We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally Located - Comfortable and Great Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Mableton, GA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Centrally Located - Comfortable and Great Views”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife and I spend a weekend in Grand Rapids, with Michigan still deep in winter, and snow everywhere, the covered parking was very convenient and welcome. We had a city view on the 22nd floor and the views were fantastic, and the room tastefully decorated and comfortable too. The staff were pleasant and cheerful, and always greeted you when you past them. I'd have no hesitation in staying there again.

Room Tip: Higher floors afford a better view, the shape of the hotel means you're never too far from the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTJayG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    174
    47
    24
    15
See reviews for
174
302
33
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

My husband two sons and I checked in and were only in line for a few minutes. Good start

We got to our room and it was very nice. Clean and with a great view as we were on the 19th floor and had access to the club lounge upstairs. The bed was very comfortable and drapes definitely kept light out

The lounge on the 23rd floor we had access to was great. Breakfast in the am. Snacks available all day as well as sodas water and coffee then at 530 they has complimentary wine and snacks The kids were always able to get a soda and apple then go back to their room or the pool. Very nice. Rather than paying too much downstairs we had for free

Valet was fast to bring our car around when leaving and all the staff we spoke to were very nice

There is a kids museum within walking distance and so is the Gerald ford museum Very nice way to spend the day.

Enjoy

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Txsgrl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elida O, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor! We are so very glad that you got to enjoy our Concierge Lounge on the 23rd floor. We appreciate all of your kind words about our rooms and staff. We hope to get the chance to host you and your family again in the future.

At Your Service,

Elida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I went to a class reunion in Cadillac, MI and had an extra night to visit one of my favorite cousins kind-of-on-the-way-home. As usual, no reservations; hotel almost fully booked. Since it was later in the day there were only river-view suites available. "Oh well", said we, "if we HAVE to..."
It is quite pricey for the area, and nowhere near the standard of opulence set by the JW in Bucharest. But it is a FINE modern state of the art accommodation with beds to die for!
The Staff was a respectful, friendly, and more fun than one expects from employees of the hotel that stands head and shoulders above everything else in town. The building was fully handicap friendly (UNUSUAL in all classes of hotel); the valet and bellhop service ran like clockwork without the usual annoying waits. The JW Grand Rapids gave me a whole knew perspective on a city I've known most of my life. I was only disappointed that they were fully booked a year in advance for our return trip at Thanksgiving.

Room Tip: No surprise: Upper floor King suite with a view of the river and the Gerald Ford Presidential Center...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goddess-of-Luxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTH WHITLEY
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My husband and I had our 3rd annual spa get away. We had the spa package that included 50 minute couples massage. We love our room and the linens were to die for! I could have layed there all day. We had several cocktails at mixology and the wine was wonderful. We used our Jbucks for room service breakfast which was delicious. We marked that there were two of us, but they only brought one napkin/silverware bundle. We shared :) Lounged in our complimentary terry bathrobes and enjoyed breakfast. Only thing we would suggest is there was no music. No music on the TV or a radio to enjoy some relaxing music. Bathrooms are elegant with nice size toiletries. Our Valet was great, brought everything up and asked if room was ok and would I like ice. Hung up my clothes too! Check in was a breeze. We felt like we were the only couple in the hotel and the hotel catered to us. They made us feel so important. I just love it there! It is a great end of winter get away.

Room Tip: We always request river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funtime210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clio, MI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed at the hotel for the night of February 22, 2014. We valet parked the car and that is where the high quality, polite and professional service started. Check-in took all of 2-3 minutes again, very polite and professional. The room (16th floor) was very clean, neat and of the expected quality for the price. The city view was nice but I think I would go for the river view next time. After settling in we went downstairs for a drink. Again, great service. Our trip involved a murder mystery dinner. Once we returned to the hotel I ordered room service, this took about 20 minutes or so and again the staff was excellent. The hotel was quiet for a good night sleep. The breakfast bar is pricey but leaves nothing to be desired. The omelet bar is very high quality. The JW Marriott may be a little expensive but the service and accommodations I think it is a good value.

Room Tip: Go with the river view any floor or city view 15 or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elida O, Manager at JW Marriott Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your recent trip to Grand Rapids! We are so very glad that you got to enjoy our beautiful city view rooms and our fabulous dining options. Thank you for taking note of our staff - we are so fortunate to have such dedicated and helpful staff members. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

At Your Service,

Elida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I stayed in this hotel recently for one night. Room was excellent. Restaurant andf bar were very comfortable with decent wine list and great sushi. Did not stay for breakfast so can't comment and did not use gym this time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, MI
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This was a "staycation" for us, but we have always wondered what the JW is like, so we stayed overnight for Valentine's day. The staff couldn't be more helpful and pleasant. The pool and fitness facility are great, and it looks as though the spa is first class, as well. Mixology, the bar, was full the entire afternoon and evening on Saturday. Our only complaint was that the "hotel soap" odor was a little too pervasive, especially during the day. It seems like it lessened overnight, which is good, because it would have been distracting and would have made it hard to sleep. It's easy to walk to most nearby attractions and restaurants, and there is a skywalk that goes all the way to the arena, and to DeVos Place, meaning no coat!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river. Third floor has the spa...avoid that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomps97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#12 of 48 in Grand Rapids
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#19 of 48 in Grand Rapids
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Property: JW Marriott Grand Rapids
Address: 235 Louis Campau Prom, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Grand Rapids 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Grand Rapids is everything you would expect and nothing you could have imagined. Situated in the heart of downtown Grand Rapids, Michigan, the JW Marriott Grand Rapids is meticulously designed for both business and pleasure. As the first JW Marriott hotel in the Midwest, the hotel offers 337 well-appointed, smoke-free rooms and suites on 23 posh floors. Each of which is outfitted with atypical amenities like a 37" plasma TV, as well as numerous other uncommon personal luxuries. From shareholder's meetings to lavish wedding receptions to intimate weekend getaways to The Spa, the JW raises the bar. In luxury. In service. In dining. In everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your JW Marriott Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing