We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value, service and quality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Appleton, United States
2 reviews
“Excellent Value, service and quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

To sum it up, this Hotel is one of my favorites to visit while traveling for business. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The quality of service and the quality of the ammentites are great. The continental breakfast is wonderful as well. Neve rhad a bad experience at this Hotel. I would highly recpommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonGRAirport, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for taking your time out to tell us about your stay with us and we appreciate your 5-star review and your continuous business. We are happy to hear our staff is accommodating and friendly when you stay with us. Pleased to hear we are a favorite of yours!! Can't wait to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    129
    44
    21
    7
See reviews for
153
85
31
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Park, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Very convenient location near the airport and the amenities of 28th street. It is probably hard for out of town travelers to find tucked behind Target and Costco and additional signage would probably help remedy the situation, but as a former resident of the area I knew exactly where it was. Front desk staff was very helpful and friendly, and the lady in charge of the breakfast was very nice. We did not use the pool but it looked nice enough and the hotel itself was clean and quiet. We were concerned about potential noise due to a large wedding party being booked at the hotel, but we were impressed with how quiet the rooms were. We will stay here again next time we are in town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kdt2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonGRAirport, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for your 5-star review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our facility and are pleased you noticed our hard efforts on maintaining a clean hotel. Can't wait to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petoskey, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

This was a nice hotel. Clean and neat. But it is very difficult to find. It is behind several large box stores and the signage is so small at the entrance off 28th street. My gps, aka 'the blue dot', gave me the general local. I had to call the front desk for directions from a parking lot that was off 28th street. Now that I know where it is, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonGRAirport, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for taking your time out to tell us about your stay! We do apologize that our location is tricky to find but I assure you we have been working on proper signage to help our guests locate our property easier. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

During our stay we found the amenities to be very nice and staff very accommodating as a whole. You will need to be on time for the breakfast and not have to wait for the last minute or the staff will be closing the petition and taking up items within the last 15 minutes before closing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonGRAirport, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for telling us about your recent stay within in our facility. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our different amenities and enjoyed our staff. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton Township, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Terrible snow removal, it appeared there was no attempt to remove the snow from the sidewalks and parking lots. I understand that Grand Rapids MI get a lot of snow. But they should at least try and remove the snow from the sidewalks

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonGRAirport, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for taking your time out to tell us about your stay with us. We do apologize that you had difficulties with the snow in our parking lot and sidewalk area. We have been trying to clear the pathways to the best of our ability. I ensure you we will be looking into this matter and taking the necessary procedures so this does not happen again. Hope you will come stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

As some prior reviewers have noted, this place is tucked way back off the road. On the night we visited, the one small and poorly placed off-premises sign that would have greatly helped in pointing the way (a nearly ground-level "Hampton Inn" sign with an arrow on it) was not illuminated even though it was well after dark. Not an auspicious start to things.

Far more significant and problematic was the condition of the room once we found the place and checked in. The bedding was reasonably clean but the floor appeared not to have been vacuumed, and the bathroom was, in a word, a wreck. The toilet had urine on it, there was crusty toothpaste on the sink, there was hair in the tub, and the towels were disheveled and had dirty spots on them (highly suggestive of not having been laundered or even really folded before being placed). The conditioner bottle was sticky and grimy, and an opened coffee packet had been placed back in the coffee fixings basket. The bathroom appeared to have been scarcely touched by the cleaning staff, if it was indeed touched at all. Ugly scene. If it hadn't been pushing 11:00, at the end of a very long day, we would have asked that the room be cleaned or to switch to another room. But time being at a serious premium with our scarcely conscious kids, we opted for the shortest distance between two points and just quickly cleaned up the worst of things ourselves and called it a night.

To the hotel's credit, the front desk clerk asked us upon check-out in the morning how things had been and we told her. We didn't get the blank look or transparently insincere apology sometimes offered in such situations. The clerk jotted down notes on each of the points we mentioned, profusely apologized, said that all of our concerns would be addressed with the manager and with the cleaning crew, and offered to make a deduction to the bill. We appreciated the way that was handled, but it didn't and couldn't change what we'd encountered the night before.

Hopefully our experience wasn't representative of the way this property is typically run. But our experience was our experience, and we wouldn't return or recommend the hotel to others because of it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baker1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonGRAirport, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
We do apologize that your stay wasn't as pleasant as anticipated. We will make sure the correct management is notified about your stay. We did realize your stay was in August and have been working hand in hand with housekeeping to improve some of the things mentioned. We do hope you will come stay with us again and let us try to rectify the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I was in town for the Glazier Football Clinic, I chose the Hampton over the hotel that the event was held at due to the exterior and lobby appearances. The hotel is located in a great location for dining and shopping

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonGRAirport, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for taking your time out to tell us about your stay! We appreciate your 5 star review, and are happy to hear you liked our lobby. We have recently remolded it so its great to hear that you chose our location because of that reason. Hope to see you the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#4 of 49 in Grand Rapids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#8 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Grand Rapids Airport
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St
Address: 5200 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-7704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#7 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#8 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We take the stress out of flying here at the Hampton Inn & Suites?? hotel in Grand Rapids-Airport/28th Street, MI. Just one-half mile from the Gerald R. Ford International Airport, it takes a mere five minutes to get to the terminal from our hotel. Grand Rapids itself lies just minutes away and offers a huge array of amenities and activities to please any business traveler or family on vacation. Within just a few miles of our hotel in Grand Rapids you'll find golf, bowling, shopping, an ice arena, horseback riding and many of the city's best-known businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St Hotel Grand Rapids
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing