We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convention Site”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Munising, Michigan, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convention Site”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Hotel staff and services were excellent. Old section of the Hotel very elegant and reminds me of days gone by in a very nice way. Small shops within the hotel were good. Cleanliness throughout the hotel. The little sandwich shop/bistro food was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elida O, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Joseph,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us during your convention, and that our Pantlind wing brought pleasant memories back. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our delectable options at Cornucopia, and we hope to get the opportunity to host you again in the future.

At Your Service,

Elida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    936
    383
    125
    75
    43
See reviews for
236
389
45
681
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Going to Grand Rapids for a wedding - don't really expect to stay in a memorable hotel. Was very pleasantly surprised and pleased by the experience I had a this hotel. It was opulent without being pretentious. The room was large, well appointed, quiet, great closet, and the bed was very comfortable. The interior of the hotel was very well decorated and and while a very large hotel, didn't have any mega atrium rooms where you can hear the echos of people 200 feet away. The sports bar has a nice local beer selection, the bar in the old part of the hotel a great liquor selection, very friendly staff throughout. Parking is a little ridiculous at $19/night but I guess that's the price to pay for downtown hotel. Centrally located and easy walk to downtown attractions.

Room Tip: Away from elevators
See more room tips
Green Features: Get a couple $5 coupons to Starbucks or their own cafe if you agree to not have your room cleaned while you're there. Who washes their towels at home everyday anyway? No brainer.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Light_Sleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elida O, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor! I am so glad to hear that you were pleasantly surprised by our memorable hotel, especially our decor, atmosphere, and rooms. We hope to see you again very soon!

At your service,

Elida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here for business and had no complaints at all. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff I had contact with were all helpful. There were many places to eat both inside the hotel and within walking distance. Parking was easy with the attached parking garage and for those staying at the hotel the parking is free. Very happy with the area and the hotel. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Ryan P,

Thank you so much for staying with us while you were in Grand Rapids for business, and for your kind words about our rooms and staff. We sometimes have special offers and have packages that include complimentary parking, and are glad you were able to enjoy this benefit during your stay. Do note that not every package includes complimentary parking when you are booking in the future. We hope to have you back for another wonderful stay sometime soon. We look forward to seeing you again!

At your service,

Carrie S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We asked for a tower room when we reserved a room months ahead. The 21st floor room was newly renovated and very, very chic and comfortable! The view out our large window showcased the long view of the Grand River with all its bridges. The Gerald Ford Museum was also in site. The room was extremely quiet even on a Saturday night! There was a lot of room in the lobby and the stores and restaurants were so convenient. Everyone was very friendly and efficient at the desk, too. It was pricey, but worth it.

Room Tip: We liked the end room on the 21st floor in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taffyo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elida O, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Taffyo42,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I'm so glad you got to experience our newly renovated Tower Rooms that we love so much, along with the beautiful views on the 21st floor. We appreciate your kind words about our staff – we are fortunate to have such dedicated staff members. We look forward to your next stay with us.

At Your Service,

Elida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Baltimore, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

All the charm of an older hotel and yet has modern upgrades. The location of this hotel can't be beat. We were fortunate and stayed the weekend of Grand Rapid's Festival of Arts. Parked our car on Friday and didn't go back to it until we left Sunday. Everyone at the hotel was very nice and helpful. We'll be planning to come back soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art-n-Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elida O, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. We are so glad that you got to enjoy our fabulous location during Festival of Arts. Thank you for taking note of our staff – we are so fortunate to have wonderful staff members. We look forward to your next stay with us!

At Your Service,

Elida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel totally blew my mind. The decor is absolutely amazing, just breathtaking, with velvet couches, massive crystal chandeliers and ornate scroll work in the lobby alone. Even though I was staying with a group and expected to be placed in a tiny room, my room was incredible. Two queen beds, a couch, two sitting chairs, a writing desk, walk-in closet and huge TV. The room was in the Pantlind building and was beautifully decorated at well. And the bed was soooo comfortable. All the service staff were helpful and kind. I hope to make it a yearly pilgrimage in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chanmight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elida O, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us, and for all of your kind words. I'm glad that you enjoyed so much of what our hotel has to offer, including the architecture, decor, location, and rooms. We are delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations, and we are looking forward to your next stay with us!

At Your Service,

Elida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro,NC
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Amway is located in a terrific spot in downtown Grand Rapids - right on the river and across the bridge from the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum. Close to lots of restaurants and bars.

The hotel is truly grand with two distinct sides - an historic tower and a modern tower. My room was in the modern tower and had a great view of the river and the Ford Museum. Room was large and in a corner so it had two views. Comfortable bed, clean room.

Attended a convention in the hotel and that was run very well.

The staff was great all around and projected good customer service and were upscale as the hotel.

Did not eat at the hotel - other than at the convention - but there are a few restaurant choices in the hotel. Was able to walk to some good places - B.O.B., Grand Rapids Brewing Company and Founders - all great brew pubs. Enjoyed meals at B.O.B. (Bobarinos) and GR Brewing Co. Also, enjoy a drink at six.one.six across at the J.W. Marriott which has outside seating and an great view of the river.

The Amway is a fabulous choice for staying in downtown Grand Rapids. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterFNYNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elida O, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us, and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor! I am so glad that you got to experience the beautiful views from our Tower Rooms. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and about our fabulous location. We hope you enjoyed your conference, and we hope to get the chance to host you again in the future.

At Your Service,

Elida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#3 of 48 in Grand Rapids
947 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#13 of 48 in Grand Rapids
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#17 of 48 in Grand Rapids
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 187 Monroe Ave NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2621
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#4 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#6 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 682
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When does the hotel become the destination? When the moment you walk through the door you feel as if you've been transported - by the elegance, the details, and the gracious service. When your every expectation of what a hotel can be is exceeded. Welcome to the Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, where every stay is marked by a memorable moment. Whether it's a stroll through the Pantlind Lobby, the great view from one of our Glass Tower rooms, the classical architecture, or your first bite of one of our signature entrees. The Amway Grand Plaza is much more than a hotel. It's a true destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amway Grand Plaza Rapids
Hotel Amway Grand Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing