We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good place for type of hotel- tennis and basketball also”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
virginia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Pretty good place for type of hotel- tennis and basketball also”
Reviewed 14 July 2009

This hotel surprised me in a good way. First the rooms are suites and that was really nice with a small kitchenette and seperate living area. Lobby has a breakfast buffet which was pleasant though nothing fancy. There is a large grocery store on this block so you could use the kitchenette if you wanted. There is a nice indoor pool. I am very allergic to mold and could not use the pool as I would have if I could have but the lack of ventilation and indoor pool made for a moldy mess. The upstairs exercise room had a few cardio machines and enough room to stretch and move which was nice. Beds were comfortable, seemed new, very clean and had an assortment of pillow styles which was also nice. The room was very clean, not dusty or musty with a window that opened. Out the back window was tennis courts and basketball court which was in use early evening and quiet at night. Pretty good place for the price, and current promotions allow points collectors to grab alot of extra points. Alot of hotels are in this area and so the competiton is good which is good for hotel consumers to find what they are looking for.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touristwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiexgrmi, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, 15 November 2009
Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your July visit with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Grand Rapids Airport. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I am sorry to hear about your allergies and your inability to utilize our indoor pool. It's a great advantage to have an indoor swimming pool during the winter months here in Michigan, and we do our best to exceed standards of cleanliness and keep the chemicals balanced all throughout the year. I would like to thank you for your sincere compliments regarding the rest of your stay and I hope you will continue to choose The InterContinental Hotels Group as your lodging of choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    78
    40
    14
    13
See reviews for
77
27
19
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scottville, MI
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2009

While the gps could not find it and Google Maps and Mapquest have it in the wrong place, this property was worth the search. Clean and quiet, friendly staff, a comfy bed and a nice breakfast made this a worthwhile stay. I got a night here through Hotwire and it was really affordable. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomtuba1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

This holiday inn express is very nice.
I got a suite room with 2 TVs, minibar, large bathroom, a comfort couch, microwave, refridgerater and secure box.
They even provide paper towel, plastic utensils in case you buy food from somewhere.
Hotel is right next to 28th and I - 196 and also next to Meijer.
Pool looked nice and clean but I didn't have time to try it.
It's just a huge room even for a couple or family.
I stayed at Sleep Inns the night before and for $10 different.
I would rather stay at Holiday Inn for better experience.
Breakfast was okay not great but not bad either.

My friend stayed at Radisson in Downtown GR and it's just a dark tiny room compared to Holiday Inn Airport.

And Free WiFi!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiexgrmi, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, 15 November 2009
It is delightful to recieve such a positive review from a guest! Although your stay was a while ago, I wanted to contact you to let you know how much we truly value and appreciate the reviews that our guests take the time to post. I realize what busy lifestyles many of us lead, and am very appreciative that you chose our hotel to share your Grand Rapids experience with. If you are ever in the Great Lakes State again, we would be honored to be a part of your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2008

Booked this hotel very late in the day for that same night, as I had an emergency flight out of GRR the following morning. Although the $110 rate wasn't bad, I've had much nicer HIX hotels for that money. (I'm not overly complaining, I spend $200-$300/night in NYC, Hong Kong, London, etc).

I arrived close to midnight and left the hotel at 7 the next morning. As a Priority Club Platinum member, I was given an 'upgraded' room that had a full-on Jacuzzi in the room. It looked nice and inviting, but I was too tired and needed sleep. The room itself was clean and comfortable. I skipped the breakfast the next morning, but it appeared to be an average/above average HIX 'free breakfast'. Check in seemed to take FOREVER (compounded because I was so tired and desperate to get to sleep)...But their computer was acting up, I'll forgive them for that.

On the plus side, there was no charge for parking--I left my car there for the 2 days I was gone, and upon my return to GRR, I called the hotel from the plane when we landed, and they were waiting for me when I exited the terminal 10 minutes later. They dropped me right at my car and I was on my way.

I will say it's a stretch to call it an 'Airport Hotel' , as the airport is 10-15 minutes away, and is set behind a Meijer (shopping center)...Seems atypical for a small airport like GRR--when I booked the hotel, I figured it was closer to the airport.

All in all, I'd probably book the same hotel again if the situation presented itself, but in 20-30 air trips a year, this was my first time flying out of GRR--hopefully, will be my last (only because of the 2-hour drive, but United out of Saginaw, Lansing or Detroit wanted $1200 MORE for the last-minute ticket. Worth the drive in that case.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MichWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2007

We stayed here a few years ago when it was called Amerisuites and liked it very much. Had forgotten we liked it so much. The suite configuration allows one person to stay up and watch tv late and not disturb the other one. The bathroom and mini-kitchen divide the bedroom area and small sitting room area. Breakfast was very good. I understand the hotel was remodeled in summer 2007. Amenities in room were very nice also.

  • Liked — Room configuration
  • Disliked — warmth of room
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crosstchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ringwood
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2007

Very pleasant staff at this hotel. Clean rooms, standard HIEXPRESS breakfast but weekdays from 5-7 a complimentary small salad bar is offered with ham / turkey / chicken salad/ veggies and cheese. Small excercise area and midsize warm pool and hot tub. Convenient to the main highway and many restaurants with just a quick walk to the Macaroni Grill. There is a Maiers across the lot with food / clothing / pharmacy / household goods, etc. if you need something in a pinch. Downtown Grand Rapids is only a 10-15 minute drive.

  • Liked — Friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — no electrical outlets on the walls next to the bed
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lhs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitmore Lake, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2006

Our family stayed two nights at this location which consisted of myself, my wife and our two children aged 3 and 5. We found the staff very pleasant and the property clean and in order. For the price we would rate it above average. The hotel has a good “Hot” breakfast buffet with a wide assortment including; yogurt, hard boiled eggs, sausage, scrambled eggs, fruit, English muffins, danish, muffins, apple & orange juice, coffee, 4 types of cereal, and a make it yourself waffle station. In the afternoon they provide popcorn in the lobby where they have a large screen TV. Our room was clean and appeared to be newly furnished. The fitness center has two treadmills and two elliptical machines, but no weights. The pool and hot tub is typical, although on weekends it can get a bit crowded, the hours of operation for the pool seem to be only a loose guideline. The property is well occupied on the weekends, although there was little or no noise from either the hallway or the exterior. The location is tucked behind and to the side of a large grocery/department store (Meijer), which is within walking distance, with plenty of restaurants within an easy 2 to 5 minute drive. All and all we would gladly stay there again.

  • Liked — “Hot” breakfast buffet
  • Disliked — Crowded pool
  • Tips/Secrets — Try Branns Steakhouse across the street for dinner
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank 9021Posey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 48 in Grand Rapids
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#2 of 48 in Grand Rapids
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Address: 5401 28th Street Ct SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546-6772
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#14 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at the newest Holiday Inn Express in Grand Rapids, MI!The Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport Hotel provides quality and comfort with a unique twist...all rooms are suites! The Gerald R. Ford International Airport (GRR) is located only 3 miles from this airport hotel and our complimentary airport shuttle service will have you there in minutes.Amenities abound at the Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport. Stay Smart with Express Start breakfast served daily (including those irresistible cinnamon buns) and hot coffee offered round the clock. When you arrive, take a dip in our indoor pool or shoot hoops at the backyard sport court. If there is work to be done, you ll love free wireless Internet throughout the hotel and complimentary business center services.The Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport guests often visit nearby local Grand Rapids businesses including Steelcase Headquarters, Amway, Cascade Engineering, and Meijer among others.Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport is family and group friendly too, located next door to the MVP Sports Fieldhouse. We are also situated within walking distance of Cascade Meijer and Macaroni Grill, 2 miles from the Woodland Mall and Centerpointe Mall, 2 miles from Celebration Cinema, and only 5 miles away from the Frederik Meijer Gardens. The sandy beaches of the Lake Michigan shore is only a 35 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing