We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
160 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Quality stay”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Typically, we've had great success staying at Hampton Inn & Suites. Our two-night stay at the Grand Rapids location was no exception. The place was very clean. The hotel staff was courteous and professionally dressed. Our room was very spacious (bathroom included) and comfortable. Barely heard any noise throughout our stay, enjoying two excellent night sleeps. Location is tucked behind Target and away from the busy 28th Street. Have directions ready because you can easily miss the small signage after turning off of 28th Street.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbutler385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea K, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn and Suites Grand Rapids airport. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to be your hotel of choice when your travels bring you back to the Grand Rapids area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    130
    45
    22
    7
See reviews for
161
87
31
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Despite some negative reviews about being able to find the hotel, we had no problem doing so and actually were glad to be "hidden away" from the heavy activity on 28th Street. Our room looked over a pond and we enjoyed watching the heron sunning on the log!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gayle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea K, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your "view!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Smith, Montana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Upon arrival on a Monday evening in July, there was no one at the front desk. A sign had been posted saying he/she would return soon. I and another guest stood waiting, puzzled, for at least 4-5 minutes. Within 30 minutes of being in my suite, there was a sudden pounding on the door, loudly, for about 10 seconds. When I opened the door during this, a young boy looked at me, startled. Several other boys and he turned and raced down the hall, screaming all the while. Turns out their room shared a wall with us. So soon we were hearing them loudly through the wall. I went back to desk to complain & see if I could move rooms. Guess who again wasn't at the front desk? It APPEARED that he was the only staff person in the entire huge hotel. He did move me to another room, on another floor, but turns out there were loud children up there, too. Tried to use the pool/hot tub that night, but it was chock full of kids - and then the next morning at 7:30-8, it was empty - but dirty. No clean towels, and there were dirty, damp towels littered all over the pool floor. It had clearly not been serviced since at least the day before. Overall, just not what I expect from this chain at all. Ugh. I will seek other hotels in the future for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Shawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea K, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear that you had a less than satisfactory stay. There are times when the staff may be tending to another guest and does havet o step away, but we try to be as quick as possible. We also do our best to manage all guests and noise levels. If this may ever happen again, please contact us and we will do our best to remedy the issue immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Staff were great - helpful and pleasant. Room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. Only issue was signage - there are multiple hotels in the area, and this one is tucked far back in a commercial area. Very difficult to find until I called the hotel - this is not a common problem - and they need bigger/better signage.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank 4Books
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea K, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. We try to make sure all guests are aware of our location and give the best directions we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel met with my satisfaction and I would use it again. I would recommend it to others as well. I was pleased with the service and breakfast. I would recommend that steps for guests to access the internet be reviewed. It was somewhat difficult.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea K, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback! All comments are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Everything went well. Have stayed at Hamptons for years and have always enjoyed the experience. Everything went as expected. We will be staying at Hampton Inn on our next trip because we know we can count on another pleasant time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank richardtY2527JD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea K, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you! We are always happy to hear we are living up to the service and standards you expect from Hampton Inn!

Sincerely,
Andrea Kaminsky
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Huron, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

First off - we love Hampton Inns - and stay at them regularly, without a problem in the past. Because of that experience, we didn't hesitate to book this Hampton - big mistake. Unlike other Hamptons, the bed was worn out and was very uncomfortable, and the sleeper sofa linens looked like they hadn't been changed in several guests. And, while you don't expect a lot from the included breakfast, most Hamptons manage to make the instant eggs edible - not here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonGRAirport, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to tell us about your recent stay within our facility. We do apologize that your stay was not as pleasant as you expected. We will make sure we speak with our staff and housekeepers about the linen in each of our rooms. I do assure you we change our linen on each bed with every guest. We do also apologize that you did not enjoy our breakfast items. Hopefully you would come back and stay with us and give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#4 of 49 in Grand Rapids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
5.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Grand Rapids Airport
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St
Address: 5200 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-7704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#7 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#8 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We take the stress out of flying here at the Hampton Inn & Suites?? hotel in Grand Rapids-Airport/28th Street, MI. Just one-half mile from the Gerald R. Ford International Airport, it takes a mere five minutes to get to the terminal from our hotel. Grand Rapids itself lies just minutes away and offers a huge array of amenities and activities to please any business traveler or family on vacation. Within just a few miles of our hotel in Grand Rapids you'll find golf, bowling, shopping, an ice arena, horseback riding and many of the city's best-known businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St Hotel Grand Rapids
Hampton Inn And Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing