We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel except for:” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel except for:”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

This hotel is very convenient to the skywalk downtown, convention center and Van Andel Arena plus an easy walk to bars and great restaurants. Loved the heated sidewalks! The hotel staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean. Stay away from room 431 as the toilet runs, the water would not get hot in the bath, and the noise from the heating/ac unit was very noisy at times - on/off all day and night. The bed was very soft but comfy.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 431 - too close to elevator and a/c-heat unit made too much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the Downtown Courtyard by Marriott, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Grand Rapids! It always delights me to see that our guests enjoy our convenient location, but more importantly our fantastic staff and clean guest rooms!

I sincerely apologize for the engineering issues you encountered and want to ensure you that we have taken immediate corrective steps regarding these issues!

If you find yourself in the Grand Rapids area again soon, please feel free to contact our Guest Care Manager, Alexis Baker at abaker@courtyardgr,com to receive a complimentary room upgrade, based upon availability. We look forward to serving you again soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    155
    50
    19
    9
See reviews for
60
98
13
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

This location was good for our activities planned for the weekend. We self parked for $14 and walked about everywhere. Conveniently located on the "walkway", it was nice to get to and from the Van Andel Arena for a Griffins game. Check in was dicey. The lobby is wide open and close to the wide open doors to outside which made it extremely cold and uncomfortable to check in. I had questions that I forgot to ask because I wanted to get out of that area as soon as possible. Valet parking is $19 and self park attached to the hotel is $14. Both have in and out privileges. During our stay the elevators were extremely slow. It was easier to take the stairs. Surprising that housekeeping used the same elevators and trying to get back down at about 4:00 we were stuck behind 2 large housekeeping carts; we walked down the stairs. Housekeeping was attentive eye asked for more shampoo, conditioner and lotion. Beds were very clean and all pillows and linens smelled fresh. We had to sign a noise policy upon check in which is standard for weekend stays. I was concerned about noise but it was very quiet.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LAJ415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the Downtown Courtyard by Marriott, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Grand Rapids! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our close proximity to Van Andel Arena! It is always a fun and exciting evening when visiting the Griffins!

We take great pride in each and every one of our guest rooms and thank you, for your lovely comments regarding the cleanliness of your room. I do apologize that your check-in experience wasn't ideal. This winter has been extremely tough battling the cold weather and I couldn't agree more with regards to the lobby temperatures. We are hoping that in the near future, we install revolving doors or a blower to help remedy the issue. In regards to the speed of our elevators, I am happy to report that we are installing new elevator drives later next month to increase the speed and efficiency for all guests.

We hope to serve you again soon, when your travels bring you to our beautiful city!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpena, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I often dread going to stay at hotels because of their hard, and firm beds. I stayed at this hotel about a year ago and LOVED how comfy the beds were! I would have loved to stay there this year, but was bummed to find out that all of the rooms were full. If you are a soft-bed lover, this hotel is PERFECT for you. :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timmrean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review your experience! I am so glad that you love our comfortable beds, and hope that you will stay with us again when you are next in Grand Rapids. We look forward to having you!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

I can't say enough positive things about this hotel. The service was the best I've received at a hotel in quite awhile, and we travel a lot. It is an older hotel, but the renovations are beautiful and the room was very clean. We were in town for a concert at Van Andel Arena and the location of the hotel was perfect, especially with the walkway that connects many of the area hotels and businesses.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReginaP405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us when you attended a concert at Van Andel Arena, and for sharing this wonderful review about your stay! I am glad you enjoyed the service of our hotel, along with its close proximity to the arena and other attractions. We hope to host you when you have another event downtown, or when you just need a night away. We look forward to having you!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel is in a great location if your in Grand Rapids for a convention, hockey game or just to visit a few of the micro breweries. The hotel is connect via a Sky Walk to the JW Marriott and Amway Grand Plaza hotels. Spent New Years Eve here and had a great time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Martin085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We happened to stay at the Marriot during the ice storm. The valets were very friendly and did an excellent job of getting our car to us when needed and making sure it was warm, and both snow and ice-free. The remainder of the staff was also very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and the bed was quite comfortable. My husband and I were initially disappointed that they only had a restaurant where you ordered your food at the counter, but were pleasantly surprised by the quality of our breakfast. The hotel is in a great location!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank luggageprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review your experience! The food in The Bistro is often a delightful surprise for our guests, and we're glad you were no exception. I am glad that our wonderful valet staff was able to assist you in having a safe and warm ride home. We hope to host you again soon, hopefully with better weather!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Well kept, clean, but time for a remodel. As Marriott owners we know what we are getting. But for prices charged, the place needs to be modernized. Look for special pricing as we did, and the place becomes a bargain for a perfect, downtown location. Hotel was fresh, spotless, and adequate for a pleasure able stay. Staff was well trained and top notch. A special kudo to Alexis for making Elite Club Members feel they are appreciated and valued. Another good stay and we plan to return here next time too.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RobertLivonia_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#3 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#15 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown

Property: Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Address: 11 Monroe Ave NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2662
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#10 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#12 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Marriott
Grand Rapids Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing