We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Love the JW in Grand Rapids. Not the type of hotel I would expect in the middle of the country. Excellent service and amenities. Only negative was scratchy towels and robes. But great price for upscale hotel.

Room Tip: Concierge service was the best. Great food and complimentary beer and wine. Service was excellent. C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing about your experience! We are glad that our hotel surprised and delighted you, and that you had the chance to enjoy the concierge lounge. Thank you for your feedback regarding the towels and robes, we will surely take that into consideration as we are selecting fabrics and ordering more. We hope to host you again when you are visiting Grand Rapids again, and look forward to seeing you!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (985)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

563 - 569 of 986 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed the weekend recently to visit family near Grand Rapids, and had the opportunity to stay at the JW. Very cool ambiance, and an awesome staff to help you with anything you need. The room was clean and had a very modern feel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K_GV19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to review your experience. I am glad that you found the hotel to be fantastic and enjoyed the fitness center. I would really value the opportunity to get more feedback from you about your unsatisfactory experience at the hotel restaurant. We take a lot of pride in the service and food at six.one.six, and would like to get more information from you to help ensure quality. If you would be so kind as to email me directly at csmith@amwayhotelcollection.com I would appreciate it. We hope to host you again when you are next in Grand Rapids!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I feel incredibly pampered at the JW Marriott in Grand Rapids It is luxurious with the ability to lie in bed with a view of the water- the river. The staff is fantastic as well. Beds are comfortable. It is good to to enjoy a comfortable and elegant stay while on a business trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dhalia85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed here for a soccer tournament in Aug. 2013.. Very nice hotel, but really over priced, everything about it was over priced. The room were very clean and comfy beds, nice bathrooms but for a soccer tournament it was a bit much.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scraphappy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us while you were in Grand Rapids for your soccer tournament. We appreciate you choosing our hotel over the many other options in the downtown area. We appreciate your kind words about the hotel, and are sorry that you were dissatisfied with the pricing. We realize that travel can be costly, and strive each day to provide an outstanding experience for our guests that more than exceeds its monetary value. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again and provide you with such an experience.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Short stay for business trip (1 night) unfortunately. I wish I could have stayed more: location is perfect in a very nice area of the town, service is excellent, from the checkin to the checkout and the 6-6 restaurant is superb and food is very good. I could have dinner and breakfast there: the chef prepares you tasty omelettes (creamy delicious) and the buffet is great. Of course, the room itself is spacious and very clean. Really a very good hotel, I was very happy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olli_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing this wonderful review. We are sorry that your stay was so short! Hopefully next time you can stay longer and enjoy more of what our hotel has to offer. I am glad, though, that you were able to get in a visit to six.one.six and try one of our famous omelets. The breakfast brunch is indeed a terrific start to the day. We hope to see you again very soon, and again thank you for taking the time to review your experience.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I stayed here for one night on October 17. I had a corner room on the 16th floor with a river view. Everything about the room was fantastic from the amenities in the bathroom, incredible shower, perfect bed, a corner section with a divan. Breakfast was very good and inexpensive. I wish I could have stayed longer

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicksam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here for ArtPrize 2012 and was really impressed. Very nice, modern, rooms with a view of the river and excellent service. Walking distance to anything downtown is also a big plus! Maybe a little pricey, and my wife wasn't wowed by the spa, but I would definitely stay again on a return trip to Grand Rapids.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing a review of your experience. We are thrilled to hear you will be staying with us when you are next in Grand Rapids! Perhaps you can visit us for the next ArtPrize. We would like to get more feedback from your wife if possible on her spa experience so we can ensure it is a memorably wonderful one next time. If you would be so kind as to email me directly at csmith@amwayhotelcollection.com I would value the opportunity to connect with her. We look forward to seeing both of you back soon!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#13 of 49 in Grand Rapids
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#24 of 49 in Grand Rapids
243 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Address: 235 Louis Campau Prom, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: £200 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Grand Rapids 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Grand Rapids is everything you would expect and nothing you could have imagined. Situated in the heart of downtown Grand Rapids, Michigan, the JW Marriott Grand Rapids is meticulously designed for both business and pleasure. As the first JW Marriott hotel in the Midwest, the hotel offers 337 well-appointed, smoke-free rooms and suites on 23 posh floors. Each of which is outfitted with atypical amenities like a 37" plasma TV, as well as numerous other uncommon personal luxuries. From shareholder's meetings to lavish wedding receptions to intimate weekend getaways to The Spa, the JW raises the bar. In luxury. In service. In dining. In everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your JW Marriott Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing