We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
NC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here to go to a family reunion in August this year. Staff was courteous. Location was good, a few minutes from the airport, and they had a shuttle. We had booked thru Hotwire so didn't get to pick our room, we just knew it should be enough to sleep my family of 4. We ended up with a suite with one queen bed and a fold out couch. Having my 16 year old try to share rickety fold out with my 4 year old would have been a nightmare. I ended up using couch cushions to make my 4 year old a pallet on the floor. Our queen bed was not very comfortable, it sagged in the middle and had hard spots. My husband and I tossed and turned all night. Everyone, except the 4 year old awoke with backaches in the morning. Breakfast was fine, hot, standard HI express fare. However there was an ant crawling on the wall in the breakfast room and crumbs in the pull out couch when we opened it. I give an average rating because we got a good deal thru Hotwire, but I would have been more upset had I paid full price for the room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NcTarheelFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear NcTarheelFan,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff and breakfast.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the bed and sofa bed. We will address these points. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    78
    40
    13
    13
See reviews for
77
26
19
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed at this location for 3 nights and it was just average. I prefer Hampton for similar class but at least Hampton has better bed, pillow and more modern interior. At the time i couldn't get cheaper rate at any Hilton property, so had to settle with this Holiday Inn. The hotel itself is just average. The room got was a suite and just simple. Like that they put microwave and fridge in the room.
The hotel looks a bit outdated and can use renovation. The fitness center is very small with only 3 cardio machines and a weight machine cramped in the back of the room.
The location is great as it's quiet and located behind Meijer and there are some restaurants nearby. But there are plenty of food and retail establishments on the opposite side of the main road.
Nothing stand out about this hotel and will most likely look elsewhere if i come back to Grand Rapids area.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Leilani07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Leilani07,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopatcong, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I average 15-20 nights per year in business hotels. Not much I know and I normally stay at Hilton properties. I chose this property because it was convenient and well priced. So I just hoped it wouldn't be an old used up Holiday Inn. It wasn't. Not in any way.
Upon arrival, Elizabeth greeted me and my customer with a smile and provided us with a few bottles of desperately needed water. Each and every person who i interacted with at reception was professional friendly and helpful. Daily breakfast was better than expected. Traditional continental breakfast plus biscuits and gravy one day and eggs and bacon another, Pancake machine etc. Clean, well stocked, friendly staff. Sensing a trend here? Rooms were clean, plenty of linens with a couch, desk, fridge sink and coffee machine.

I will go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinny-n-Lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

If it had not been for one very bad housekeeping problem and poor communication I would rate this property higher.
I called for a reservation rather than reserve on line because I wanted a handicap accessible room and I wanted to get in earlier than 3 pm. I was told that it was very possible that we would be able to get in early and they had the room I needed. I was asked to call the day before to double check on the availability of an early check in. One the day before our check it, it took me 3 attempts to get through and talk to someone (disconnected, terrible connection on 2nd try). I talked to the front desk and was assured that we could check in at 1:30 pm.
When we arrived at 1:45 pm, the room was not ready as promised but the staff called housekeeping and we were told another accessible room was available. We entered that room and I found drawers in the kitchenette and the dresser drawers still open. Worse yet, there was about 1/4 cup of round brown pellets on the rug near the wall by the bed. It looked like dog food, but could be a snack of something that had been spilled. Obviously the staff did not catch that in order to get the room readied. They should never have released the room.
As we left for an event an hour later, I informed the front desk myself and described exactly where the pellets were. When we returned almost 5 hours later, I discovered that the pellets were still there. My husband thinks the staff member did not make a note and got distracted before a service call was made.
I immediately walked down to the front desk and complained to the manager. We got someone in to vacuum the room immediately and a phone call acknowledging the problem and we were told we would not be charged for the room.
Unfortunately this left a very poor impression. However in all fairness I must say the king sized bed was almost perfect. It was slightly harder that I prefer, but I was able to get a good sleep. The room is almost two rooms with the front section containing a couch with a pull out bed and a TV and lamp. Then there is a small kitchenette with plenty of cupboards, sink, microwave, burners on a stove top, refrigerator and coffee maker. The main room has a large bed, another TV, lambs and tables. There is a major grocery store just beyond the property. You have to drive past this grocery store (Meijers) to get to one of two hotel properties. The entrance has a lovely garden area. It is quite near the airport and just off a major freeway. It is located off one of the busiest streets in Grand Rapids. In spite of this, the property was set in a section that somehow buffets the noise from the roads. We were located on the first floor near the front desk and it was very quiet there.
I might consider this property again. I would agree with another review it is nothing spectacular overall, but for the price is good and it was a decent experience except for the odd housekeeping problem and they did not have the room ready as promised. They were professional about acknowledging the problem.
Final comment: I doubt that I got a real accessible room. There is only one support bar in the tub (shower facilities in the tub) and there are no bars near the toilet. I do not use a wheelchair, but I doubt that anyone in a wheelchair could get into the bathroom easily. The bottom of sink is too low to get a wheelchair under the sink, the towels are place too high. The toilet would be difficult to use because the bathroom is narrow and there is no place to transfer to the toilet. If you have those needs be sure to discuss you needs in detail with someone who really knows the property and which rooms are built to accommodate you. Fortunately I can manage with one handle bar in the shower though I prefer two (or more.)

Room Tip: All seem quiet, see my notes if you are handicapped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Margo96,

Thank you for your staying with us and for leaving us a feedback. Providing excellent customer service is one of the things we pride ourselves on and we are sorry to read that in this case you feel we have fallen short of your expectations. We would love the opportunity to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay.

Once again many thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledonia, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The girl who checked me in was so nice and friendly! I was given a room on the 1st floor like I asked, in a quiet area. Room was huge and spacious! It was for the night before my wedding. Us bridesmaids all stayed in the double queen suite. I called the front desk in the morning, was told I could not check out late as they were fully booked. 5 minutes later, she called our room to state she talked to her manager and confirmed it. GREAT service! She went above and beyond my request. Breakfast was also great although I didn't eat much as I was so nervous about getting married! There was SO much food! Omelettes, toast, muffins, bagels, bacon, ect! The breakfast area was too crowded but overall it was great! Late check out at 1PM was PERFECT as I needed the extra time to pack! ONLY downfalls, was a hair on the bed and I was required to be an IHG member to check in early but that was it. Thanks for the amazing stay!

Room Tip: Ground floor near the west door was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassie2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel was convenient to where I needed to be. It is also surrounded by numerous restaurants and shopping which was helpful. Service was ok as we're the rooms. The common areas are a but tired and could be refreshed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetCincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear JanetCincy,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are sincerely sorry to read about your negative experience over the hotel's condition. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I want to commend both Megan Burmeister and Elizabeth Burke for what always has been outstanding customer service in all of my stays at the HI Express Grand Rapids.

I have been staying at this hotel for the better part of a year while I have been working in Grand Rapids. Within two weeks of my first stay when both Megan and Elizabeth were on duty they knew my name, my room preferences, and any special requests (extra table to work on) while staying here. Megan has often gone above and beyond to make sure I had my preferred room each time, and take the time to call me before I arrived to let me know everything was set.

I have had the opportunity to stay at a number of different hotel properties, some much more expensive per night than the HI Express, and I would not stay anywhere else because of the service and professionalism that both have extended to me in my time here. I can't thank both Megan and Elizabeth enough for all their efforts.

Any guest (and I would highly recommend this location) will be well taken care of. All of the staff that I have interacted with are all very professional and have a great, positive attitude that makes staying here as good an experience as you can have away from home.

Room Tip: I prefer to stay on the third floor, towards the back of the hotel, near the center/middle. Much ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#3 of 48 in Grand Rapids
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 48 in Grand Rapids
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Address: 5401 28th Street Ct SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546-6772
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#14 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at the newest Holiday Inn Express in Grand Rapids, MI!The Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport Hotel provides quality and comfort with a unique twist...all rooms are suites! The Gerald R. Ford International Airport (GRR) is located only 3 miles from this airport hotel and our complimentary airport shuttle service will have you there in minutes.Amenities abound at the Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport. Stay Smart with Express Start breakfast served daily (including those irresistible cinnamon buns) and hot coffee offered round the clock. When you arrive, take a dip in our indoor pool or shoot hoops at the backyard sport court. If there is work to be done, you ll love free wireless Internet throughout the hotel and complimentary business center services.The Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport guests often visit nearby local Grand Rapids businesses including Steelcase Headquarters, Amway, Cascade Engineering, and Meijer among others.Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport is family and group friendly too, located next door to the MVP Sports Fieldhouse. We are also situated within walking distance of Cascade Meijer and Macaroni Grill, 2 miles from the Woodland Mall and Centerpointe Mall, 2 miles from Celebration Cinema, and only 5 miles away from the Frederik Meijer Gardens. The sandy beaches of the Lake Michigan shore is only a 35 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing