We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent servers, inside very loud, heavy food”
Review of The Green Well

The Green Well
Ranked #2 of 928 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Brew Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We serve honest fayre with local flair in a green, neighborhood setting that keeps customers coming back. Our innovative gastro pub is green beyond its name: Our building is LEED(R) certified inside and out which means it's environmentally safe, ultra efficient and leaves behind the smallest possible carbon footprint.
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Excellent servers, inside very loud, heavy food”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My husband and I stopped here with our (well behaved) two year old for dinner. Pros - the servers couldn't have been nicer, they were very family friendly, the patio is really nice (next to a little garden). Cons - the inside of the restaurant is very noisy where the music is turned up so loud you can't hear yourself think (don't you go out to dinner to actually talk with your dinner partner...?), and the food was heavy/ ok but not great. The Mac and cheese and fish tacos are rumored to be good - we should have tried those. We had the pad thai (strange, heavy smorgasbord of spices and ingredients) and the brisket (ditto). Neither of us came close to finishing our meals and we were both really hungry.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MPecas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    148
    35
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice find”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

After searching reviews on trip advisor and urban spoon, we decided on The Green Well Gastro Pub. We couldnt have been happier with our pick.We ordered the cuban, the turkey sandwich and a local brew from brewery vivant and perrin. All of which were delicious. We chose to sit at the bar in hopes of chatting with the bartender about local business suggestions. We got exactly what we were looking for. Great local beer and food, paired with professional and nice service. Well worth your time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AimedWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
339 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Creative menu in a lovely section of town”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Overall, my wife and I enjoyed our experience at The Green Well. The menu is creative without being pretentious. The service could have been a tad more attentive, but perhaps that was due to our taking an outdoor table.

A few observations, however. Portions are very generous. We opted for the cheese assortment as an appetizer, then two entrees. Three people could have easily split the appetizer, while four people could have found it a decent start. Oddly, the cheese came with an ample portion of their homemade chutney. The chutney itself was delicious, but there had to be nearly a cup of the stuff on the plate. Waayyy too much.

Second, there is very limited lighting outside...really, none. Whatever light exists spills out from the restaurant itself or comes from the street lights. Had we been seated any later, we might have needed flashlights! Odd that there are no candles on the tables. That said, as we exited through the restaurant we were glad we chose the al fresco option. All the inside tables were occupied and the restaurant seemed uncomfortably noisy.

Curiously, although the food is reasonably priced, drink prices seemed unusually high. Yes, The Green Well should be credited with serving a variety of local brews, but the prices they charge for a 12-ounce, not a pint, pour is egregious.

One final note: The Green Well does not take reservations for parties smaller than six. So, a wait for table would not be unusual. Indeed, we arrived about 7pm, asked for "first available" seating (i.e., indoors or outdoors) and still had a short wait. During the cooler months, when outdoor seating is out of the question, such a wait likely would have been much longer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MongoSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield HIlls, Mich USA
Level Contributor
208 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Wonderful, locally sourced food in a casual comfortable setting”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is NOT a boring menu. Even the mac & cheese looked unique. We ordered Trout with a wonderful white bean succotash that was tasty & hearty, and served piping hot. We also ordered the Two Way Pork. The pork also had an innovative sides in the buttermilk cheddar bread pudding and creamed corn & spinach. My husband & I mentioned we were both debating the same two entrees, and the waiter offered to split each one, so we could each have a half plate of both. Very satisfying food, locale, service, great value. Will definitely return on next trip!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissShoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious laid back hipster gastro-pub”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

The title says it all! Burgers and overall menu are very impresseive. The atmosphere is very low key and unintimidating. The servers are all hipsters but as we all know are harmless and just more laid back. :) There is fabulous local artwork hanging all around for you to admire while you wait for your delicious food! Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mollier8286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Well also viewed

Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to The Green Well? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing