We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upon further review...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Upon further review...”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I reviewed the JW Marriott Grand Rapids in July 2013 after 2 stays. In the time since I have stayed another 3 times and have to say I need to change from a rating of 4 to a rating of 3.
I still agree that nearly all of the hotel basics; clean room, nice bathroom, fitness center, generally polite staff are still well-represented at this property. In these areas the hotel is top notch.
However in my subsequent visits there have been a few noticeable detriments to the JW Marriott experience at this property. As I've recently become a Gold Marriott member, I've been able to utilize the Lounge on the 23rd floor for breakfast, happy hour and dessert. The Lounge is absolutely tiny for the size of the hotel and the usage by guests. It appears to be about the size of 1 1/2 hotel rooms.. Every time I've visited - breakfast, happy hour, etc. it is packed with people. Also the food selection at the lounge is minimal - 2 cheeses, 2 small hot appetizer-size bites for happy hour and approx the same for breakfast. The evening hostess, while friendly is a bit "over" friendly for my taste with a very hit/miss approach to customer service. She's either all-over you or completely ignoring you.. no in-between. There are these very strange seat/desks near the window which are very uncomfortable and I guess intended for solo travelers.. it is an awful seating arrangement. It's just a very sad, sad place and on my last visit I didn't use the Lounge once.
Secondly on both of my most recent visits there have been technical issues with the television service where none of the local channels are available - they displayed "no signal". On the first visit, the problem was corrected in 1 day. On my most recent visit the problem lasted for 4 days and as of check out time was still not resolved. When I phoned the front desk they said it was the entire hotel and while apologetic could not give any further information on when it might be corrected. I mean REALLY... it's a television service.. it's JW Marriott.. you can't get this right?
I have high expectations for JW Marriott and have stayed at many of their other properties and have to say that the Grand Rapids property does not measure up to the standard set in other cities.
It is really painful to write a negative review of a JW Marriott property but in this case the facts are the facts and this property needs to take a serious look at "standards" and customer experience worthy of the JW Marriott name.

Room Tip: try to get a room on a higher floor and away from the elevator foyer as the noise from the bar tends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDERV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were in Grand Rapids, for your repeat patronage, and for sharing this extremely helpful and constructive review with us. We sincerely appreciate your honest feedback, as we take these comments very seriously. Improving the concierge lounge is of tremendous importance to us, as we know this is an important feature for Marriott Gold members like you. Our team is working on improving the set-up, food and beverage options, and service, and we are excited to share the results with you on your next stay. We also apologize for the TV service you received. This is another focus area for our team, as we continually strive to create a flawless and unforgettable experience for each and every one of our guests. Again, we thank you for your feedback and invite you back to stay with us when you are next in the city. If you would be so kind as to contact our Assistant General Manager Brian Behler directly at brian.behler@jwgr.com as well we would like to make this right with you.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    172
    47
    24
    15
See reviews for
171
299
33
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Holland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Clean, modern, comfortable and spacious rooms - we got a king room overlooking the river. Good location - walking distance to multiple restaurants and entertainent venues. We got a good deal for the weekend and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vodkatonics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Paul, MN
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My sister and I decided to have a girl's night away two days before Christmas. We had stayed at the Amway Grand years ago but we wanted to try the highly rated JW Marriott. Our package included valet parking and club lounge access in a two queen room. In some ways we felt like we were staying at two entirely different properties. First the good:

1) With one glaring exception, we loved the room. The bathroom was a bit small and there wasn't much counter space, but we loved the separate tub and shower.
2) We had two fantastic meals at six one six - dinner and breakfast. Excellent food and efficient, attentive service.
3) Location was excellent although it was snowing so we didn't leave the hotel.

The not so good:
The club lounge was a disappointment. Our expectations were too high, thinking that it would be a luxurious experience like Ritz Carlton club floors. The space was okay, but small for the number of people using it. The evening hostess was … bizarre in a passive-aggressive way. The appetizer selection consisted of cheese and three uninteresting bites. We went for the dessert spread at the appointed time, only to be told it wasn't ready and we should come back later. When we did, she claimed that everything was gone, that we were too late. Then she proceeded to go to the kitchen and bring out three trays of desserts! Part of the problem was that a number of families were staying at the property because of the ice storm that took down power lines and they could not stay in their unheated homes. So there were more people than normal, but couldn't the hotel have planned for food offerings accordingly?

The bad:
1) Although we understand that bed linens, towels, etc. are a personal preference, we HATED the bed linens. They were scratchy and wrinkled - not at all soft like we would expect for such a highly rated property. At one point during the night we called the front desk to bring us some other linens, but they didn't arrive for over an hour and only after a second phone call. At 1:45am!

2) The manager on duty at the property listened to our complaints but implied that we were mistaken, because so many guests have asked where they could purchase the linens. He did knock $40 off of our bill, but we felt this was insufficient after such a poor night's sleep. And he said nothing at all about the 75 minute wait in the middle of the night for new bedding. I wrote to corporate about the matter, and they also claimed that linens are a personal preference. What happened to the customer is always right? On a positive note, I was given a large number of Marriott Reward points, which we consider to be fair compensation for the problem.

In sum, we agree that this is undoubtedly the best hotel in Grand Rapids, but we had hoped for the same sort of experience we had at the JW Marriott in Chicago last fall. Nowhere close. (As an aside, I spent the next night at a new Courtyard in Kalamazoo and the sheets on that bed were much softer - for about 1/3 of the price. )

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spacrawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us for our girls night away, and for taking the time to review your experience. We appreciate your thorough feedback that will help us to continue to improve our hotel and provide guests with extraordinary experiences. We hope to have the opportunity to have you back for an outstanding stay, and sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered during your time with us.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

I stay here multiple times throughout the year on business. Good size rooms, most have a king bed, very modern feel. They have valet buy you can also do self park. Nice resturant in the lobby that serves local fare. Service is what you would expect from a JW Marriott. Decent location right downtown.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hondo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to share a review of your experience. We appreciate you staying with us repeatedly throughout the year when you are visiting Grand Rapids for business, and look forward to many more opportunities to provide you with excellent service in the future!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Just stayed for the second time at the JW in GR. This is definitely my hotel of choice! The furnishings in the room are modern, the beds are super comfy and it's very clean! (Always top of my list!). The staff was helpful and polite. I stayed at the JW for a conference that was being held between it, the DeVos Center and the Amway Grand. The JW is linked to the DeVos Center and the Amway Grand with a series of sky walks....this makes it really easy to get to everything and you don't have to bring your coat. There is also a Panera on the sky walk route for a quick lunch of dinner. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty_K712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us while you were attending a conference in Grand Rapids. We are glad the skywalk provided you with a convenient and enjoyable experience! Thank you for taking the time to share about your time with us, and we hope to host you again soon.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Huron, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This hotel has few multiple bed rooms. When you make a reservation for a room with two beds they will tell you you have the reservation. On check in they will tell you "sorry, we don't have many rooms with two beds and they are gone. Yes, you did reserve a room with two beds but there aren't any. Your extra party can sleep on a chair." Also has a twenty story echo chamber that amplifies noise from the first floor to all floors in the building. Constant irritating music in the halls.

Room Tip: Opt out of this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay. If you would be so kind as to contact our Assistant General Manager Brian Behler directly at Brian.Behler@jwgr.com, he would appreciate the opportunity to follow up with you and make this situation right. Thank you for sharing this important feedback with us and for staying with us.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We had a wonderful stay here. The staff was very accomadating and welcoming. Great views of the city! BEAUTIFUL ROOM! We stayed in room 910. The bathroom was perfect with a spacious layout including a large tub, seperate shower and large mirror. And the bed was phenomenal. We slept so well and woke up refreshed. I wouldn't change a thing about this hotel. I will be returning!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKK991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#13 of 48 in Grand Rapids
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#17 of 48 in Grand Rapids
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Property: JW Marriott Grand Rapids
Address: 235 Louis Campau Prom, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#1 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Grand Rapids 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Grand Rapids is everything you would expect and nothing you could have imagined. Situated in the heart of downtown Grand Rapids, Michigan, the JW Marriott Grand Rapids is meticulously designed for both business and pleasure. As the first JW Marriott hotel in the Midwest, the hotel offers 337 well-appointed, smoke-free rooms and suites on 23 posh floors. Each of which is outfitted with atypical amenities like a 37" plasma TV, as well as numerous other uncommon personal luxuries. From shareholder's meetings to lavish wedding receptions to intimate weekend getaways to The Spa, the JW raises the bar. In luxury. In service. In dining. In everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your JW Marriott Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing