We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Sandwiches”

Gurney's Harbor Bottle Shop
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Sandwiches”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

First of all, I have to say that this is not really a restaurant. If you already read the other reviews you know that it is really a liquor store. We walked up to the counter hesitant at about 4:00P.M. after a drive through the tunnel of trees. we tried to place orders for several sandwiches, which they were out of. I don't know if they get new supplies daily, but be prepared to order an alternative to your 1st and 2nd choices OR what I did was ask what they have left. I had an amazing sandwich on wheat bread. Very good deli roast beef and my sandwich was loaded with meat. Often when I have gotten sandwiches at other places they skimp on the meat. Not here! I don't remember what my husband had, but he was happy , too. Be aware though, they do NOT have tomatoes or sprouts for your sandwich. I got pickles on mine. If you must have tomato or sprouts, try to pick up at Pond Hill Farm if you are coming from the Tunnel of Trees.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    18
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
1,279 reviews
588 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,389 helpful votes
“Get a great sandwich here...”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Our first stop in Harbor Springs, the liquor store! LOL. A fellow TA member advised me to get a sandwich here. It was a great place to grab a sandwich for a picnic. They make their own bread and it is excellent. I had a turkey sandwich, with a variety of toppings, some I have never had before (banana peppers!). They do not have tomatoes! Just a warning for those that must have those. Not sure why they do not have tomatoes...! DH had a roast beef sandwich. We were both very happy with our selection.

Several people were waiting on a recent, quiet Saturday afternoon for their order. Prices are fair. As stated, this is a liquor store, so you have your alcoholic drinks you might want buy, along with the usual soda pop, water, juices, snacks, etc.

Parking lot behind the store or in front, on the street. Glad we went and highly recommend you get a sandwich, and take it down to the waterfront park. There are a few picnic tables and lots of flowers and shade trees. Beautiful grass.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tymetraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A visit to Harbor Springs isn't complete without geeting a sandwich here!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This place was once only known by the locals but the visitors caught on fast for the best sandwich around. Try the deli sauce for a special taste.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sandwich Heaven”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The chicken salad was so delicious. My husband had the 'Train Wreck' and it was so packed full of yummy meats and veggies. You must have lunch there at least once...or twice ;)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Gurneys is my harbor springs sinful treat! I own a restaurant in Harbor but love a Gurneys sandwich any time! Simple but great ingredients

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chefskinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gurney's Harbor Bottle Shop also viewed

Harbor Springs, Emmet County
 
Harbor Springs, Emmet County
Harbor Springs, Emmet County
 

Been to Gurney's Harbor Bottle Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing