We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Prairieside Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Prairieside Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Grandville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 September 2010

It was our 21st anniversary and we decided to drive to an area in Michigan for a few days that we had never been to. Along the way we stayed in three different B&B's as is our custom. We splurged on the exact date of our anniversary to stay here ,as it was quite pricey, but the website kept saying how especially pampered you were going to be. First we were disappointed in the town as we drove through as it had nothing special to offer. It was a rather run- down town. Then when we drove up to the place we were both sorry to have made the reservation. It is a plain looking single story home in the suburbs. The owner rushed us through the tour as they were hurrying to go out of town for the weekend. She left two brownies in our room and two cans of coke (which we don't drink) . We went to have some of their famous cocoa (which was very sweet) and were looking around for the cookies that the website said were always available. There were none, and when I called her to ask about them she hurriedly came over grabbed some out of the freezer and put them on a plate. All of her baked goods were frozen and none of them tasted home made. When in our room there were samples for her decorating business. That, we thought was beyond tacky. Apparently there are samples in all the rooms as the other people staying there had some in their room too. Our bed was very comfortable, and the tub and shower were great but the view was of the street in front of the house. If you're looking for a gourmet breakfast experience don't bother coming here as it was a poor breakfast at best. Omelet was not very good and the baked item had been in the freezer. We are big coffee drinkers and the coffee they serve is just south of swill. Value for money is very poor at this B&B. We did not feel pampered at all as they stressed, we felt neglected as we never saw the owners after the rush job upon our arrival. Would never stay here again or remotely recommend it. We can't understand how it got high ratings.

Our advice is to go elsewhere!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Julianna_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Designer28, Owner at Prairieside Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2010

Oh my gosh, I feel so bad. This is Cheri, the owner of Prairieside Suites. Where do I even start? It is our philosophy at our B&B that it's important to welcome our guest with a brief tour of the common area's, then show them their room, answer any questions they may have and then disappear....giving our guests the privacy and relaxation they're here for. Everyone is given my business card with my phone number and they are encouraged to call me with any questions OR if they need anything.

We bake ahead and freeze our cookies because it keeps them fresh and moist [we don't want to serve day old baked goods]. This works well because whether we have 2 guest or 10 guest we can keep a wonderful supply and variety available.

We have "Maxwell House" coffee packs in our rooms, along with tea and our homemade hot cocoa. We put a couple soda's in your room refrigerator for each day of your stay. We have a choice of 8 different kinds of soda and ask your preference, if you don't choose anything then I'll often put something in [just in case]. We serve "Bigby's" French Roast- fresh ground coffee in the dining room at breakfast. Our guest often remark on how much they like the fresh flavorful "coffee house" taste.

If you look at our pictures you can see we have a two story home. We're located in the suburbs [Grandville] only 6 minutes from downtown Grand Rapids. Please look on our area attractions page for idea's on things to do when your here. We are have 40 restaurants, a 20 screen movie theater and the largest regional mall in Michigan within 4 minutes of our door plus restaurants, an antique store, library, Wedgewood park and two local pubs are within walking distance. I guess this proves you can't make everyone happy but I will admit that we really do try!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2010

My husband and I celebrated our 10 year anniversary at Prairieside Suites and we really enjoyed it. We stayed in the English Cottage and it was very nice. The bed was super comfortable, the room was decorated nicely and there were many extra ammenties. We enjoyed the hot chocolate and the brownies in our room. Paul showed us our the B&B and to our room and he was very friendly and welcoming. We had a very relaxing time at the B&B and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aamysarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

The wife and I have traveled to exotic places like Hawaii, etc. However, there is just something a wonderful B&B can offer that a beach vacation just can't. The bed was unbelievable, and was one of the best nights rest that I've gotten in years. There were homemade baked goods and homemade hot chocolate ready for us to enjoy, not to mention the home made soaps that adorn the bathroom and the hot tub in the Tuscan Villa. Everyone was extremely friendly, was ready to answer questions, but there was an information guide and everything was explained in the room. There was no confusion, no frustration, and you felt warm and invited. I met the owner and the Domestic Goddess Cindy, and they were very welcoming and friendly people. We were sad to leave, but we will be back. Of all the places I recommend for a romantic getaway, you can find it at Prairieside Suites in Grandville, MI. It is no wonder that it was voted #3 in North America, and I think they're on their way to number 1.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpringle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

My husband and I celebrated our 1st anniversary at Praireside Suites. We were so impresssed by everything about this wonderful home. It was so nice to wake up every morning to a delicious breakfast, swim in the refreshing cozy pool and venture out for the day to the west to the wonderful tourist locations on Lake Michigan. Thanks for the memories!

Tammy and Michael Camp
Oxford, MI

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank june112006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

I had the chance to get away for a couple of days after working a long holiday weekend (Forth of July). The Tuscan Villa was beautiful! The bed was so comfy and the room was HUGE. I loved having an outside entrance to the room. The property is beautiful and there are so many things to do just on site! I'm a shopper so the location to the mall and all of the other things right in Grandville was perfect for me! It really did feel like home away from home. Everyone was so friendly and happy to have me I didn't want to leave!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GVGirl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Can't recommend this place enough. Very relaxing and quiet. We stayed in the Spanish Hacienda room. Very quiet room and had everything. The staff was great, the food was awesome and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patriot107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

My girlfriend and I just spent a night in the new hacienda suite. It was very enjoyable and we would definitely recommend this B & B to our friends. The suite is beautifully decorated with such extras as a heated towel rack, heated mirror, heated bathroom floor and yes, a heated toilet seat. Wow!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmerje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grandville
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 6 in Grandville
116 reviews
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn Grand Rapids West
4.8 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#3 of 49 in Grand Rapids
1,008 reviews
6.2 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
6 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prairieside Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prairieside Suites

Address: 3180 Washington Ave SW, Grandville, MI 49418-1236
Region: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Grandville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grandville
Price Range: £126 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prairieside Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "3rd Best Over All B&B in North America," "Most Romantic B&B," "Best of the Great Lakes" & "Best in the Midwest!" Our Luxurious Private Spa Rooms include: Whirlpool Tub, Fireplace, King Bed, Jetted showers, heated towel bars, heated toilet seats, AC, TV/VCR/DVD/cable, CD Player, Coffee Maker, Refrigerator & Microwave. Featuring In-House Massage, Romantic Packages, Room Breakfast Services, free Wi-fi, free Music & Video library on site. Shopping malls, theater’s & restaurants 5 minutes away. Our goal at Prairieside Suites is to create an "Experience" not just a "Stay." Luxury guest rooms are at the heart of this nurturing environment. Our spa rooms feature extra long & deep whirlpool tubs with views of the fireplace. These tubs sit in our beautiful bedrooms [not in a cramped bathroom]. The elegant decor, quiet relaxed atmosphere and convenient location (restaurants and shopping malls only minutes away), make this a perfect getaway. Seasonally enjoy our beautiful gardens, heated pool, pergola, and fountain! We serve a full candle light breakfast in the dining room @ 9:30am. For the guests who prefer to snuggle and sleep in, a deluxe continental breakfast can be packed in your in room refrigerator and eaten in the privacy of their room. Relax and unwind while you enjoy your stay in one of our spotless and allergy-free spa rooms. This “Award Winning” Luxury B&B featured in the “Inn Traveler Magazine” caters to getaway couples & the business traveler and is located only 6 minutes from downtown Grand Rapids. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Prairieside Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing