We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge & Suites
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dirty.”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Room smells strongly of smoke. Sheets and curtains are stained. TV does not work. Afraid of what the continental breakfast may be :-(

They do seem to be in the midst of remodeling. Wifi works. There are 2 Tvs in room, one for each bed area, but only one works. There is a large rusty stain on the curtains and dirty looking streaks on the sheets. Beds, fixtures and TVs are old and outdated.

Lobby area seems updated and new.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CateDf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    65
    20
    5
    9
See reviews for
57
50
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

As a budget minded traveler when not on vacation, I have stayed at quite a few Econo Lodge's in several different states and this one is BY FAR the best one I have been to. I think that perhaps this used to be an Embassy Suites or something? The rate was low though, in line with the other Econo Lodge motels I have stay at perviously.

My room had a living room with a pull-out sofa and a bedroom with a very comfortable queen size bed. (I doubt the pullout was as comfortable, but my 3 1/2 year old didn't mind - she loved having her "own room".) There was a TV in each room. The room had a nice new refrigerator and microwave. The bathroom was nice.

The staff (I think it's a family and perhaps they live on site?) was very, very friendly to me every time I saw them. Also, I arrived very early, as my child was having a temper tantrum and I needed to get her out of the car after a long drive for a little bit. They gave me a room so she could go eat and rest for a little bit about 4 hours before my check-in time. Very nice!

The breakfast was really exceptional for Econo Lodge! 3 types of cereal, fruit, waffles, yogurt, 2 types of donuts and 4 or 5 different types of pastries, milk, juice, coffee, etc. Nice eating area. Everything was very clean.

There are only 2 drawbacks to the whole place. There is no pool, but I was fine with that with our very short stay and i the room, the hairdryer was out by the 2nd sink insetad of in the bathroom. Not a huge deal, due to an early flight, I showered the night before and the hairdyer kept my daughter up later than I would have liked.

Overall though, an excellent motel and value. Close to the airport, shopping and restaurants (right off 28th Street) and I highly recommend. Will stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: Given the choice, I would ask for a 2nd floor room so you won't hear the person above you. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denvergal1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed here for my business trip. I made a reservation direct to hotel and he gave me a great price, when I checked in the man in front desk gave me a very good service , very nice and clean room,comfortable bed, I have a quite sleep and breakfast is also good. Will stay here again when I had a trip at Grand Rapids.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlett, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

I'm not sure if I would recommend this place, but I wouldn't go back here. A worker got mad at me because I didn't know about the pet policy (only "some" rooms allow pets), but that wasn't printed anywhere. I was mildly scolded. Then I was told there were different prices for different weights of dogs, even though the paperwork only had one price. I negotiated it, but for $10, it was stressful. Another worker was annoyed when my wife asked for extra towels. We felt like an annoyance, which made our stay awkward and uncomfortable. Ironically, the guests were more hospitable -- opening the door for me and my baby as I was trying to carry multiple items. I had two truckers open doors for me, but the workers wouldn't even say hello. Odd. The room was good and an amazing price, but near a bar that had live music until midnight.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaybox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

This place was well run, had friendly efficient staff and was an absolute bargain! We stayed for one night, the room was massive -fridge, microwave, great sitting area with comfy couch and chairs. Spotlessly clean! Would absolutely recommend this place.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank loveUllapool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We had the best experience here. Don't judge the book by it's cover. The staff is friendly, the rooms are well kept and it's quiet which is surprising because there is an airport and a highway right down the street. We arrived late but the staff saw us coming in and came right out to help, we stayed two glorious nights. The room was spacious, there was a fridge and sink/mini kitchen separating a front sitting room with pull out couch and flat screen and the bedroom/bathroom. The breakfast was a typical continental but we expected that and it was great. Sure the decor is a little out dated but because the overall experience of using the hotel, the sleep quality, the quiet, and peacefulness was wonderful it doesn't change my opinion. I highly recommend you stay here. It's relaxing and comforting to know there are still small places like this that value the customer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the restaurant next door, towards the back of the hotel. It's quiet and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Given than my room was about $60 a night, I was not expecting a large suite (separate "living room"). This is a very nice, clean hotel. I'm glad I made a reservation, because it was fully booked when I arrived. Looks like I'm not the only person who likes this place!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank froggy123Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 48 in Grand Rapids
433 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn
#31 of 48 in Grand Rapids
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
1.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#27 of 48 in Grand Rapids
147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#2 of 48 in Grand Rapids
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge & Suites

Property: Econo Lodge & Suites
Address: 2985 Kraft Ave SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-2021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing