We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful view!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Room 2281. Beautiful views over the river. Lovely room with corner windows. As an English person would have appreciated milk rather than cream. But otherwise thought the hotel was astounding. Cornucopia canteen brilliant for breakfast. Swimming pool and spa great fun.

Room Tip: We had a lovely quiet room with views over both the river and the town. Cornucopia canteen excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank higtrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    885
    366
    114
    68
    41
See reviews for
222
371
45
638
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
140 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

The Amway Grand provided a great venue for the wedding I attended. I also stayed here for 3 nights during that wedding weekend. This review evaluates my hotel stay and not the wedding experience. And my stay was fairly average on the whole.

Good things: The hotel is beautiful—great ornamentation, decoration, and a nice old-world feel from the lumber barons who originally owned the place in the early part of the 20th century. Another nice amenity is the gym, which is very nice and better than most hotel gyms. The service and personnel were all well-trained and very helpful. There are restaurants inside the hotel and plenty of places just outside the hotel as well.

Average/negative things: The room was small and the bed was average. The bathroom was fairly small and the shower didn’t drain well (had to call engineering to come and clear the drain). The shower head was very lime-scaled up so the water stream was poor quality. The shower not draining and shower head issues prevented me from starting the day with a good shower, which is a minimum standard for any hotel. There was also some debris on the floor of the room (a broken corkscrew). The view was boring as it looked out onto another building.

So despite having great service and beautiful interior decorating, the very average room detracted from the experience to make the stay average. And the actual room is the foundation of any hotel experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EuroHoneyMoon2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us while you were visiting for a wedding, and for taking the time to write this detailed review. I'm so glad you took note of some of our hotel's history, and of our excellent fitness center and helpful staff! However, I apologize that your guest room was not up to our high facility standards. We are just weeks away from a large renovation project for the rooms on the tower side of our hotel to improve these spaces. I hope that you will come visit when the project is complete so that you can experience an entirely flawless stay! Thank you again for your review.

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

Great hotel- friendly staff. Easy access to expressway. I have stayed here several times. It is first choice on every level. Food very good. Definitely I would recommend This trip I started out in spring lake holiday inn because it was a few minutes closer for family funeral. After a week of barking dog and rock concert loud pool music until 10 pm , I said ENOUGH and returned to this fine hotel- which was same price as that holiday inn.

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Bev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisville, Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

We enjoyed this spectacular hotel at the recent American Quilters Socitety meeting. The size of the bath towels are a good clue to the luxury of the Amway Grand...enormous! The staff can't be more helpful, everything is spotless and it's a great experience. Grand Rapids is an amazing vital city and the Amway reflects that spirit. You won't be disappointed

Room Tip: There are 2 sections, the beautifully renovated Pantlind 1914 section and the newer tower with wonde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyQ000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing this wonderful review of your stay during the American Quilters Society event! It was a pleasure to host this wonderful group, and I'm so glad that you enjoyed your time here as much as we enjoyed having you. We hope to see you again next year, and perhaps for another visit to Grand Rapids sometimes soon!

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at the beautiful Amway Grand Plaza Hotel on August 25th. Since it was a "special" birthday for him, I booked the "Romance Plus" package and the hotel was very accommodating in honoring my request for a room with a view of the Grand River. We dined at Cignus 27 and that also had an amazing view - the food was great and the service exceptional. I will definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for celebrating your husband's birthday with us! It sounds like it was a memorable birthday for both of you, and I am so glad we could help facilitate that. I'm glad you had a chance to dine at Cygnus 27 and take in the breathtaking view from the 27th floor - it is just stunning and adds such a grand element to a dining experience. Once again, thank you for joining us and for posting this review! I hope that we will see you again soon for another special occasion, or any occasion at all.

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, OH
Level Contributor
342 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

you may be able to find rooms on Hotwire or Hotels.com. That's how we finally got a room. It was $179/night, so I don't think it was any deal. Both web sites named the hotel and the rate.

Check-in was nothing short of amazing. When I saw a line of at least a dozen guests, I began to panic. Then I noticed something unusual. Have you ever seen a front desk with 7 clerks? All of them were actually working, too. Our wait in line lasted all of about 2 minutes.

We had called ahead and requested the older section of the hotel. It was truly elegant. Yes, the room was on the small side, but had high ceilings. The bathroom was small enough so that if you stretched out your arms, you could touch both walls. That said, the marble tile in the bathroom was beautiful. The accent tiles were in a burnt sienna and the shower curtain was white, with a burnt sienna "A" embroidered on it and burnt sienna braided trim at the bottom. Walls in the bathroom and room were beige on beige, with lots of molding. I'm not a big fan of the carpeting in the hotel. It's very bold, in navy, green, and gold. The room's drapes looked like 1980. The television set was a large flat-screen, circa 2012. There was an in-room single-cup coffee maker.
Two other drawbacks, that kept this hotel from getting all 5 starts, was the noise, mentioned in earlier reviews, and lack of towels in the bathroom. Noise also comes from the street. For some reason, it sounded like drag races off and on, but it was a Sat. night. Also, you hear every door on your floor slam closed. Please, if you stay here, hang on to the door until it closes, especially late at night and in the early morning hours. If a room has two queen beds and if your reservation is for 3 people, why can't there be more than 2 sets of towels in the bathroom?

Two great restaurants I can recommend, withing walking distance, are Bistro Bella Vita for dinner (currently #4 on tripadvisor) and Sundance Grill for breakfast (#36). The conceirge told us Sundance wasn't open on Sundays, but my husband's smart phone told him differently.

The only other recommendation I have is not to miss the Pantlind lobby. It's not the lobby where you check-in. It's actually a beautiful room, past the main lobby, in the old section of the hotel. The chandeliers are breathtaking, certainly the most lovely I have ever seen.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tamaralea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your extremely thorough review of our hotel! We love hosting discerning guests, and are especially flattered or motivated by their comments. We're so glad for the expeditious experience you had with the front desk - we prepare carefully when expecting a large number of check-ins and pride ourselves on minimizing any wait. We're also glad that you appreciated the detail and charm of the historic side of the hotel, though sorry that the noise disturbed you. The tower side of the hotel tends to be much quieter. Also, we're sorry that there was a lack of towels - next time you stay with us please feel free to request more towels from the front desk or our housekeeping staff and we're happy to provide you with them. We hope to see you again soon, and thank you again for your detailed review!

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#3 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#16 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#15 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 187 Monroe Ave NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2621
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#4 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#6 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 682
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When does the hotel become the destination? When the moment you walk through the door you feel as if you've been transported - by the elegance, the details, and the gracious service. When your every expectation of what a hotel can be is exceeded. Welcome to the Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, where every stay is marked by a memorable moment. Whether it's a stroll through the Pantlind Lobby, the great view from one of our Glass Tower rooms, the classical architecture, or your first bite of one of our signature entrees. The Amway Grand Plaza is much more than a hotel. It's a true destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amway Grand Plaza Rapids
Hotel Amway Grand Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing