We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Employee” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Rapids

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
“Outstanding Employee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

During my numerous stays at this property I have been most impressed with Matt the night front desk manager. He has shown himself to be an exemplary employee over the past 6 months I have been staying here. Matt displays all the traits that I would expect of an outstanding employee and is an excellent representative and example of Marriott's committment to service and customer satisfaction. Matt is a personable and reliable professional that Marriott can be proud to call its own.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMIHospitality, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hi Dick G,
Thank you so much for your great review of our Fairfield Inn & Suites. We are thrilled that our Guest Service Agent, Matt, was able to provide you with extraordinary service during all of your stays. We love our team! We will be sure to pass along your comments to our staff! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards,
Cassaundra Hickok
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    55
    37
    6
    0
See reviews for
46
28
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Monson, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Hotel is very clean and they have a good fitness center with free weights which helps. Also the breakfast is great and kept well in stock. Mary "breakfast lady as she refers herself"does a great job and is always making sure you're doing ok and getting what you need. Mary is one of the reasons I come back to this hotel especially with all the choices that are in the area.

Room Tip: Close to the airport and all the restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony0531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMIHospitality, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hi Anthony0531,
Thank you so much for your great review of the Fairfield Inn and Suites Grand Rapids. We are so thrilled that you have enjoyed your repeated stays with us! We love our new fitness room, expanded hot breakfast and our helpful and friendly staff. Mary is an asset to our staff and does a fantastic job serving breakfast. I will be sure to pass along your comments to our staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm regards,
Cassaundra Hickok
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

It is true they recently renovated this property, but it feels to me they are not keeping up with the renovations. I just finished a 4-night stay at this hotel, and felt it was mediocre at best. The chair/ottoman in my room had spots/stains on it. The mini fridge was badly dented and scratched. The bathroom still had a very "old hotel" feel to it. And of course, there's the outlet situation that plagues so many older hotels - one that can be so easily remedied by using lamps that have additional plug outlets at the base. They did this with the desk lamp, adding one additional plug, but that plug was being used by the dented mini-fridge. Seriously? There are so few outlets you have to plug the fridge in to the desk lamp? Sigh. The breakfast area was clean and well stocked and the food was pretty good overall. I did not utilize the pool or fitness room this trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Beth K,
Thank you for reviewing the Fairfield Inn Grand Rapids. I'm glad that our complimentary breakfast was well stocked. I apologize we did not provide you with the experience you expected while staying with us. It is my hope that you will offer us another opportunity to exceed your expectations on your next trip to the area.

Sincerely,
Joe H.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
163 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

I've stayed at this location several times and so happy that they finally renovated. Nice cheerful colors creating a welcome retreat. Large size executive suite with separate area with a large sofa, TV and desk area. Micro/fridge makes it "homey" for a long term stay. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: I was on the 2nd floor over the swimming pool - not a good thing on the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hi Larry W,
Thank you so much for the kind review! We are absolutely in love with our renovations, and are so glad that you like them too! Our brand new suites are super comfortable and roomy, and are a wonderful addition to our room selection! We would love to see you again when you return to Grand Rapids.

Warm regards,
Cassaundra Hickok
Director of Sales
Fairfield Inn by Marriott-Grand Rapids
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Beds were comfy, loved the modern, trendy decor. Nice widescreen tvs, but no HD. What's the point? Wonderful breakfast with lots of options: sausage, scrambled eggs, bagels, english muffins, coffee, waffles and more! I was very pleased with it!! You could constantly hear people talking in the halls as the walked by and the doors shut very loudly. It's the type of door, not that people were slamming them. You could also hear the creaking and thumping of people walking around above, which I hate! Being a light sleeper, I always bring my ear plugs and had a very nice nights sleep. It was a nice, clean hotel, and a good value for the money.

Room Tip: Choose the 3rd floor if noise from above bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heyemilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Heyemilie,
Thank you for your review of the Fairfield Inn Grand Rapids. I'm so happy that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and a good nights sleep. I want to apologize for any noise that disturbed you. We hope to see you again the next time your business brings you to Grand Rapids.

Sincerely,
Joe H.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lapeer, Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We booked this hotel for ourselves and our family for a wedding in the area and were very pleased with the property. Every staff member from the maintenance staff to front desk were very friendly, always said hello and asked if we needed any help. The property was clean inside and outside. Rooms were nicely decorated, clean and appropriately sized. Beds were super comfy. We did not feel cramped in the room as we had to put up a pack n play for our grandson to sleep in. Breakfast each morning was hot, tasted good, plenty of options and well stocked and maintained by the breakfast staff. Pool area clean and family enjoyed swimming. We would definitely stay here again when in the area and need a place to stay. We booked a total of 8 rooms and all family members were pleased with their stay. Thank you for helping us make our son's wedding weekend enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sissybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Hi Sissybabe,
Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel and staff. We love getting such great feedback from our guests! We strive to provide exceptional service and accommodations to all of our guests and it is wonderful to hear that we made your weekend wedding trip a pleasurable experience. We love that you took advantage of our amenities and enjoyed a nice swim and great meal with us. Thank you so much for choosing the Fairfield Inn-Grand Rapids. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Grand Rapids.

Warm thanks,
Cassaundra Hickok
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
133 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Easy location to get to the airport.

The second floor was being painted during my stay, but luckily my room had no fume smell, nor did the lobby.

This hotel was okay. It seemed like it could have been an old Super 8 that was trying to appear like it was upgraded.

Breakfast had a great selection.

Room Tip: Make sure your floor's hallway isn't being painted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fourknees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Fourknees,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on the Fairfield Inn Grand Rapids. I'm so happy that you enjoyed our breakfast and location. I apologize if the painting of the hallway interfered with your stay in any way. We do our best to minimize the impact to our guests. Please come see us again the next time you are in the area.

Kind thanks,
Joe H.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
1.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#5 of 49 in Grand Rapids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#8 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Grand Rapids Airport
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Rapids

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Address: 3930 Stahl Dr SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546-6154
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#10 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Rapids 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Grand Rapids, MI Marriott hotel offers guests spacious guest rooms with free WiFi, complimentary breakfast daily, and access to our heated indoor pool, hot tub, and our 24-hour fitness center. Our location places us just a few miles from the Gerald R. Ford International Airport (GRR), and only 15 minutes from downtown Grand Rapids. While visiting us be sure to visit the Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park, the Grand Rapids Public Museum, or check out nearby Woodland Mall. No matter the reason for staying with us, our staff is always willing to help you with anything you may need during your time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Grand Rapids Hotel Grand Rapids
Fairfield Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing