We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip to the past! What a gem! A must if you are visiting Michigan.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Borchers Au Sable Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Grayling B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We spent two wonderful days here in July 2012. We were greeted by the entire crew (dog included) with a smile and a warm welcome. We were introduced to other guests that were returning to enjoy the B&B. Our hostess/host and staff were so gracious and warm. Our room was fantastic and comfortable. The setting is tranquil in every way. Breakfast was wonderful and the camaraderie around the table both mornings was delightful. We arranged a canoe trip on the Au Sable the second day. A wonderful time with much fun. We met so many great people doing the same along our route. This visit was on the way to Mackinaw Island to stay at the Grand Hotel. The warmth and charm of Borchers was a great juxtaposition to the grandeur of the Grand. We would recommend this B&B to anyone who wants a place of quiet repose that wraps you in warmth and relaxation with excellent service with a smile and couched with excellent service.

Room Tip: If you want an on-suite please request one as some of the rooms share a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRN_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 35 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2011

We stayed here for a weekend ski trip in January 2011. The owners were SO nice, considering we got there later than expected and I think the owners wife waited up for us! The breakfast was delicious, homemade quiche. Lovely rooms, lovely home - only complaint (if you can call it that) is that the shower in our room was very small and difficult for a person of height to navigate. I am short so I didn't mind, but my husband said it was a bit cramped. But considering the excellent rates and quality of the place, I think it's a fair tradeoff!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrissy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Spent a wonderful 3 days visiting Grayling on the way north to Mackinaw Island. I can't think of anything that would have improved our stay at Borchers. Everything immaculate, the most wonderful staff (Cheri and a great group of high school and college kids who work there year after year), and all so accomodating! I am gluten intolerant, and they even made special versions of breakfast each morning just for me! Our stay was midweek prior to the high season, so Cheri offered us a room upgrade at no additional cost. We spent a wonderful day paddling kayaks down the river (so pretty and relaxing), and had some great meals at local restaurants. Driving up the interstate you would never know this wonderful enclave exists. We are fortunate to have found Grayling and Borcher's. Thanks for everything Cheri!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markpfef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Borchers Au Sable Bed and Breakfast during a trip to Grayling, MI. We loved it. The accommodations were excellent both inside and outside the lodge. The grounds were impeccable, and the B&B rooms spotless and warmly accommodated. The owners, Mark and Cheri, were as kind and helpful as could be. The room we stayed in was large and comfortable. Cheri's wonderful breakfasts helped us start the day on a full stomach. And I fell in love with their dog, Mercedes.

An A+ rating on all counts.

Room Tip: Request a room with a private bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken_Murray1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We stayed one night in August on our way north to the Upper Peninsula. Room was lovely. Great views. Great place to relax. We also took a 14 mile canoe trip downriver. See the website for more info http://www.canoeborchers.com/. Highly recommended place to stay. Very friendly service from Mark & Cheri Hunter who run the B&B and Canoe hire for trips up to 120 miles of the river.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pepperp0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2009

My mom and I traveled down to Grayling and stayed at this quaint B&B. The owners were very kind and regaled us with humourous tales as well as cooked a delicious breakfast. My only complaint is that there are no locks on the guest room doors. Aside from that, lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Callie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grayling hotels
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Grayling
Days Inn Grayling
#1 of 9 in Grayling
508 reviews
4.2 mi away
Super 8 Grayling
Super 8 Grayling
#2 of 9 in Grayling
397 reviews
1 mi away
Ramada Grayling Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Motel 72
Motel 72
#4 of 9 in Grayling
38 reviews
1.4 mi away
Woodland Motor Lodge
Woodland Motor Lodge
#3 of 9 in Grayling
62 reviews
0.8 mi away
River Country Motor Lodge
River Country Motor Lodge
#5 of 5 in Grayling
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borchers Au Sable Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borchers Au Sable Bed and Breakfast

Address: 101 Maple St, Grayling, MI 49738-1509
Region: United States > Michigan > Crawford County > Grayling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Grayling
Hotel Class:3 star — Borchers Au Sable Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly, riverside Bed & Breakfast. 6 Comfortable rooms; 3 with private bath, 3 with shared bath. Full breakfast served family style. Spacious yard and porches overlooking the beautiful AuSable River. On-site canoe and kayak rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Borchers Au Sable Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing