We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“need updated hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport)
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“need updated hotel”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

In the 1980's hotel was most likely top notch. Now a little run down. Rooms very small. We were one off about 8 people staying there. Price was right and room was clean. Pool and Hot Tub were dirty.

Room Tip: inner room would have been much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    88
    84
    34
    36
See reviews for
73
37
16
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I bid on a 3-Star hotel on Priceline for a business trip to Grand Rapids, and won a room at this hotel. After seeing several negative reviews, I must counter with positive feedback: This is a fabulous business hotel, and well worth the price I bid. While several reviewers commented negatively on the decor, I enjoyed the atmosphere and furnishings in this hotel. The bed was incredibly comfortable, and the shower was one of the best I have experienced, at any hotel. Most importantly, both the room and public areas were exceptionally clean. The staff were friendly, efficient and professional. The flatscreen TV provided a variety of channels. The wireless internet password was provided to me upon check-in, it worked immediately, and was incredibly fast. The only negatives I can provide are that the fan in the bathroom was a bit noisy, and that the main entrance to the property was hard to find from the street.

While neither the architecture or the decor may be the most 'contemporary', don't let this dissuade you from staying at this property. I have stayed at newer properties classified by Priceline as 3-Star which were dirty, poorly staffed, and poorly maintained. I would without question prefer to stay at an older property which displays exceptional maintenance and service, which the Crowne Plaza certainly did.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stayed at the hotel several times in the past 2 weeks as I used it as a stop off as I vacationed in Traverse City. I have read several negative reviews but since I've always had a good experience at this hotel I decided to stay. My experience was very pleasant. The room wap updated, clean and the bedding superb. The staff was very helpful including the courtesy shuttle to and from the airport. In all fairness to the hotel, it is obvious they have taken on a major renovation which appears nearly completed and perhaps they have stumbled a time or two. The restaurant/bar was excellent and I was pleased with the entire experience. I would stay there again!!

Room Tip: Ask up front if your room is in an area where the renovation has been completed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardonaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea J, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport), responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property online. It sounds like you have a good idea of our property as you have stayed before and continue to return. We appreciate all honest feedback and strive to improve our operations every day. Thank you for continuing to stay with the Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids!

Sincerely,

Andrea Johnston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

We are at the hotel now. We booked two rooms. One king bed room and the second room with two double beds. The first room as for two nights and the second room was for my sister arriving the second night.... When my sister arrived the second night the check in person was so baffled. I told him that she needed and I paid for 2 double beds for her and her family. He nodded and gave her the key. Well he gave her a one double bed room. When I went go back to change the room and he admitted he gave her a one bed because that's all he had. From reading other reviews, this is normal for them to not care and just give any room ready.

The hotel is very old and way overpriced. it should be $70 a night at the most. We have mold on the ceiling of the bathroom. A chipped off piece of marble in the shower. The shower is gross. there is not a fridge. you have to rent one for $10 a day, dumb. For Internet access you have to call the front desk for a password, stupid. The carpeting throughout the whole facility is awful, gross, and outdated. Stay somewhere else. I wish we would have stayed at the Hampton Inn by Target.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbird813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea J, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport), responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Travelbird813,

First, I would like to apologize for you not receiving the room type that you requested. We do a lot of family business on the weekends and have connecting room and two queen bed requests often. I thought we did a great job of ensuring those requests were met 100% of the time and it sounds like that is not the case. We will definitely work to improve this area so that it does not happen again. We value our family and sport business and our ultimate goal is to exceed all expectations. We also should be handing out our internet password at check in, so that our guests do not have to call the front desk. I will ensure this is being done more consistently as well. As far as the specific room issues, I would like the opportunity to address those in that specific room. Please contact me so that I can find out more details and I can compensate you for your disappointment. I appreciate your feedback and the time you spent reviewing our property. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Andrea Johnston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

As a platinum club member, they offer a executive lounge, for evening snacks and drinks. And in the morning continental breakfast. Otherwise you have to pay for breakfast at the restaurant. Is the hotel decor out of date? Yes. Is the staff pretty good? Yes. Room is clean, nice bedding,

Room Tip: If your a smoker, request a balcony room so you don't have to go down 4 stories to go outside. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyharvick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algonquin, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I visited this hotel for business. My company held an onsite event in one of the meeting rooms. My colleagues and I stayed for just one night. I am mostly disappointed in how outdated and in need of repair my room looked. For example, my bathroom had wallpaper that literally looked like it was from the 70s and the back of the bathroom door had strips of the wood peeling (or peeled off). Just awful! Also, I feel like the photo of the hotel restaurant looks nothing like it actually appears. We observed wires hanging from the ceiling, duct tape over what must have been a hole in the carpet. Just not what I would've expected from a Crowne Plaza and from the presentation of the hotel on its website. Our event was okay; the meeting room again was worn, but functional. The staff has been very friendly and helpful. But, I would hesitate to hold a business event here again because of the appearance and condition of much of the facility.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheerleader62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport), responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear Cheerleader62,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. We are glad you liked the location of our hotel and our friendly staff. We are deeply sorry you found your room accommodations less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Big facility that can handle a convention, a conference, hundreds of soccer players & their families in a week-end...They have sufficient help, adequate common areas, and enough things for adults and children to do. And, you can get a good nights rest (if you chose) besides. Very nice room and
nice updates. Good value.

Room Tip: Single cup coffee maker.... hmmm. Also, no in room safe. But, I still enjoyed my week-end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Airport
Courtyard Grand Rapids Airport
#26 of 48 in Grand Rapids
84 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Grand Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St
0.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#3 of 48 in Grand Rapids
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport)

Property: Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport)
Address: 5700 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546-6904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cascade Township, our property features 320 newly renovated guest rooms, 21,000 sq. feet of meeting facilities, indoor/outdoor swimming pool, gym, sauna, restaurant and lounge, and free WI-FI. Conveniently close to the the Gerald R. Ford airport with access to a free airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport) Hotel Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing