We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marginal at best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Marginal at best”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

While a short stay in a Grand Rapids I would suggest checking out other lodging. The Fairfield is convenient but less than quality compared to other Fairfield properties. The tub filled quickly while showering and drained slowly. The shower curtain was mildewed. The room are noisy. Walls, floor and ceiling paper thin. Bed sheets extremely wrinkled. They looked clean. Nice to have water and trail mix in the room. Don't think I would return. Other hotels nearby.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maui4Me2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Maui4Me2,
Thank you for your review of the Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Rapids. I'm glad that you enjoyed the trail mix and water in your room. Please accept my apologies that your stay was less than satisfactory. We strive to exceed our guests' expectations, and when we come up short we want to know about it. I will share your comments with my entire staff to ensure that the problems you encountered are corrected. I hope that you will offer us another opportunity to change your mind on your next trip to the area.

Sincerely,
Joe H.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    59
    38
    6
    0
See reviews for
47
30
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Clean good-sized room and nicely appointed. Large bathroom with lots of counter space. Did not hear any noise. Staff very friendly including the housekeeping. Excellent location, easy to get around in the the area, lots of places to eat closeby, and there's a full gym about 5 min away if you want more equipment than the hotel offers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LacrosseMom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband, daughter and I stayed in a 3rd floor suite for one night. Our room was nicely appointed and although were were across from the elevator, didn't notice much noise at night.The pool, pool area and hot tub were very clean and the temperatures very comfortable. I had a hard time getting my daughter out of there! The staff was friendly and the breakfast was nice. We were close to restaurants and downtown. It's a great value and we will stay here again for the next Grand Rapids business trip!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Junkie34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton Square, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

As Fairfields go, this is one of the better ones. Very clean and the rooms are nice. They also had a nice fitness center using Precor equipment as opposed to the standard Marriott selection of LifeFitness. The breakfast was similar to other Fairfields. Scrambled eggs, bacon, cereals, waffles, fruit, yogurt coffee and juices. Very close to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveflstc07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Shores, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

As a Marriott Rewards "Platinum Life" member, I've stayed at my share of Fairfield Inns. This one can go up to the top of my list for this brand. We just took our grandchildren to Grand Rapids on a mini-trip and opted to stay overnight here, as it was only about 15 mins. from the places we were taking them and was priced for under $100/night for a weekday. We liked the chocolate chip cookies and licorice sticks at check-in. When I asked the reception clerk (Cesi?) for a rollaway, she located one and delivered it to our room before I could finish unpacking the car. The refrigerator and foam pillows I requested were already in place, and the room was clean and fresh. The kids loved the indoor pool, and the pool area was always clean and well-stocked with fresh towels. Breakfast in the morning was excellent, with a number of hot choices, including scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, and waffles. The staff members were all friendly, efficient and helpful. The management and staff are doing a lot of things extremely well, and I couldn't identify any shortcomings in the comment sheet I submitted.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inddunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calif
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Very nice accomodations. Clean and New. Breakfast is good and plentiful. Close to Airport & lots of restaurants. Very happy with our stay. Staff is helpful and nice. Good price for the room. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJWca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Altho not in a chic neighborhood, it is very near the airport. Stayed during a recent business trip. Found hotel to be very comfortable, clean, quiet and restful. The staff tries especially hard to be helpful and courteous. Breakfast includes cereals, granolas, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, ham, fresh waffles, well, you get the idea..indoor salt-water pool well-maintained, hot tub very relaxing. No Chlorine "smell", well-ventilated. Work out room very clean, equipment works and is up-to-date altho small. Maybe not the highest end, but would recommend to anyone. Really appreciated the guest laundry and no trouble at all with Wi-Fi. Not a huge place, but the staff run it as if guests were family.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMIHospitality, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hi Sandra J!
Thank you so much for staying with us at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Rapids and for the great review! We love our newly renovated hotel and new salt-water swimming pool. The difference is amazing! We pride ourselves on great service, accommodations and amenities, so it is very encouraging to hear that you had a great experience while here! We hope to see you again when you return to Grand Rapids!

Kind regards,
Cassaundra Hickok
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 48 in Grand Rapids
433 reviews
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
1.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#2 of 48 in Grand Rapids
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Rapids

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Address: 3930 Stahl Dr SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546-6154
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#10 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Rapids 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Grand Rapids, MI Marriott hotel offers guests spacious guest rooms with free WiFi, complimentary breakfast daily, and access to our heated indoor pool, hot tub, and our 24-hour fitness center. Our location places us just a few miles from the Gerald R. Ford International Airport (GRR), and only 15 minutes from downtown Grand Rapids. While visiting us be sure to visit the Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park, the Grand Rapids Public Museum, or check out nearby Woodland Mall. No matter the reason for staying with us, our staff is always willing to help you with anything you may need during your time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Grand Rapids Hotel Grand Rapids
Fairfield Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing