We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but could use an upgrade/maintenance”
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Battle Creek MI
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not bad but could use an upgrade/maintenance”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Nice that the Inn provides shuttle service to the airport, on time and direct. Room small, but adequate; needs some upgrading and maintenance. Phone didn't work (no cord to it) and it took staff several tries to get one to me that did, but they worked hard at it. Nice breakfast, friendly staff. Didn't get to try the pool or hot tub; pool was rather small and quite full when we were there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    38
    31
    14
    9
See reviews for
56
36
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
jaws2002gr
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The new general manager is not friendly as the previous one. Will not allow early check-ins will make you wait until 3 p.m. Free breakfast, heated pool, and hot tub are lovely so is the shuttle and most stuff but many little issues. The hotel needs work to be done by professionals or at least real handy man (not just by the maintenance guys). The non-slip tile in the pool area is new and nice (even on the walls) however the new flooring/tile in the lobby is very slippery and we slipped on it several times. Basically told too bad it has a wet floor sign and and usually only one mat in the entrance and one at the desk. The pillows are hard as a rock (due to choice hotels and the new eco pillows- so go to meijer and buy pillows if you stay here). The hotel still refuses to fix the dryer now for approximately 7 years. Electrical was also an issue for our last stay with outlets being striped, microwave beeping all the time (so unpluged). I wish the owner could actually be contacted but the front desk refuses to pass any of that information on. So if the owner sees this he can contact me (six 1 six 8-zero-2-seven four 05). We used to love this hotel but it is not comfortable and if you cant sleep whats the point?

Room Tip: If you insist on staying here, buy pillows from meijer, also get a room on 2nd or 3rd floor (not fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaws2002gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I came to 29th Street Sleep Inn two nights ago and had issues with my situation. Jasmine, Casey, David , Laurie all took care of me more than I could of anticipated . I manage a bar restaurant in Connecticut and service far exceeds all else . I would hire each and every one of them for my team. Friendly, understanding, a joy to deal with. You are lucky to have these people on your team. Take measures to insure they know of your gratitude as I have

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knowyourrole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron C, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you so much for your review, and we are very pleased to have made your trip to our Hotel a great experience. It was our pleasure to accommodate you and hope to do it for you again in the future. Safe travels and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I booked this hotel because of some key amenities (location, wi-fi, indoor pool and hot tub) and based on reviews for a overnight stay with the kids. To my displeasure the clerk tells me AFTER I have checked in that the pool area is closed and that I was the 5th person who came to use that feature. She then asked when did I make my reservation because the pool had been closed for a few weeks. When I told her that I booked the room 3-4 days prior her reply was that "someone should've had told you that our pool was down for maintenance when I confirmed the reservation." Immediately when my 7yr daughter here's the news she begins to cry because I promised her that we could swim after check-in. The clerk just looks at her (and me) and says "Aaaawww."

POOR customer relation skills. The only reason I didn't try another hotel in the area was due to the blizzard I just drove thru and everyone in the vehicle was restless and just wanted to relax. So I didn't feel like searching around let alone drive around on the slippery roads.

As far as the condition of the hotel - clean lobby (EXCEPT for the wet-slippery floors due to the snowy conditions. I almost slipped a few times). Hallways were clean and the hotel was quiet. The breakfast was ok...eggs cooked to long and the toaster took forever. The room was a double bed and my complaints are: need more towels in the room and the toilet clogged. It took over 45 minutes and two phones calls for someone to attend to the need. There was some mold and spider webs on the outside corner of the shower and lastly in room 112 the light switch cover barely covered the socket hole.

Would I go back? Its 50/50.
Being snowed in with 2 kids that desperately wanted to do some activities but couldn't just ain't cool. Stayed ONLY overnight!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stubbs247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Hotel is nicely located to shopping and airport. Allowed for early check in and friendly staff. Was worth the price and would have paid more. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone local and needing a place to stay or a traveler coming to or through town. Dave... The General manager went out of his way to make sure our stay was perfect. Will stay again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mdlblong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We often stay here when in GR to attend to family matters. My wife needs a roll in shower and this hotel offers one. Many hotels do not. Front Desk staff has always been cheerful and willing to help however they can. We appreciate the lite dinner offered weekdays. The breakfast was also very good. For us however, the most important feature is the availability of the walk in shower and the hotel has been excellent in meeting our needs. We will stay here again without question.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoughton, Wisconsin, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This Sleep Inn is about mid-range as far as that group of hotels is concerned. Although it is showing signs of age, it's clean, the staff is friendly and well trained and the beds and bathroom are in good shape.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rossscovotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 48 in Grand Rapids
433 reviews
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Grand Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Airport
Clarion Inn & Suites Airport
#35 of 48 in Grand Rapids
203 reviews
1.5 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
#16 of 48 in Grand Rapids
175 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn
#31 of 48 in Grand Rapids
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites
Address: 4284 29th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-1936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Grand Rapids
Sleep Inn And Suites
Grand Rapids Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn Grand Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing