We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Eagle, Colorado
2 reviews
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Holiday Inn here. The staff was very professional and accommodating. If you needed anything they took care of it right away. The staff is very knowledgeable of the area around the hotel and Grand Rapids. The rooms were clean, the fitness room was very nice for a hotel, and the breakfast was good.

I really can't express how nice the staff is , they made this stay very enjoyable!!!:-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for coming to stay with us recently. We enjoyed having you and appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay. I will pass on your kind and inspiring words to my staff. Thank you again and come back to visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    78
    40
    14
    13
See reviews for
77
27
19
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel at the end of a weekend away on business. The hotels are booked by the company for whom I work. It was very conveniently located to the airport. However, the rooms need updating and the cleanliness was only fair in my room. Plus, there was a giant fruit punch colored stain on the carpet between the beds in the room. Totally turned me off and grossed me out. My heat was also turned down past 60 when I first came in the room and it was in the teens outside. With that being said, the gentleman downstairs was very friendly. This hotel is a fine option for emergencies and flight cancellations. However, I most likely would not book here again traveling on my own dollar.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Triplethreatnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel regarding your stay. I apologize and am disappointed about the stain on your carpet and the heat being turned down so low. Thank you for bringing it to my attention so that I may get those issues resolved. Your compliment about my front desk staff will be passed on and is very appreciated. We do hope you will give us a second chance in the future. Thank you again-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadillac, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for a girls weekend. Since I knew we'd be spending quite a bit of time in our room, I opted to reserve a suite. I came across this hotel and the price was right. We had a Queen Suite and it had 2 queen beds, a kitchenette, and a living area. It was perfect for what we were looking for. The room was clean and spacious.

The hotel staff was friendly. The pool and hot tub area was nice, although the hot tub looked like it could use to be cleaned. The pool was clean, and nice and warm for swimming. The breakfast was ample and well stocked.

The location of the hotel is a little difficult to find. It is tucked behind the Meijer store, and is not visible from the main road in the dark. It is nearby everything you would need, so that is a bonus! Meijer, restaurants, main highways, are all near by.
This hotel met our needs well. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit here to Grand Rapids. We do appreciate your review of our hotel. We hope to see you again very soon! Monika Harris, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I spent one night in the hotel for a busniess trip, and I travel a lot, and I rarely complain, but this one bothers me. My biggest problem is that I booked my hotel thru my corporate travel agency, since I was traveling on business, and the corporate travel agency booked my room at a specific rate, but the hotel overcharged me by $4.27. Because the price was only marginally increased, I did not notice that they had overcharged me, shame on me. When I did notice the discrepancy (as I was filling in my expense report), I contacted my corporate travel agency who called the hotel and talked with Monica, to inquire why there was a rate change. She said that when the travel request was submitted, the rate was only for a double bed (I can not confirm or deny this to be true, as I do not have access to to my original booking doucment's webpage views), but in the travel request, I had indicated that a King bed was preffered, so they upgraded my room to to a king, and increased my room rate, without telling me. They never discussed with me at check in that they were modifying my original room, or that they were "upgrading" me in any way, it was just "ok, here's your room keys, have a nice night". So Monica said that since I never asked about the change in invoice price, it was my fault. So now I am letting every traveler know, that in my extensive years of travel, I have never had this type of experience, and if you are traveling to this hotel, DOUBLE check your innvoice as they are padding their numbers hoping that you don't notice, and then, well, it's your fault that you didn't catch them cheating you. All this for a lowsy $4.27, Monica, really, it's the customer's fault?

So let me expand on my review of the hotel and share what my upgraded room was like. First, I will say, the room was clean. So that was good, and expected. However, the toilet seat lid was a problem. It seems to me that they had one contractor install a shelf to the wall above the toilet, and had someone else install the toilet, becase the shelf blocks the toilet seat from being able to fully open, and then gravity pulls the seat closed while you are using the toilet. So in order to use it like a man, you have to hold the toilet seat lid up with one hand the whole time, and if you need to take a seat, well it just rides on your back the whole time.

The rest of the room was nicely appointed, TV, sofa, work desk, and coffee pot all seemd in good condition.

I will definately NOT stay here again, and I advise you to do the same. There are many hotels in that area to choose from.

Room Tip: Just double check your room rates, as they seem to change your room without letting you know that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsgrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize for the miscommunication that you received. Please contact me so that I may speak to you directly at 616-940-8100. Thank you, Monika Harris, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We just got back from Grand Rapids and we stayed at this hotel. It's in a great location with a large Meijer store a stone throw away and many restaurants within a 5 min drive. It's a smallish hotel and some would call it dated but, that never bothered me. It is clean, quiet and the staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast was decent. There were a lot of families staying here so it was good for the kids. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you so much for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your thoughts online. We are presently making some additional changes and look forward to your thoughts when you return! We hope that we can welcome you back to Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berrien Springs, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I had recently stayed at this hotel, and upon my arrival, the front desk woman working their, Ashleigh was absolutely fantastic. She made sure that I had everything that I had needed seeing as I had lost my travel bag somewhere along the way. She also went above and beyond to make me comfortable and found the best choice of room for me due to some certain requests that I had made to her. No other hotels would accommodate me with these requests. I commend her greatly, she was so happy to help us, and later on that evening when I went to dinner she was rocking it by herself, helping guests with their needs and being so polite about it, answering multiple phones. Working in customer service myself, this is something that is commended. A Hard working employee, that goes above and beyond. I will definitely be staying at this hotel from now on!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desiilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
We loved hearing about your great experience with us. Thank you so much for your recent patronage and for taking the time to share your thoughts online. We hope that we can welcome you back to Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I had to travel to Grand Rapids to a testing facility. I was not familiar with the area, so I called ahead to several hotels to get an idea of proximity to the testing site. I spoke to Ashleigh at the Holiday Inn Express and she took it a step further, she asked for the address and looked up driving directions and informed me I would be 2 miles from the facility. She then asked me about my business affiliations so she could apply additional discounts to my room. She gave me a great price and a booked the room. No one from the other establishments made themselves available to assist me with my inquiries. The day I was to travel to the hotel, a one hour trip ending up taking 2.5 hours due to a typical Michigan winter storm. I got lost and called the front desk. Coincidentally, it was Ashleigh again! Her friendly voice calmed me as she directed me to the hotel. Exhausted from driving white knuckled and famished, Ashleigh offered to have the shuttle take me to get something to eat so I would not have to drive. She remembered I was there to take a test and made sure to give me the WiFi code without me asking. She also told me the the pool was open to 11:00 pm if I needed to step into the hot tube to unwind. I swear she anticipated everything I wanted. This helped me wind down. The shuttle driver also was exceptionally friendly. Being a manager, I am very sensitive to customer service. Ashleigh did not stop at enough, she tried to anticipate my needs and desires by the many services she offered. Yes, these are common amenities, but she made me feel like she was along side with me and my experience. She offered to print out directions to the testing site, to give me a wake up call and wished me good luck on my test. She suggested I take the third floor room so I could have quiet as I prepared for my exam. She made it personal. Again, she offered before I could ask. The room was clean and comfortable with nice perks, safe, microwave,& refrigerator. My check in was on 1/27/14. I arrived at 7:30 pm.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdaniels4633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your review of your experience here at Holiday Inn Express. Your review is not just recognition for Ashleigh, but for our staff as a whole. I am very proud of the efforts of the staff to be a part of the Best of the Best for Grand Rapids. Thank you for recognizing Ashleigh and her efforts at welcoming you to your home away from home. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 48 in Grand Rapids
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#2 of 48 in Grand Rapids
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Address: 5401 28th Street Ct SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546-6772
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#14 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at the newest Holiday Inn Express in Grand Rapids, MI!The Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport Hotel provides quality and comfort with a unique twist...all rooms are suites! The Gerald R. Ford International Airport (GRR) is located only 3 miles from this airport hotel and our complimentary airport shuttle service will have you there in minutes.Amenities abound at the Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport. Stay Smart with Express Start breakfast served daily (including those irresistible cinnamon buns) and hot coffee offered round the clock. When you arrive, take a dip in our indoor pool or shoot hoops at the backyard sport court. If there is work to be done, you ll love free wireless Internet throughout the hotel and complimentary business center services.The Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport guests often visit nearby local Grand Rapids businesses including Steelcase Headquarters, Amway, Cascade Engineering, and Meijer among others.Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport is family and group friendly too, located next door to the MVP Sports Fieldhouse. We are also situated within walking distance of Cascade Meijer and Macaroni Grill, 2 miles from the Woodland Mall and Centerpointe Mall, 2 miles from Celebration Cinema, and only 5 miles away from the Frederik Meijer Gardens. The sandy beaches of the Lake Michigan shore is only a 35 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing