We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Some couple friends, my husband and I stayed in Grand Rapids for a weekend while our sons were at a hockey camp in nearby Ferris State University and Western Michigan University and had a wonderful time. We were able to walk to downtown restaurants and bars within a 15 minute walk. The staff at the front desk were helpful to guide us in the right direction and our rooms were clean and nicely decorated. Rooms overlooked the Ford Museum across the street and the city. The highway next door could not be heard at all. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side face the Ford Museum. Rooms on the East side face the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funfamily20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights over the 4th of July weekend. Nice, clean hotel. Friendly staff. Place was jam packed and quite noisy the first night but very quiet the next two. Close proximity to breweries, bars, restaurants. We took our bikes and rode to the Kent trails from the hotel. The pool was nice, clean, good temp and the hot tub was relaxing. The only annoying thing about the room was that the sink was outside the bathroom, right in front of the bed so if you were up in the night to use the bathroom it was disruptive to the person sleeping when you washed your hands.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kidzrn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear kidzrn76,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am delighted to read that you liked our hotel features, staff and the level of cleanliness. We are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. I am sorry about the issues you may have experienced with the sink. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Reasonable hotel. 2 adults, one child. Rooms and public areas clean, but hallways and onsite dining could use some freshening. Breakfast is available (and good) but it is not complimentary. Pool is clean and appeared safe. Generally, it was acceptable, however the price could have been more competetive with other properties. Staff was helpful and focused.

Room Tip: Elevators are noisy and slow. Balance that with street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Jonathan R,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to note your positive comments about our helpful staff and clean rooms. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. I am sorry that you experienced some let downs in particular with hallways. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel is right of I-196 in Downtown Grand Rapids, and you couldn't ask for a better location for a visit to the Downtown area. My son and I were in town for the Fourth of July fireworks, and we were able to walk everywhere we needed to go, so we didn't have any hassles with parking. The parking is free, too, which was nice. The staff members were all polite and friendly, and the room was clean and comfortable. I was happy that there was free wi-fi, and it worked quite well. There wasn't a microwave or fridge in the room, but there was a great little one-cup coffee maker. The bathroom was small, but it had a great shower head and a curved curtain rod. The sink was located outside of the bathroom, and so was the light switch. I was disappointed that there wasn't a fan, though, for the bathroom. Also, having the sink right in the room made it difficult to run water at night without waking up my son. As for sleep, I got a fairly good night's sleep, but for those who are light sleepers, be aware that the hotel is close to the freeway, so there is some road noise. I did wake up a few times due to hearing sirens passing by outside.

There is a restaurant off the lobby area. We dined there for dinner, and we ordered room service for our breakfast. Both meals were good. My son enjoyed the pool, and although it is small, it was clean and there were seats around it. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Skye9988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Clean and within walking distance of downtown attractions. Courteous staff. Bar in hotel. No free breakfast. Room A/C could be less noisy. Some street noise even on fifth floor. Pool and hot tub OK. Short walk to Hopcat and BOB.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Hotel was very clean, staff friendly and helpful. Rooms were updated and nicer than most budget hotels. It's not the JW Marriott but the price was right. The only thing I would change is that there should be a continental breakfast for the price, most hotels offer one. Beds are very comfortable!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fdangelo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We were in town for business and booked the hotel online due to proximity and price. I was delighted when we arrived to find it is a very nice place with updated decor, free parking, and free bikes for use by guests! So few hotels have bikes available I don't even ask anymore. Downtown Grand Rapids is pretty bicycle friendly and easy to get around via bike. The staff at the hotel were very helpful. We had a business breakfast at the restaurant and the food was good and I am pretty picky about my food. The lobby area is very nice and internet access is free and worked well. The room was nice and it was quiet. It was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodasart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#13 of 48 in Grand Rapids
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#24 of 48 in Grand Rapids
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.3 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#4 of 48 in Grand Rapids
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown

Address: 310 Pearl St NW, US 131 and Pearl Street, Grand Rapids, MI 49504-5314
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#16 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: £117 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 175 room full-service Holiday Inn, officially relaunched in December 2009. All guest rooms have 32" HDTVs, easy chair, large work desk. Rates include complimentary on site parking and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Days Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing