We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Hospitality”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We came to Grand Rapids for a mini-reunion of our family. We only rented three rooms in the hotel, but they permitted us to use the breakfast room for our opening get together. The rooms were good size and comfortable. The beds were firm, an the air conditioning efficient and quiet. The breakfast was hot and good. We really enjoyed our stay and will make this our hotel of choice when we return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ragu10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We really enjoyed having you here with us and look forward to having you back again! Monika Harris, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    78
    40
    13
    13
See reviews for
77
26
19
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I typically stay at Hyatt or SPG properties for business travel, but I decided to give Holiday Inn and IHG a try due to the close proximity to my work location. The staff was professional and friendly and the hotel has good-sized rooms and recreational facilities, including an outdoor basketball court. Also, the airport is only a 10 minute drive. Overall, it was a great 3 week stay; I will definitely stay at same hotel when in Grand Rapids again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biztravkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with our Hotel. We enjoyed having you and hope to see you again in the near future. Monika Harris, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte FL
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Conveniently located close to I96 to access Grand Rapids, also next to Meijer in a quiet location of the parking area. Hotel has nice rooms, clean, with micro and fridge and extra sitting room. Two tv's also, nice for families traveling together, beds were comfortable and breakfast was adequate. Busy on weekends, as there are a lot of families, but we were on a higher floor so we did not hear anything. I

Room Tip: Higher floors are better on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janej565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! We do hope to have you come back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The location was convenient to my meeting the next morning, so that is one plus. This hotel was not up to the standards of other HIE locations I have stayed. The pillows were old, the corner of the sheet was ripped at the seam, the bathroom did not have a mirror over the sink (very hard to shave when you have to look across the bathroom), and below the sink in the room there was some piping and water dripping to an open drain, it was very strange and probably not sanitary.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel4Fun_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback about your stay. It sounds like you were in a handicap accessible suite, which is slightly different from our regular suites. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future to have you stay with us again. Thank you, Monika Harris, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Good stuff:
Really nice rooms. Meijer in the parking lot (if you need anything--out of state folks, I mean ANYTHING). Microwave and fridge in the room. Separate sitting and sleeping rooms, each with TV's.

Negative stuff:
I stay at a lot of hotels, and I have one big pet peeve developing, and it was intensified during this stay. If you work at the front desk, put away your damn cell phone whenever guests are around.

When we checked in, all three front desk clerks had phones out and were discussing something. I clearly interrupted some major issue, although parsing through the news, I can not figure out that that was. The two clerks not interacting with me continued their conversation, and the clerk checking me in (I think the manager on duty?) kept one ear in both conversations.

I went down later to let them know that there were no more towels in the pool area. Again, the entire front desk had phones out and seemed annoyed by the distraction. It is worth noting that they did address that there were no clean towels in the pool.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Jay B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaneohe, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Originating from Hawaii and never traveling farther than Nevada, we were nervous about where to stay for 7 nights in non-tourist destination. The staff was very helpful prior to our arrival about the hotel facilities and location from the airport, and pleasant during our stay with recommendations on local eateries and places to visit. The room was clean and spacious enough for 3 adults, especially with the sofa bed in the sitting room. Having two TV's were nice along with a HBO channel. Microwave and mini refrigerator with a bar sink was a nice surprise. Free Wi-Fi was great and even though we didn't partake in the free breakfast, the spread/variety looked good. Having access to the exercise room 24/7 was wonderful! There were a lot of different groups coming in and out of the hotel during our week stay, but it didn't cause any inconvenience. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend the property.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel. Reading your review about your stay made us all smile. We hope to have you come back to our great city and have you stay with us again! Monika Harris-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hotel is nice. Rooms are large, have a frig and a microwave. The courtyard area by the parking lot out back has basketball hoops and a picnic area with a BBQ. Free Wi-Fi and free breakfast which is the standard HIE breakfast (pancakes, eggs, sausage, bacon, toast, yogurt, cereal... pretty substantial) The staff at the front desk are all nice and very helpful. The rest of the staff just seemed sad or something. Even when I smiled or spoke to them they barely ever said a word and I never saw any of the housekeeping staff smile even once (and we were here for 4 nights). If you are in the area, this hotel is a good value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us for your extended stay to Grand Rapids and for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I appreciate your honesty regarding hotel staff that you encountered during your stay. If you decide to stay with us again, we hope you will find great changes have been made! Thank you again-Monika Harris, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#3 of 48 in Grand Rapids
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 48 in Grand Rapids
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Address: 5401 28th Street Ct SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546-6772
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#14 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at the newest Holiday Inn Express in Grand Rapids, MI!The Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport Hotel provides quality and comfort with a unique twist...all rooms are suites! The Gerald R. Ford International Airport (GRR) is located only 3 miles from this airport hotel and our complimentary airport shuttle service will have you there in minutes.Amenities abound at the Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport. Stay Smart with Express Start breakfast served daily (including those irresistible cinnamon buns) and hot coffee offered round the clock. When you arrive, take a dip in our indoor pool or shoot hoops at the backyard sport court. If there is work to be done, you ll love free wireless Internet throughout the hotel and complimentary business center services.The Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport guests often visit nearby local Grand Rapids businesses including Steelcase Headquarters, Amway, Cascade Engineering, and Meijer among others.Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport is family and group friendly too, located next door to the MVP Sports Fieldhouse. We are also situated within walking distance of Cascade Meijer and Macaroni Grill, 2 miles from the Woodland Mall and Centerpointe Mall, 2 miles from Celebration Cinema, and only 5 miles away from the Frederik Meijer Gardens. The sandy beaches of the Lake Michigan shore is only a 35 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing