We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location, clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Our family recently stayed here during ArtPrize. The location was great, rooms were clean and quiet. Prices were high during ArtPrize, supply and demand can dictate this. Parking ($19 per day) and breakfast are extra, too. The location of this hotel during the ArtPrize can be its biggest asset and negative. The Marriott Courtyard itself is a venue. Guests willing to walk a couple of miles can see a lot of other ArtPrize venues,too. However, the hotel lobby is overcrowded to the point of making it difficult to get to the front desk or elevators. Adding to the crowded lobby situation, the Marriott lobby bathrooms are used as public restrooms for people off the street.In spite of these issues, if we return to ArtPrize next year, we will probably return to the Marriott Courtyard.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WaterfordMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share a review of your experience! We are glad that you enjoyed ArtPrize and our ideal location for experiencing the competition. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the crowds and thank you for your feedback on this. We will take this into consideration as we are deciding where to place artwork next year. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    155
    50
    19
    9
See reviews for
60
98
13
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Oct 2013 - Just spend 4 nights at the Courtyard by Marriott in Downtown Grand Rapids, MI. Spacious room, nice bathroom, clean, includes 'frig. The only downside is breakfast is NOT included at this hotel. Overall it was the perfect hotel for a downtown stay in GR!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of downtown. Some rooms look inward toward each other, odd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us for four nights and for sharing this review! We appreciate you taking the time to rate your experience, and are so glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are visiting Grand Rapids!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Ile
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Being a Marriott elite member I've stayed in their hotels all over the world, this is by far the bottom of the pile. Being right downtown GR the location is awesome and a great view of the river. We were excited driving up to the front looking forward to our weekend and happy with our choice, even though at the cost for our two night stay we could stay a week at another hotel. That was from the outside, once inside the room is where the disappointment started to set in. The a/c unit was loud enough to wake us throughout the night. The bed was so hard that if the a/c unit kept us from sleeping the bed would have done it alone. We made it through the evening and went to the front desk to ask to be moved. We were told that yes the a/c units are noisy and the beds hard but that's the way they are throughout the hotel. So back to the room to get ready for a workout in the hotel fitness room. When we got to the center it was closed, back down to the front desk. Once there we were told, yeah there was a problem so the whole area was closed to guests. We got our workout in only after one of the valet parking attendants got us into the gym section and said it was the pool area that was closed. Great guy! Later in the day after enjoying downtown GR we came back to the room to relax for a bit. Turn the tv on and...yep it didn't work. Not a good time at all. Come on Marriott you can do better than this!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kearney64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing this very important feedback about your stay. We would like the chance to follow up with you directly to get more information about your experience to help us improve, and to make the situation right. If you would be so kind as to contact me directly at csmith@amwayhotelcollection.com I would really value the opportunity.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

The location was great ...right across from the BOB and Artprize entrants. My only complaint was that we had a room next to very loud kids that woke us up several times throughout the night with their periodic outbursts. We didn't call the desk though because it was sporadic and while annoying, did eventually end. Otherwise we would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dezinedoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us for ArtPrize and for taking the time to review your experience! I know there are several downtown hotel options you could have selected, so I appreciate you choosing us. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, but so very sorry to hear about the disturbance during the night. Please accept our sincerest apologies for that. We hope to host you again soon and provide you with a thorough and restful night's sleep! We look forward to seeing you again.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
1,626 reviews
268 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 668 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Downtown is where its at in Grand Rapids. Skip the burbs. Especially with ArtPrize going on!

This Courtyard is a bit dated but clean and rooms were quiet. The bar area was particularly friendly with good, local, beers on tap. Breakfast was quick and good.

Front desk staff were super helpful and seemed to know everyone in town.

Pool was excellent. Maybe the best Courtyard (indoor) pool ever. Work out area was about average. I'd stay again unless I got a great rate at the JW down the street. NO comparison.

Room Tip: 7th floor is the top but there are condo's above. x01 and x02 rooms are at the far end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us during ArtPrize! I am glad you had the chance to see this amazing festival and all the added energy it brings to downtown Grand Rapids. I am also glad that you had the opportunity to try some of our local beers at The Bistro - we are very proud to serve them! We hope you will select us again next time you visit. We look forward to seeing you!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I have been to Grand Rapids many times but this is the first time I have stayed at this hotel -- it will not be the last. The rooms were exactly what I've come to expect from Courtyard, in other words, updated and clean. Breakfast at the bistro in the morning is an ideal way for me me to start my day. But what really made this a great hotel in which to stay in Grand Rapids is it's location. There are a number of restaurants in the area (specifically the BOB, just across the street) that offer great food and one of my favorite places, the Founder's brewpub, is but a short walk away. I really can't imagine a better place to stay in downtown Grand Rapids.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us while you were in Grand Rapids! We also appreciate you taking the time to review your experience and share some helpful recommendations for future visitors. I am glad that you were able to take advantage of some of our most unique places to eat and drink nearby, and the convenience of The Bistro. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

This Courtyard has been renovated into the new Marriott format, so you get the kiosk check-in and the better-than-nothing bar area. The location allows for a quick walk to many of the downtown attractions, bars and eateries. An elegant dinner at Six One Six is only a few steps up the street, as is a quintessential sports bar, Zeller's.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank howards994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#3 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#15 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown

Property: Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Address: 11 Monroe Ave NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2662
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#10 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#12 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Marriott
Grand Rapids Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing