We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport)
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This hotel is ok, nothing great but no real complaints. The carpet in our room was dated and ugly and the pool area was overrun with loud children. The beds were comfortable with nice pillows, staff was friendly, plenty of free parking. I had a room with 2 queen beds on the third floor. Very clean room and bathroom. There was a nice balcony overlooking a quiet area. Several restaurants and bars within walking distance, although it is safer to travel by car if you're not drinking due to the dark and busy street. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony, ask for a third floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaGR, Sales at Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport), responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Erinb,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your most recent stay with us. I'm pleased to hear that your trip was not bad. However, I would like your next trip to be a Great one. :-) I have forwarded your comments along, as we do take guest reviews seriously. On your next visit, feel free to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle (within 3 miles), 24/7. Also, if you enjoyed your room's location, feel free to request the same room/one in the same area, and if available, we are always more than willing to accommodate. Thank you again, and we appreciate your business.

Sincerely,
Jaimee Kasperlik
Sales & Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

I reserved a suite for a wedding weekend. Arrived at the hotel at 5 pm. Check in is at 4 pm. No suites available. Front desk lady offers to put me in a king room and "bring me up a microwave to the room". She appears to be serious. What a joke. So much for their advertised check in time. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tennisgolfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaGR, Sales at Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport), responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear weldon79,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies for no suites being available. Your review will be used to consider improvements and give praises where needed. I hope that you can give us a chance to show you what we have done during a future stay.

Sincerely,
Jaimee Kasperlik
Sales & Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on a business trip. Grounds clean, check in efficient, room clean, no complaints. Dinner and breakfast buffet was very good. Wi-Fi worked fine. You can tell the hotel is a little dated, but they are putting forth effort to keep it nice. All staff members were pleasant. Yes, I will stay here again next time business brings me to Grand Rapids. Not 5 stars excellence, but definitely above average.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6-of-us-were-there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaGR, Sales at Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport), responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Dear 6-of-us-were-there,
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write us a review,

I'm extremely pleased to hear that your recent stay with us was better than average. I definitely appreciate that you noticed that we are working to keep everything looking updated and as nice as possible. We appreciate your business, and I hope that we have the chance to serve you again.
Sincerely,
Jaimee Kasperlik
Sales & Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Was very pleased with this Crowne Plaza. Room was clean and in very good condition. Parking was plenty and pool/hot tub clean and in good repair. Service was excellent and even food service was right on time and hot. Did have a frayed towel but I have a few of those at home, too. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butterfly060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaGR, Sales at Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport), responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear butterfly060,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us. Next time, please feel free to request different towels, and we can have them brought to you immediately. We hope to have the chance to serve you again. Thank you, and have a wonderful weekend :-)
Sincerely,
Jaimee Kasperlik
Sales & Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here because we got an awesome price on the room, which was well worth it. The room had some minor wear and tear but overall was VERY spacious and comfortable. Decor was nice - nothing super modern but that's not a problem for us. Staff was helpful and parking was plentiful. Great location for all sorts of conveniences.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaGR, Sales at Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport), responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Jessika W,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Crowne Plaza. Upon your next visit, if you feel there is too much wear and tear, please let us know so that it can be fixed, and so we can move you to a different room. We want all of guests feeling comfortable and happy during their stay. Once again, thank you for the review, and have a great weekend!
Sincerely,
Jaimee Kasperlik
Sales & Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Crown Plazas used to be pretty nice, not anymore and this one is just another run down old hotel. They've tried to remodel the rooms, but they are nothing very special. . . not sure why Crown Plaza is holding onto the old "relaxation" sprays and soaps that weren't all that great 10 years ago. This hotel is fairly dirty. The breakfast buffet is okay, but don't pick up any of the pastries, they are very stale. The service is next to terrible, , , ask for the check the first time you see anyone to help or you'll be there for a while. The woman at the concierge room is great, but the room is fairly hard to find. Give her a tip for her efforts. Next time at GRR, I'll go another hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timbotim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport), responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear Timbotim,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. It is unfortunate that this visit was less than satisfactory for you due to the level of service received and if the remodeling of the rooms weren't to your liking. Rest assured, your feedback will be discussed with our team to consider for improvements.

Again, we appreciate your review and our apologies for the inconvenience.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I can't in good mind recommend the hotel. I also can't tell you to "Stay Away".

Pros -
Ample room space
Clean
Goodies in the room (unexpected)
I got a great price through the company website
Friendly staff

Cons -
WIFI - didn't work, couldn't get it to work. For my own business purpose, a real drawback.
Pillows - Come on really! Harsh in comfort/outdated. Expected a lot more. Effected my sleep.

When I come back to this town I will search other properties but might still depending on price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport), responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear Paul R,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our property. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guest. We apologize we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. Please be assured that these will be looked into and that your comments will be used to monitor future improvements needed.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Airport
Courtyard Grand Rapids Airport
#25 of 49 in Grand Rapids
93 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#3 of 49 in Grand Rapids
165 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Grand Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport)

Address: 5700 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546-6904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range: £82 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cascade Township, our property features 320 newly renovated guest rooms, 21,000 sq. feet of meeting facilities, indoor/outdoor swimming pool, gym, sauna, restaurant and lounge, and free WI-FI. Conveniently close to the the Gerald R. Ford airport with access to a free airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport) Hotel Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing