We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed here for three nights over the 4th of July weekend. This hotel was recently renovated which is always nice. Everything seemed to work well. We slept in late one day and didn't leave our room until after noon and our room was not cleaned. The workout area had everything that I needed. The valet staff were very helpful (almost overbaring at times). The location is ideal if you are staying in Grand Rapids. There are a ton of great restaurants and bars within walking distance. I hate having to pay for parking, but it is to be expected when staying in a larger city. They have put a ton of money into the downtown area and it shows. I was able to take advantage of their government rate or we would not have been able to afford to stay there. It was a nice place, but there is no way I would have paid full price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonelocB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

Spent a Saturday night at this property as a get away weekend.............it seemed like bachelorette party night as during our comings and goings we saw at least 3 separate groups of 10 young ladies..........the valet, desk staff were helpful and efficient.......the property was clean and in good repair.............grounds were clean and well maintained.........reinforces why I'm a Marriott Reward member and am brand loyal whenever possible

Room Tip: the western face of the hotel offers a restricted river view; the eastern side is office building, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HoosiersNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us on your weekend getaway! We know you have several hotel options for such an occasion, and sincerely appreciate you choosing us. Thank you as well for your kind words about our property and staff - we hope to host you again when you are next in Grand Rapids!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This was our second visit to the Courtyard Grand Rapids downtown. Once again, the staff was very friendly, polite and helpful. Just about everything is within walking distance which is why we chose this hotel for our visit. Both the Gerald R. Ford Presidential library and the GR Public museum are within a few blocks of the hotel. Panera bread is just around the corner and the B.O.B is across from the hotel. We walked the Skywalk one day from our hotel to the Amway Grand Plaza. Our room had a view of Monroe Ave and the B.O.B. We booked a King room. The bed was very comfortable and the room very clean. We ate breakfast at the Bistro which was very good and reasonably priced (you can order room service). We are planning on booking this hotel for Art Prize in the fall.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side might be directly across from the Skywalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanjz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for coming to see us a second time! We are glad that you enjoyed both visits, and appreciate you taking the time to share about your experiences in this review. There is certainly plenty to do within walking distance of the hotel, and I'm glad you had the chance to take advantage of some of the wonderful nearby destinations. I think you will really be able to take advantage of our location once again when you are visiting for ArtPrize! We look forward to hosting you again then!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This hotel is very close to everything downtown and is in walking distance to lots of attractions and restaurants! There were a few minor things you could tell that needed attention. The ceiling had some spots on it which was either water damage or who knows and you could see they did some updating but didn't take a lot of time or money to do it. Still the staff was very pleasant and helpful and overall it was a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rutharoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us, and for taking the time to review your experience. Thank you especially for taking notice of our friendly staff! I am glad you enjoyed our proximity to so many restaurants. Thank you as well for your feedback about maintenance - we will use that to continually improve our facility. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again on your next visit to Grand Rapids.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Everyone from the person who checked us in, to the valet, to the bartenders, to the various employees walking around were extremely friendly and nice. We ate and drank in The Bistro, which had pretty good food and service. The room was comfortable and quiet. My only complaint is that the vanity in the bathroom had absolutely no room for my toiletries. This may be due to the fact that we were given an ADA compliant room (even though we did not need one). That was a little frustrating, but a great experience otherwise.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed here here for the Rush concert at Van Andel arena. We took the skywalk and were in the concert in 5 minutes without leaving the buildings. Hotel was clean and nice, parking was a bit of a pain and costs an extra $15. Lots of restaurants in walking distance and a liquor store. No free breakfast, but there is a restaurant and room service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MIChicago_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us when you were in Grand Rapids for the Rush concert at Van Andel Arena, and for rating your experience with us. We appreciate you selecting us out of the many hotel options downtown, and hope to host you again when you are visiting the city again!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Located close to the Van Andel center and lots of restaurants, this is a very nice hotel. There are also quite a few bars and those type places close by. The staff are very polite and the rooms are clean. They include a refrigerator in the room. Very nice!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kuwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#3 of 49 in Grand Rapids
1,007 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#23 of 49 in Grand Rapids
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown

Address: 11 Monroe Ave NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2662
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#10 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#10 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: £158 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the middle of the energetic Grand Rapids scene, the Downtown Courtyard by Marriott delivers choices and convenience for business and leisure travelers alike. From the welcoming lobby and the functional, relaxing rooms to the friendly service and city views, it’s a stay you’ll feel good about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Marriott
Grand Rapids Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing