of core and traveling exhibitions, the Roger B. Chaffee Planetarium, a 1928 Spillman Carousel and a Mighty Wurlitzer Organ.
Douglas, Michigan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

As far as simple yet cool and classic museums go, I would make a trip and see this place once more or if you have some spare time to check out some local culture and find interesting facts about GR.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neutronboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    161
    40
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
166 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Large Public Museum!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The public museum is large and has a lot to offer! The traveling exhibits are always really neat. The carousel is historical and neat for children to ride. There is a planetarium that was just remodeled so I'm looking forward to checking that out soon! Don't miss out on the huge whale skeleton (just look up as you enter the long hallway)!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Krista P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Our family really enjoyed the museum!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We really enjoyed our visit to the museum and only wish we had more time to spend there! We brought our 17-year old and her boyfriend plus our 9-year old. Everyone enjoyed the time - it was a perfect way to spend the afternoon and keep the range in ages occupied and engaged. Very affordable!! My husband *loved* the Civil War exhibit and I got to ride the carousel with our kids :)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GinaStruble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Same as last time”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Other than the rotating exhibit this place is the same every time. This time the rotating exhibit was dinosaurs and it was very cool. Took about 20 minutes to go through. Not worth the parking fee and entrance fee. If you've never been here, I'd rate it 4 out of 5.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cool local museum”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice museum that tells the history of Grand Rapids. Lots for the lids to see too. Love the carosel and the period displays.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rwinks685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Rapids Public Museum also viewed

 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to Grand Rapids Public Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing