We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad, Bad, Bad!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Bad, Bad, Bad!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Old, dirty with much maintenance needed! Convenient to the airport however the bathroom door didn't shut, sink was plugged and shower was malfunctioning. Staff did not seem to care much and didn't offer any compensation. I would not stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank judithb766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I apologize that your stay did not live up to your expectations and quite frankly based on your words, your stay did not live up to my expectations either. I am sorry that you felt our staff did not care as that is furthest from the truth. We care deeply about every one of our guests and are always working hard to make sure everything goes as smooth as possible during your stay. We have recently implemented new training tools for our maintenance department so that we are able to fix any issues prior to the guest having to tell us. Unfortunately in this case we failed and I apologize for that. We do hope you will reconsider and allow us a second chance to make a great first impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    128
    82
    46
    40
See reviews for
194
108
41
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kalkaska, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights with students and parents. When we checked in our rooms were not connecting and the staff was very accommodating, changing our rooms right away. The rooms were very quiet and clean. There was construction going on at the motel, but we did not hear a thing. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again myself.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basketchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! We always try to make our guests number 1 while they are here. We have been striving to create a culture of helping in any way we can to make our guests feel at home with a clean, comfortable room and top notch customer service. We would love to host your group anytime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

For the cost of the suite I was very happy with the room. Also was able to bring my dog for a nominal fee which was even better. Bed was comfortable, pillows were great. Would stay at this hotel again if in the area and would recommend this hotel to friends and family without hesitation. It's easy access right off the expressway and is in close proximity to many restaurants and stores.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jaala M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your recent glowing review! We are continually striving to provide the best customer care that we can. I am happy to see in this case we were able to do just that! We look forward to your next visit to Grand Rapids and hopefully our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

My stay at this hotel was very nice. Beds were excellent and breakfasts were nice as well. The room was quite clean. The staff is outstanding and friendly and I cannot thank them enough for going to the time and trouble of returning a jacket that I left there. They went above and beyond my expectations.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for the glowing review. You almost made us blush with your kind words. We do hope you will remember us next time you decide to enjoy our wonderful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel is very nice, clean and the front desk service was excellent. Great Value! You can also get a 15% discount for eating at the restaurant next door. Breakfast was good and have lots of seats. Best hotel over my 5 days trip!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank eimarinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We very much appreciate the kind words regarding our staff and breakfast. We have been working hard to make sure that every guest feels at home. I'm glad that you were able to take advantage of the deal with the restaurant next door. We look forward to welcoming you next time you are visiting Grand Rapids.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goshen, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I was disappointed in my stay at the hotel. There were several things wrong and nothing was done to correct it. No light in the bathroom, main door did not shut right, very dirty pack and play. I asked for adjoining rooms and did not get it. Breakfast was sub par.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Katharine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I am very sorry that your stay was less than stellar and did not live up to your expectations. I would absolutely love to hear from you at your earliest convenience so that we can discuss the issues you had in your room. I also apologize for the fact that you did not get adjoining rooms as requested. We do our best to honor every request, unfortunately sometimes things happen which are out of our control and we try our best to make the best of what we can, which in this case meant getting your 3 rooms in the same hall almost right next to one another. Again, we very much appreciate your feedback and will use it to improve our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern ontario
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. Room was fairly clean. Needs some updating to the rooms and property. Staff seemed pleasant enough. Breakfast consisted of the basics. Price was very reasonable so I can't complain.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2trvl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel in regards to your recent stay. To address your concerns, we are actually in the middle of a major renovation to the guest rooms and public areas in general. We have re-tiled all our bathrooms and are in the process of installing new carpeting in every room. We are also looking to revamp our breakfast to include more options as well. We do hope that you will choose us next time you visit our wonderful city and you will be able to see the all the changes firsthand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#8 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
4.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#5 of 49 in Grand Rapids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
#17 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites
Address: 5500 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-2052
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites will be pleased to find that each well-appointed guestroom and suite includes satellite television with HBO®, a refrigerator, microwave and free high-speed wireless Internet access. Other amenities at this Grand Rapids hotel include a complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning, free dinner every Monday through Thursday, a sparkling indoor heated swimming pool; largest in the area, hot tub and a complimentary airport shuttle service to the Gerald R Ford International Airport - located just three miles away. Proud to be the closest BEST WESTERN to Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park, named one of the world’s 30 Must See Museums by Patricia Schultz, author of 1000 Places to See Before you Die. Meijer Gardens is home to Butterflies are Blooming and Christmas Around the World and Grand Rapids Art Prize Annual exhibitions.Business guests of the BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites will also appreciate this Grand Rapids hotel's close proximity to local businesses including the Grand Rapids Medical Mile. The Medical Mile is home to the Grand Rapids Community College Calkins Science Center, Spectrum Health’s Butterworth Hospital Complex, Grand Valley State university’s Cook-DeVos Center for Health Sciences, and Michigan State University Secchia Center Medical School. The BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites is close to Amway, Meijer, Cascade Engineering and Steelcase Headquarters. The Best Western is centrally located within minutes to over 100 restaurants’, many of them participating popular Annual Restaurant Week.Specializing in hosting sports teams, the BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites' location near Aquinas, Calvin, Cornerstone, Davenport and Grand Rapids Community Colleges. Located only minutes from Patterson Ice Arena, Soccer Spot, MVP Field House (directly across the street),and AMF Eastbrook Lanes Bowling Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hospitality Hotel Grand Rapids
Best Western Hospitality Hotel And Suites
Best Western Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing