We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Informative museums on logging”

Hartwick Pines State Park
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Grayling
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
171 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Informative museums on logging”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

If you don't have a state park pass, it will cost $11 for a Michigan played vehicle.


The museum's aimed to educate on history of logging (thorough), native trees, threats to them, birds, and animals (kids thought the display on the dozen plus types of scat was both funny and cool). The have various pelts kids can touch, Bird sounds, and a couple other "hands"items kids will play with.


Now there is 2 separate parts to the museum. The main one is the first right past the gate and then up the stairs in the parking lot you come to (1/4 mile from the right turn?). It has some logging info but covers a myriad of info.


The 2nd one has some hands on displays, full size mock up of The equipment used to move logs and build winter paths and a small display mill.


The 2nd one you can drive to but it is quicker and a nice walk down a paved path through the woods. Just go out the back door of the museum, immediately turn left, go about 20', and turn right. The path is the same as a typical golf cart path. Turn left a at sign for log museum. 3/8 of a mile. They have a guided tour (not scheduled. .. look for the guy in RED).

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 69-Mach1-lvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    35
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautiful state park!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Offers many trails and the great Northern Michigan beauty! There is a play area for children, and many picnic tables with grills to use.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Google U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great trails!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We've spent many summers in Hartwick Pines campground. We've often walked the trails through the woods and visited the visitor center. Its always interesting and fun for the kids. Beautiful scenery :)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank tachesn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ann arbor michigan
Level Contributor
143 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 498 helpful votes
“Great hike!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We hiked the Au Sable River Trail one morning and loved it. The trail was very well kept up and was very pretty in spots and pleasant and quiet throughout. It was a perfect length (3 miles) for a non-strenuous hike and the entire area was beautiful.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank robd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy Michigan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good Trails for Taking a Hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were up in this area for vacationing on Higgins Lake, but the first day in the area the temperatures were going to be only in the low 60's. So, we needed something to do on a cool July day "Up North". This park fit the bill for my young teen children and their friends. This park has some decent trails for taking a hike. The main trail is asphalt so it is an easy stroll, and it is less than a mile and a half long through some very dense old-growth forests. The two other main foot trails in the park we did too as they were only 2 and 3 miles long. These trails were had some very nice and varied woodlands to trek through. We did all three trails starting from the visitors center, and we ended the hike with the logging museum, which made a nice ending. Please note to bring bug spray on the trails even on a cool day because those mosquitos are ferocious.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ATravel0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hartwick Pines State Park also viewed

 

Been to Hartwick Pines State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing