We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, recently remodeled”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This is a very nice hotel. It is next to the GR City Museum and the Gerald Ford Museum and the Grand River. It is a block from the JW Marriott and Amway Grand hotels and a couple of blocks from the convention center. There are many restaurants within walking distance in downtown GR. The art museum is also a few blocks away. The medical campus is about six blocks away. GR has done a good job of refurbishing its downtown, although shopping opportunities are limited. The hotel is next to an exit from US 131 and convenient to I 196 and 96. l Parking is free. The remodel has removed a lot of the old Holiday Inn gloom. Room was very large and had a fridge, microwave, iron. It was clean, the beds were comfortable, and you have a choice of pillows. We did not eat in the hotel or use the gym. In room wireless was free and fast. This is a reasonably priced and perfectly adequate alternative to the higher priced places nearby. Staff was friendly and helpful and the manager made a point of thanking us when we checked out.

Room Tip: Based on other reviews, try for rooms away from the highway. We did not notice a lot of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wguterbock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

Well maintained Holiday Inn hotel.
Lately renovated, rooms are nice and amenities are convenient.
Nice bar in the hotel, close to downtown (10 min walking).
But the highway is far too close and the noise is really uncomfortable.
The rooms with city view (very few of them) might be a little less noisy...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Djaidje_31600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Dear Djaidje_31600,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your room accommodations as well as our amenities. We are glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. We are deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced due to the noise. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are hospitality professionals and strive to be the best. Your comments will be looked into.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

This hotel although seems older from decor is actually quite clean and comfortable and is in a great location with plenty of parking. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Write_On_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This a pretty nice hotel with a great location, free parking and free wi-fi. The beds are very comfortable, the TV is large with many channels. Breakfast in the cafe downstairs was quite good; I had the special with eggs, bacon, biscuit, homefries for $5.95. It has a really nice lobby and bar area with a handful of Michigan craft beers.

I had an issue with housekeeping after the first night. The hotel has one of those ecofriendly towel policies, where if you hang your towel up it doesn't get changed. That was fine with me. However, I hung my washcloth on the faucet in the bathroom and they didn't change it. A towel is one thing but a washcloth tends to get kind of gross. The next day I left the washcloth on the floor of the tub and it did get changed.

Also, they didn't clean up around the coffee maker.

I also found the road noise quite loud. A highway runs right through downtown and it was always apparent.

Another thing, I'm a Priority Club member and a coworker who isn't and who checked in when I did got a better room than I did. Hers was higher up and facing away from the parking lot/highway. I did get $4 off my breakfast, though.

Still, the location can't be beat.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are probably the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlabq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Dear dlabq,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Member and leaving your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your room accommodations as well a our hotel location. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was less than satisfactory. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Not sure exactly why I read reviews before we go someplace, need to learn to trust my gut instincts...This hotel was awesome, sure we could tear it apart, small pool area, but kept us happy it was indoors and heated to a nice comfortable temp. My daughter (sensitive skin) did have problems with the chlorine, was that the hotels fault? I think, NOT! Hot tub was nice, sure there were kids in there splashing and carrying on, I didn't read anywhere wher it says only adults that are "prudes" have paid to be guests at this hotel. The night manager (man), the front desk (Jeff), the bar tender (Dave), and everyone else was MORE than accomodating to us. It was Easter weekend and the hotel was "dead" but we were always treated as if we were the most important people there! When we forgot something a call downstairs was quickly answered and toiletries were immediately delivered to our room, by yet another curteous attendant. The rooms are a little smaller than a suite, no there isn't a fridge and micro wave in every room (can be rented for 5 bucks each a day), beds were very comfortable with clean linens and multiple comforts of pillows offered, Yes there is some noise from the highway if you're a light sleeper maybe consider another convenient location not located right next to a major highway, but don't complain about it, afterall YOU are the one that booked your room, not the hotel staff! You must try the Bloody Mary in the lounge if you like that sort of thing, they were awesome, request extra olives that topped it off. Didn't try the rest. but it smelled great and the prices looked reasonable to us, they offer discount for kids with paying adults nice option! Henry For'd final resting place is accross the street as well as many museums and night life all with-in walking distance. The hotel also has a few bikes to "borrow", not kid size though.

Room Tip: as others have said, request being away from the elevator and also away from free-way. We knew abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5burfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Standard US business hotel but not as good as you would expect due to poor location. Placed very close to a major freeway the sound insulation on the windows is no where near adiquate enough and result in two nights disturbed sleep.........even with ear plugs.

Also one of the two lifts was out of operation for both days of the stay which mean faily long waits.

Room Tip: As far away from the freeway as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear MrB61,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome. We appreciate the feedback that we receive as this is crucial for us to improve the products & services that we offer.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

A group (12) of us stayed for two nights during the Annual Laugh Fest in Grand Rapids, Michigan. We stayed at the hotel last year and decided that was the best location for us. The hotel itself is very nice, they have free parking and a door man who was very friendly. The front desk staff was very accommodating to us, extra towels, refrigerators in our rooms, and I requested our rooms be close to each other and they were. This hotel is close to many attractions downtown and convenient to all the highways.

My only complaint was the service at the hotel restaurant in the evening. We had eaten breakfast there last year and had no problems, quick service, good food. However, when we went for dinner on the night of our arrival, we were there for one and a half hours. Very slow service, and there was only one other table of two and the four of us in the whole place. Food was ok, not the greatest. So my advice would be to go eat at one of the hundreds of restaurants downtown and forget the hotel restaurant until breakfast the next morning.

Room Tip: No tips, you either get a view of the parking lot or the main street out front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedWingsRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.4 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#24 of 49 in Grand Rapids
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#13 of 49 in Grand Rapids
387 reviews
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#3 of 49 in Grand Rapids
1,001 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown

Address: 310 Pearl St NW, US 131 and Pearl Street, Grand Rapids, MI 49504-5314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#14 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: £114 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 175 room full-service Holiday Inn, officially relaunched in December 2009. All guest rooms have 32" HDTVs, easy chair, large work desk. Rates include complimentary on site parking and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Days Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing