We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot and excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip to Grand Rapids in January.

After some initial confusion were the help desk lost my inquiry, the staff, in particular a young lady named "Emily" bent over backwards to make it right. They could have lost me right there but she seized the opportunity to gain a customer for life.

From that point on, the experience was nothing short of excellent.

The rooms were clean and comfortable and most importantly - warm! The WiFi is good and I was able to Skype my kids a number of times without any hassles with connection.

We ate at the cafe a couple of times and it was very good. It is quite simple but offers quality food and the servings are good sized and well priced.

The location is very handy and you can walk to many local attractions within minutes. Its a pretty little city so walking is definitely suggested.

Thumbs up for this one.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed one night for a two-day conference at the Amway Grand. It's a short walk from the HI, but the sidewalk had not been cleared (not the hotel's fault). Ordered a burger from the hotel restaurant in the evening and it was average. The room was nicely decorated and very clean. Good internet. My only real complaint was the traffic outside -- again not something the hotel can control. My south-facing window was right at the level of the elevated freeway outside, and it wasn't scenic or quiet.

Room Tip: Rooms on the northeast side of the building are slightly quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigGeorge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

BigGeorge1,

We appreciate your candid comments regarding your stay at our Holiday Inn. I do apologize that a few items impacted your stay. Please know that we are working on a solution for the traffic noise and will continue to work on the sidewalks. Mother Nature has really challenged us to develop a better plan. Our culinary team has been testing new concepts for more creative specialty burgers. The response has been excellent so far. Next time you are in town, we would love your opinion. Thanks for your comments and travel safely!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel 4 times now. The location, amenities and parking are very good. Parking is free.

Short walk (5-10 minutes) to down town and most tourist locations.

The restaurant and bar are have very good menus and the cooks are willing to modify your order with a smile.

Rooms have allays been comfortable, very well maintained and clean.

Staff is excellent and very personable.

Would recommend over the Marriott or Amway Grand based on price and service.

Room Tip: Select a lower number (x01-x10) which are located on the east side, away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 150NightsPerYear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel was a good value based on the downtown location, amenities & free parking! It is walking distance to downtown bars & restaurants. The best part was the tasty, fast & friendly room service! It arrived hot and less than a half hour after it was ordered. The coffee was very tasty as was the California omelet & the blueberry granola pancakes. One small hiccup, I tried to get a coke from the vending machine on the second floor & it wasn't working. No big deal, I tried the next floor up & there was no vending...tried the next one & it wasn't working either. In the end I had to journey to the 7th floor to find a working soda machine. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay downtown.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Altherockstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Altherockstar,

Thank you for your posting. We were excited to learn that your experience was wonderful and you would refer your friends and family to our property. We have been focused on our Food and Beverage quality and service and are encouraged by your experience. I apologize that our vending machines did not provide you with the same positive outcome. We appreciate your business and kind words. Hope to see you again soon. In the meantime, safe travels to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I just want to give a thank you to Caitlin for helping cancel my reservation due to weather and not being able to make it for my reservation. She was delightful. If your hotel is anything like your customer service I will make sure I chose to stay here next time I am in Grand Rapids.

Thanks Again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Great location next to downtown Grand Rapids. Was in town for a wedding but the festival was happing just feet away. Downtown was just a short walk across the bridge. Hotel was clean and in a safe area. Hotel staff was very accomodating. I'd recommend this Holiday Inn

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SundanceKid01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The Downtown Holiday Inn in Grand Rapids is a wonderful place to stay. It's very close to the nightlight with all the bars and restaurants. Located close to the expressway for ease of getting on and getting off. If you have kids its close to a couple of museums and the Grand riverfront. The front staff was very nice and friendly. It was easy to check in and get our key and head up to the room. The front lobby was very nicely decorated with a warm feel to it although a little small it does have a lounge to get drinks and small convent store. They do not serve a continental breakfast but there is a cafe for food to be purchased. The parking lot up front is rather small but there is more parking in the rear with an entrance to the lobby as well and all parking is free. The room was very nice and spacious, almost looked brand new. There is a desk and complimentary wi-fi if you need to work and a lounge chair if you want to relax. The bed was pretty comfortable and has 4 big fluffy pillows which I liked. The room has a nice 32" flat screen with a decent amount of channels to watch tv and the bathrooms are clean with all the amenities. Over all very nice hotel I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Photofox88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.4 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#25 of 49 in Grand Rapids
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#13 of 49 in Grand Rapids
387 reviews
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#3 of 49 in Grand Rapids
1,001 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown

Address: 310 Pearl St NW, US 131 and Pearl Street, Grand Rapids, MI 49504-5314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#14 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: £115 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 175 room full-service Holiday Inn, officially relaunched in December 2009. All guest rooms have 32" HDTVs, easy chair, large work desk. Rates include complimentary on site parking and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Days Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing