We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treat yourself to Room Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel was a good value based on the downtown location, amenities & free parking! It is walking distance to downtown bars & restaurants. The best part was the tasty, fast & friendly room service! It arrived hot and less than a half hour after it was ordered. The coffee was very tasty as was the California omelet & the blueberry granola pancakes. One small hiccup, I tried to get a coke from the vending machine on the second floor & it wasn't working. No big deal, I tried the next floor up & there was no vending...tried the next one & it wasn't working either. In the end I had to journey to the 7th floor to find a working soda machine. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay downtown.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Altherockstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Altherockstar,

Thank you for your posting. We were excited to learn that your experience was wonderful and you would refer your friends and family to our property. We have been focused on our Food and Beverage quality and service and are encouraged by your experience. I apologize that our vending machines did not provide you with the same positive outcome. We appreciate your business and kind words. Hope to see you again soon. In the meantime, safe travels to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

I just want to give a thank you to Caitlin for helping cancel my reservation due to weather and not being able to make it for my reservation. She was delightful. If your hotel is anything like your customer service I will make sure I chose to stay here next time I am in Grand Rapids.

Thanks Again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Great location next to downtown Grand Rapids. Was in town for a wedding but the festival was happing just feet away. Downtown was just a short walk across the bridge. Hotel was clean and in a safe area. Hotel staff was very accomodating. I'd recommend this Holiday Inn

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SundanceKid01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The Downtown Holiday Inn in Grand Rapids is a wonderful place to stay. It's very close to the nightlight with all the bars and restaurants. Located close to the expressway for ease of getting on and getting off. If you have kids its close to a couple of museums and the Grand riverfront. The front staff was very nice and friendly. It was easy to check in and get our key and head up to the room. The front lobby was very nicely decorated with a warm feel to it although a little small it does have a lounge to get drinks and small convent store. They do not serve a continental breakfast but there is a cafe for food to be purchased. The parking lot up front is rather small but there is more parking in the rear with an entrance to the lobby as well and all parking is free. The room was very nice and spacious, almost looked brand new. There is a desk and complimentary wi-fi if you need to work and a lounge chair if you want to relax. The bed was pretty comfortable and has 4 big fluffy pillows which I liked. The room has a nice 32" flat screen with a decent amount of channels to watch tv and the bathrooms are clean with all the amenities. Over all very nice hotel I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Photofox88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here on New Years Eve for just the one night. We arrived at 3:30pm and had no problem checking in. The lobby is on the small side but there were places to sit and watch TV. There is a also a full bar with bar tender and same tables/chairs. We saw several groups of people taking advantage of this. Given it snowed all day, the staff was constantly mopping up the wet floor in the lobby, which was appreciated.

The hotel offers outdoor parking and limited covered parking (both free). This is a major perk if your used to staying in hotels in large cities where parking can run $25-$60 per night.

We were given a room that was located right outside the elevators. To my surprise, we didnt hear any noise! The room was clean and average, two beds with a TV & desk. There was no mini fridge or microwave. The bathroom was TINY and the sink is located outside the bathroom. If you are a larger person, you might actually have a hard time in this bathroom. There was zero room between the bathtub and toilet. The layout actually worked out OK for us since we were traveling with teens and we could alternate between using the shower and getting ready at the sink outside the bathroom. There was a nice pillow selection and the beds were comfortable, but small. Double beds, not queen.

The pool area was small but sufficient. The hot tub was big enough and hot enough for us. Only complaint here is you have to go outside of the pool area to use the restrooms. A bit awkward in your bathing suit as the restrooms are right in front of the main lobby elevators.

Given that it was New Years Eve we expected the halls to be loud late into the night, however we got back to the room around 12:45 after watching the ball drop at Rosa Parks Circle and we didnt hear any noise the rest of the night.

Even though it was a very cold and snowy night, we were able to walk into town for the festivities. There is shopping/restaurants within walking distance as well as the museum right across the street. There is also a restaurant in the hotel, which we did not visit, however the menu is in the room and it appears to have reasonable prices/menu comparable to something like a Big Boy restaurant.

This hotel was a great deal on New Years Eve and appears to be a good location if your interested in walking downtown. We also noted a bus stop right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Griswolds198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Griswolds198,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. We are so glad you liked the fine location of our hotel in the area and our parking facility. We would like to apologize you were not well satisfied with your over-all stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This hotel is a 5-minute walk across the bridge to downtown Grand Rapids, which probably accounts for why it's a little more expensive than the other Holiday Inns in town. It's much more reasonable than the Courtyard, the JW or the Amway Grand.

It was nearly empty when we stayed over Christmas. Got upstairs and hauled all of our bags only to realize we'd been given a room with a single bed instead of two. Back downstairs to the desk, and the second room was a winner. Paige at the front desk was very apologetic and helpful.

A few things about the room design were just a little off -- surprising for such a new hotel. For starters, I couldn't get the door open even though the key was working. A helpful maintenance staffer suggested I try lifting the handle up instead of pushing it down, which worked. The beds jutted out into the common area of the room. The cabinet containing the refrigerator opened one way, while the fridge inside opened the other way. But these are little things.

My wife and daughter enjoyed the pool. We didn't use the restaurant. Friendly staff, a well-stocked and inexpensive full bar, and convenient and free parking help make this a worthwhile place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank childbride84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear childbride84,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note your positive feedback on our hotel staff, pool facility, well-stocked bar and complimentary parking. Our hotel is committed to providing our guests just a good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Kindly accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings you may have experienced in your room. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Because of contractural restrictions, sometimes when I travel I don't have the broadest of choices in hotel accomodations to choose from. I decided on this hotel for proximity and was very pleased with my stay here. It appeared that the property had been renovated recently (?) because it didn't have the 'standard' Holiday Inn look or feel. The rooms were what I expected and the staff was very informative and friendly. The adjoining restaurant was nice and the staff very quick and courteous. If coming back to the Grand Rapids downtown area, I'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrluthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Mrluthor,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that our hotel was able to meet the qualifications for your travel restrictions. Our goal is to continually upgrade the hotel to provide a consistent Holiday Inn style accommodations with a little twist. We look forward to your return visit to Grand Rapids and our hotel. Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.4 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#23 of 49 in Grand Rapids
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#13 of 49 in Grand Rapids
384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#4 of 49 in Grand Rapids
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown

Address: 310 Pearl St NW, US 131 and Pearl Street, Grand Rapids, MI 49504-5314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#16 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: £116 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 175 room full-service Holiday Inn, officially relaunched in December 2009. All guest rooms have 32" HDTVs, easy chair, large work desk. Rates include complimentary on site parking and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Days Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing