We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable place to stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Inn Airport
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
110 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Reasonable place to stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2007

I stayed at the hotel using points. I was greeted by a very nice desk clerk who asked me if I would mind a first floor room. I realized later that he probably asked this because the curtains in the room were about an inch too short. I had to use extra pillows and towels to cover the gap.

In general the hotel is very clean and mostly updated. The beds are comfortable with new bedding. The bathroom looked a bit dated though. The breakfast was as expected but the room was mobbed during my trip and the coffee ran out. I checked back for coffee after I packed up my belongings but they were still out. Overall the hotel seemed like a good value and I'd stay there again despite some minor inconveniences.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Room curtains too short
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    105
    47
    10
    3
See reviews for
137
112
39
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, MI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2007

We have stayed at this hotel several times and gave it a good review as recently as January 2007. This time, however, we can only give it an average rating. It must depend on the room you're given. This time our room (#137) was run down and in need of repair. The desk chair was literally falling apart and the bathroom door had pieces of wood peeling off from it. On the plus side there were brand new comforters on the bed, most of the staff was friendly (with the exception of the short girl at the front desk), the breakfast buffet offers something for everyone and the price is reasonable. Who cares if they don't offer room service (no on site restaurant) or that you have to make your own waffles (that way you're getting them fresh and hot). We will give them another chance in the future.

  • Liked — Front desk staff; location; value; free breakfast buffet
  • Disliked — room appearance; elevator
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skhirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, 25 August 2008
We thank you for the comment and the review. Since your review we have finished renovating the rest of the rooms. We apologize that you encountered your problem and look forward to showing you our award winning property on your next return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2007

Free Hi Speed Internet...... COMFY!!! beds..... Friendly!! and helpful staff..... Awesome breakfast bar..... Free Shuttle ..... Close to Airport..... Overall Great!

  • Liked — Comfy beds and free super quick internet
  • Disliked — Room service would be the cherry on the top
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nsxmermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearborn, MIchigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2007

I graduated from Calvin College in Grand Rapids and since then, my husband have visited GR several times for concerts or just to get away for the weekend. We usually stay at the Amway Grand downtown. This time, I booked the Comfort Inn Airport. Not only did it cost HALF of what we pay at the Amway Grand, but you get a complimentary continental breakfast. The rooms were clean (and my husband is a stickler about cleanliness) and the staff was very kind and friendly. The exercise room is very small and only has two bikes, a treadmill, and a stair-stepper, as well as free weights, but it has a TV and was neat and clean and NOT smelly. We were so impressed with this hotel (even in comparison with the Amway Grand!) that we decided to stay here on all future visits to GR.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and clean accomodations
  • Disliked — Make your own waffles at continental breakfast (I wish they were already made!)
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ejfamily007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2005

Our room was freshly renovated, quiet and very nice. The breakfast had make your own waffles which were great. We had a very nice stay and will stay there again

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites
4.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
1.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
#19 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Airport

Property: Comfort Inn Airport
Address: 4155 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-1903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Grand Rapids
#4 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#11 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#11 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly smiling faces, impeccably clean rooms, and a full hot breakfast await you at Grand Rapids Comfort Inn Airport Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Airport Hotel Grand Rapids
Comfort Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing