We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice downtown local”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Beautiful, clean hotel. Staff was very friendly. Awesome location. We could walk everywhere! I had only 2 complaints. 1 was the a/c in the room was very loud. I have been advised they are working on replacing these! :) 2 was there are no MI beers being served in the hotel bar. It is in "Beer City" , I would expect a few local options in my hotel. All in all a great choice! Would stay there again!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank debalahtec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

For us the hotel's location was perfect, walking distance to several great restaurants, breweries, and attractions. Overall the accommodations were clean and comfortable,as would be expected, and the staff was pleasant. Two things would have bumped this review up a notch. First, the air conditioning unit in the room. It turned on and off loudly nearly every fifteen minutes all night log making it annoyingly difficult to sleep. Had it just stayed on, it may not have been so annoying, but the short and loud on/off cycle was difficult to ignore. Second, is the cost for guest parking -- $19/$16 per day valet/self. As someone already paying to stay as a guest in the hotel, I would expect the cost of parking to be included, or at least significantly discounted. These two things aside though, this location did work out perfectly for our weekend get away.

One additional thing. The pool was closed for repairs while we were there (hot tub was open). They did make us aware of this in advance. Just know if that's important to you and you're going soon, you may want to ask.

Room Tip: I recommend asking if there are rooms available with less AC noise, also away from other guests if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neovox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the Downtown Courtyard by Marriott, we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Grand Rapids! We are delighted to hear that your weekend getaway with us was enjoyable and that you were able to explore our beautiful city!

We sincerely apologize for the level of noise you encountered from your air-conditioning unit and have immediately reached out to our Engineering Team to ensure this issue is corrected. In regards to our parking price; we as a downtown property are challenged with limited parking, and want to ensure we always have parking available for all guests, therefore a minimal fee has been implemented.

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our excellent staff and facility. We are excited to announce that our pool is re-opened as of July 22nd and all guests are now able to relax and cool down during these warm summer days!

We look forward to serving you again soon!

At your service,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

In an effort to just "get away" for the night, we decided to get a hotel room and pretend we were on Vacation. Excellent choice with the Downtown Courtyard Marriott.

From the time Valet took the car to when we got back in it, the staff was very friendly and professional. Not only treating us as "customers" but more as a "guest".

Front desk staff was very informative and helpful - even at 2 am when we returned for the evening. They advised us where the Bistro was, when it was open, and even offered us restaurant choices when we were looking for a new place to try for dinner. We had a room on the 6th floor that was just what was needed to make the get-away perfect. Two double beds were very comfortable and room was spotless.

Since we were in full Vacation mode, we did Valet parking for the first time ever at a hotel. Staff was there when we pulled in and directed us on how to proceed and retrieve our car when we needed it. Once again, very friendly and everything went as smoothly as expected.

We didn't use the spa/pool or have breakfast but everything else I can say was excellent. Next time we need an in-town get-away, it will definitely be here. Worth the money for the recharge we needed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

While there are more expensive options in downtown Grand Rapids, the Courtyard offers very comfortable rooms in a convenient location. While walking on street level or using the elevated walkway, you are close to where you may need to be. Parking is easy in, easy out if you need to drive. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomHustad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The room was clean with an extremely comfortable King sized bed. The only issue with the room was that the water did not get very hot- my significant other and I both had to take luke-warm showers at best. Despite this, we had an amazing time in Grand Rapids. The staff was extremely friendly and even wished us a happy anniversary- which added a special touch to our trip.

The hotel has a great location and the staff offered suggestions (and maps) for dinner locations. We had a wonderful time and I know we will be back again in the future!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elida O, Manager at Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Kara,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us on your anniversary! I am so glad that you got to enjoy all the great things our hotel has to offer, from our great location to our fabulous rooms. We sincerely apologize for the water issues you encountered during your stay. Thank you for noting our staff – we are so fortunate to have dedicated staff members. We look forward to your next stay with us!

At your service,

Elida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is our portal to downtown Grand Rapids. Across from the Bob. On the raised skywalk right into the Van Andel arena. No traffic, no weather worries. The hotel has all the rest. Amenities, service and great staff. Comfortable beds!

Room Tip: High floor great view of the city or the serenity or the river. Both great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tenaj6835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elida O, Manager at Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for sharing valuable tips on TripAdvisor for future guests. We are so glad that you got to enjoy our wonderful location, as well as the skywalk we love so much, especially during the cold or rainy times of the year. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

At Your Service,

Elida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I stayed here for one night on in June 2014 for business travel. Both the lobby and the room were clean and well maintained and the staff was friendly and eager to assist with directions to nearby restaurants. I stopped in the lobby bistro for coffee and found the staff to be super friendly.

My room had a microwave stacked on top of a dorm-style refrigerator stuck in a corner, which looked odd and I felt it cheapened the room a bit. When I arrived in the room the thermostat was set to 54, and since the windows didn't open, it remained chilly in the room for my entire (one night) stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevenGause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elida O, Manager at Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Steven,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us on your recent business trip to Grand Rapids. We appreciate your kind words about the cleanliness of our rooms, and the friendliness of our staff. I am glad that you got to enjoy our close proximity to restaurants and entertainment downtown. We highly value your feedback, and will use this information when evaluating future enhancements. We hope to get the opportunity to host you again in the future.

At your service,

Elida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.2 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#4 of 48 in Grand Rapids
979 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#23 of 48 in Grand Rapids
241 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown

Address: 11 Monroe Ave NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2662
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#10 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#12 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: £177 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the middle of the energetic Grand Rapids scene, the Downtown Courtyard by Marriott delivers choices and convenience for business and leisure travelers alike. From the welcoming lobby and the functional, relaxing rooms to the friendly service and city views, it’s a stay you’ll feel good about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Marriott
Grand Rapids Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing