We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extraordinary opportunity to experience history” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Branch Outing Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grayling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North Branch Outing Club
Salmon Arm
Level Contributor
201 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Extraordinary opportunity to experience history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Long a destination for serious (and loaded) fly fisherman, the NBOC has hosted Henry and Edsel Ford, Rockefeller and John L. Lewis (yes, that John L. Lewis, who apparently met here with Edsel Ford and Walter Chrysler Jr to discuss peacefully unionizing the auto industry, an idea that came to an abrupt halt when daddy got wind of it and yanked the company back) since the 20s. The hotel declined in the late 1990s, but has now been brought back to life by owner and inn keeper Judy Fuller. And what a remarkable place it is. Every effort has been made to maintain the authentic feel of the old lodge, from careful refinishing of woodwork to rooms furnished with period beds and furniture. To visit Fullers, as other reviewers have noted, is truly like stepping back in time. Judy gave us a tour of the entire inn, filling us in on its long history, and we were struck over and over by the painstaking efforts that had gone into lovingly resuscitation this historical property. One reviewer sniffed that they had to share a bathroom, missing the point entirely. This is not a 2014 luxury lodge -- there are plenty of those around -- but an opportunity to experience (quite comfortably, I might add -- the several bathrooms are rarely all in use and are very well appointed) the character, feel and charm of a genuine piece of history. And, unfortunately, there are not many of those around anymore.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candonjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, AL
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

One minute you're in the 21st Century and the next you open a door and step into the early 20th century of pre-WWI America. This lodge harbors ghosts of the past that you could comfortably encounter and chat with without the slightest qualms. The rooms, decorations and location put you into a relaxed sense of calm. Now this is primarily a "man cave", but my bride was entranced by it and enjoyed our stay immensely. The breakfasts are fantastic, and the conversations enlightening to say the least.... if you are a fisherman, hunter, or outdoors kind of person.

Room Tip: If you are taking the bride make sure you get the suite w/bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank czkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecksville, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

I would have to agree with the reviewer "depends what you're looking for" - this place is an absolute gem!! If I wanted TV, telephone, and low cost I would have just gone to a roadside Motel.
My son, an avid fly fisherman, absolutely LOVED the entire experience and I personally can't remember the last time I felt so relaxed!! The decorating is absolutely charming and we found everything to be very clean. This is a novel, memorable experience which captures the essence of outdoor life in northern Michigan during a more gracious, relaxed and rustic era. The food was great and the innkeeper welcomed us like houseguests rather than customers. You can fish right down in front of the lodge. We didn't want to leave!!

Room Tip: The common rooms downstairs are so inviting and comfortable - it doesn't really matter where yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KNagel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

I found the one-star review truly bizarre! This is a moment-out-of-time old fishing and hunting lodge run by nice people with great food and friendly companionship among fly-fishers. To complain about lack of internet etc. just signifies you didn't pick a place that suits your needs -- hey, there are lots of regular motels in Grayling! This place is special if you want to slow down, do some fishing, sit out on the porch and drink a beer or two and shoot the breeze. I've been there 4-5 times fishing with my sons and plan to return.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaylord, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

This is the second time I have been to Fuller's. What a pleasure each time. It is back to the basics and so enjoyable. No TV, phones, or radios. Nice and peaceful sitting on the river. We were there for a girls knitting weekend. What fun. Judy the hostess is so pleasant and nice. What fun to be served all your meals, which were excellent! I will continue to visit Fuller's as it is a breath of fresh air. Thank you so much Judy!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ocknitiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaylord, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

We just held a knitters' retreat at Fuller's and have never been pampered more. No one appreciates good service and warm hospitality more than a bunch of women, and we got even more with Judy at her wonderful historic inn. She couldn't do enough for us. She works hard to make what she does look easy -- the sign of a real professional. Our experience at the North Branch Outing Club ensures we'll come back year after year. Thanks, Judy! ~Maureen, Gaylord ImagiKnit

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meau10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaylord, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

The most wonderful and relaxing environment. Judy, the host(ess), was very accommodating with all needs and her soothing demeanor just added to the whole relaxing experience. The food was great. This lodge is on my list of one of my most memorable vacations.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anitamartindale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grayling hotels
15.5 mi away
Ramada Grayling Hotel and Conference Center
18.0 mi away
Super 8 Grayling
Super 8 Grayling
#2 of 9 in Grayling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
15.1 mi away
Days Inn Grayling
Days Inn Grayling
#1 of 9 in Grayling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Woodland Motor Lodge
Woodland Motor Lodge
#3 of 9 in Grayling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
16.4 mi away
Motel 72
Motel 72
#6 of 9 in Grayling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
14.8 mi away
Borchers Au Sable Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Branch Outing Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Branch Outing Club

Property: North Branch Outing Club
Address: 6122 County Road 612, Grayling, MI 49738-9242
Region: United States > Michigan > Crawford County > Grayling
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Grayling
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Fly-Fishing lodge on the banks of the North Branch of the Au Sable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing