We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 October 2007

We just returned from a convention in Grand Rapids and stayed 5 niights at this hotel. The location was perfect. The hotel has free parking so we left the car parked the entire time we were there. We had a beautiful 5 minute walk to the convention center through a park and over the river, there were museams accross the street and plenty of places to eat within a few blocks.
The hotel was clean and the staff friendly. The pool was a little cold but the hot tub was great. We ate breakfast at the hotel once which was just ok, kind of pricey for what you get. They do have a little express take out place in the lobby which had good salads and fresh fruit plates which were outstanding and a good vallue for the amount of fruit you get. We did not have a problem with noise from inside the hotel or from the traffic outside and the hotel was completly booked for the entire time we were there.
If we go back to Grand Rapids I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2007

Most reviews of Days Inn properties are fairly negative. This is one Days Inn that's actually good! I believe that the Days Inn in Grand Rapids, MI is the exception and not the norm!

My girlfriend, who's now my fiancee, and I arrived at this place at 1:30am because our Amtrak train had been delayed for several hours because of severe storms and signal outages (not Amtrak's fault). We did call the hotel to tell them that we would be arriving very late. They said that was fine. The desk clerk was very friendly at that hour in the morning.

This property was undergoing extensive renovations at the time we visited. The paneling had been removed from the elevators. The restaurant, however, was open and it was decent food for breakfast. Not great, but not horrible either. The bar was open too. Our room was clean yet not renovated. There were some pockmarks on the dresser and desk, but these were because of age. The dresser and desk were certainly still usable. My only other minor complaint is that the indoor pool water was too warm--like hot bathwater. But the pool was clean.

As I said, this Days Inn is actually a winner. It certainly provides a lower-cost alternative to the pricey-er hotels in Downtown Grand Rapids. Downtown Grand Rapids is "up-and-coming" and this hotel is across the street from the Gerald Ford Museum and also the Van Andel Museum. It is a short walk to good dining, DeVos Place, and the Van Andel Arena. For a good value in Downtown Grand Rapids, try the Days Inn. You'll be glad you did!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Wolvesfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2007

I normally shy away from the Days Inn chain because you never know what to expect. I stayed at this property a couple years ago out of necessity and was pleasantly surprised. Because of the location and value I chose this hotel again.

The room was very clean and the bed was firm as I like. The rest of the furniture shows wear. When the public areas are finished the new owners should start on the rooms.

As described in earlier reviews, the hotel is undergoing refurbishing and the results are very tasteful.

The restaurant had a nice selection and the prices were very reasonable.

I've stayed at the Amway Grand Plaza on 2 occasions, and while it is a beautiful property, I find the value at the Days Inn.

This is not your ordinary Days Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jack1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2007

Good downtown location next to the highway and directly across from the Gerald Ford Presidential Museum. If you're planning on visiting the museum this is a great place to stay. You can walk from the hotel to the museum.The hotel is undergoing renovation but so far it looks like it is coming together very nicely. There is a lot of parking in the rear of the hotel and the hotel restaurant was nice and affordable. The hotel was also pet friendly for a small fee.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ace4294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2007

Stayed here on a businesss trip. I got a double bed room that was somewhat larger than most other double bed rooms that I have stayed at. I could imagine staying there with my wife and two kids and having ample of space to move around in.

Check in was flawless. The elevator smelled of cigarettes. The pool was closed and most of the lobby was under construction. The bar area was very small, not sure if they are enlarging that.

The room was clean and had all that you need. A nice 2 foot tall fridge was big enough to store leftovers and ample supplies of foods. This is necessary as this hotel DOES NOT HAVE A CONTINENTIAL BREAKFAST!!! What is up with that? They do, however, have a restaurant in the lobby area and they are a little pricey. Ironing board and iron also supplied in the room. Rooms were nice and large. TV had hook-ups in the front to plug in your portable DVD player.

My key did not work on my last night there and there was no ice machine on the 6th floor. I had to go down to the 4th floor to fill up my cooler.

Night life in the area....all the bars downtown were within a nice walking distance. TGIF, Mojo's, Boars Head, Z's, The B.O.B, and Flanagans. Mojo's (closed on Mon & Tuesday) is a dueling piano bar and they had $2.00 drinks until 11pm. $2.00 cover for the guys, girls got in free. Great atmosphere, if you have never been to a dueling piano bar I STRONGLY recommend it. Boars Head Tavern was a nice place with good food, and beer. Z's was more of a local's bar but had lots of room and well lit - pool, karoke on Wed. Flanagans smelled like moth balls but the beer was wet. The B.O.B is a three tiered bar with different events on each level.

Monday and Tuesday nights in GR were terribly quite. Not alot of people roaming the streets or bars. But Wed was the night to go out...people everywhere. They also had the Blues in the Mall. An outside music fest that I guess takes place throughout the summer...alot of bikers, if your into that..

Anyway the hotel was great for what I used it for...a place to sleep. Clean and had a fridge and microwave. They did tell me during my reservation that the pool was closed, so ask just to be safe.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank microbrew22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank AleGS1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Hoe hoger hoe beter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlin P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#13 of 49 in Grand Rapids
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#23 of 49 in Grand Rapids
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown

Address: 310 Pearl St NW, US 131 and Pearl Street, Grand Rapids, MI 49504-5314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#16 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: £117 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 175 room full-service Holiday Inn, officially relaunched in December 2009. All guest rooms have 32" HDTVs, easy chair, large work desk. Rates include complimentary on site parking and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Days Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing